We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpacker's alive of heaven”
Review of Bongo Bongo Divers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bongo Bongo Divers
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Backpacker's alive of heaven”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I visited during July, which was the middle of the low season, and the place was mostly empty.

Amado and Ethel's hospitality was beyond excellent. They put in a lot of effort to continuously improving the property and make it comfortable. The accommodation style is basic and meant for the budget traveler that doesn't need or want unnecessary amenities. There was room to relax on hammocks, to cook, and to play music. This is a great place to be close to the sea and meet new people.

I did my Open Water and AOW diving course at Bongo Bongo. This is a great spot to pick up the basics of diving or just to snorkel. The reef got hit by a typhoon a few years ago, but just put your head in the water and you'll still see lots of fish and coral. On one of my dives I saw a whale fish in the wild (rare)! The instructor was professional and patient, and the equipment was fine.

Warmly recommended to all fellow backpackers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    20
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
50
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent 3 days there, really cheap accommodation and diving and amazing atmosphere.
Basic rooms but comfortable enought, you feel like at home, you can use their kitchen and have cool drinks. If you are a dog- lover it's perfect! 4 nice dogs in the house. The location is good, just 2 minutes walking from the beach, snorkeling there is awsome, full of tropical and colorful fishes and coral.
Diving is also great, shore dives and you can dive at any time you want, you will see a lot of strange animals, like hairy frogfish, scorpionfish, seahorses....
Perfect place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed with bongo bongo for 10 days and really enjoyed my stay. The atmosphere in the house is really unique and i felt more like a house mate rather than a guest. Amado's family welcomed me with open arms, and their 4 dogs are a dog-lovers delight. You can use the kitchen and drinks are in the fridge, you just write down what you consume and pay in the end. They are still building more accommodation options in the back so the ongoing construction did not exactly add to the atmosphere but i didnt mind. Diving in dauin is excellent, especially for someone who dives a lot it is a nice change to the usual beautiful corals and tropical fish - here you mostly scan the sand to see mini frogfish, heaps of ghostpipefish, seamoths, tiger shrimp, sceleton shrimp everywhere, nudibranchs, ambon scorpion and even blue ringed octopus.... and all basically at their housereef.
Marvin is an excellent guide and if there is a microscopic critter around, he will find it - and still get excited about it! Thanks for enduring the extralong dives i made you do with me ;)
I tagged along with other guests on a day trip to moalboal and went to apo island with bongo bongo. Both very worthy destinations.
And best of, it is very reasonably priced and i gladly left every Peso i paid. For sure i will be back one day!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank metalsheep2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I are longer term travelers so we may not always be looking for the same thing that others are when they select a hotel. He wanted to dive and I wanted to be able to not feel like a lame-o for just wanting to read, walk around the markets, and write. I was skeptical when we selected Bongo Bongo but we ended up loving it and staying 5 extra days! We stayed in one of their newly built huts, cooked dinner and breakfast every night in the shared kitchen, and went on day trips to hike and swim. He got to dive every day and loved it - and they dive right off the beach where the shop is so he didn't need to leave for whole days to do a dive. He could go off in the morning and be back in time for lunch together. They have a great, really friendly staff that make you feel at home - diving or not - and the location is perfect for getting away from the tourist circuit. One day we hope to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms inside the main house are quieter but the newly built huts are incredibly comfortable! Gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridaangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Ok I don't usually write long reviews, but it will be a great shame not to give a good review to a place that really deserves it.

We stayed here for 3 days and had our PADI open water training. The place itself has a homey feeling and everyone in here treats you as family, it's like being adopted during your stay.

As for the rate, it's more than a great deal. There are no extra charges with your every move. With the room rate comes free flowing water, tea and coffee. You can even cook your own food with no extra charge. We even borrowed their motorcycle to go to the market with no extra charge at all.

This dive center is also very close to marine sanctuaries and the market. Very accessible yet not crowded and laid back.

The dive masters and instructors were so fun to be with, and patient while training us.diving at Apo Island was unforgettable and exciting.

This is truly a backpacker's paradise. I am lucky to have stayed here, we will definitely be back!
More power to you guys!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairekemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobro, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We ended spending almost two weeks at this amaizing place.
Dauin is a small village without a lot of tourists but with a great market and mangoes!
The absolutely best place to stay is at the Bongo Bongo divers. The people there are so sweet, they almost became our Family, and with a location right on the Beach it is a perfect place to learn to dive or just have a lot of fun dives with the beautiful seaturtles!
The best recommandations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niva, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Had the pleasure of some amazing dives and can recommend this place to anyone who wants to feel at home in water and on land.
Great staff, who will make you feel like home, nice and relaxed atmosphere, and i hope i will be able to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
2.1 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 16 in Dauin
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
5.6 mi away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Kav's Beach Resort
Kav's Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Zamboanguita
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort
1.0 mi away
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bongo Bongo Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bongo Bongo Divers

Property: Bongo Bongo Divers
Address: 1 J.Basa St, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bongo Bongo Divers is a small family run backpacker home stay/hostel who also offer cheap diving & padi courses. So hurry up and book your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bongo Bongo Divers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bongo Bongo Divers Philippines/Dauin, Dumaguete City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing