We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dive Dive Dive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Dorado Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Dauin
Venray, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dive Dive Dive!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I have allready stayed here 4 times. My last time in 2011. This time i was only here for diving. I stayed at Thalatta Resort. (check my trip report). But that was a mistake. This is the place to be when you are in the neighborhood. If you want your dives to be special and and well taken care of, come to El Dorado. My special compliments to my diveguide Lito. He makes my holiday worth while. So much experience, and ofcourse lots of fun. Just ask what you want to see.. and I am sure he will find it for you (maybe no polar bear). Thank you Lito for two wonderful days (also thanks from Enrico). The resort is excellent. Restaurant is great and the staff is just perfect. Don't hesitate.. it worth the trip!

Room Tip: In the pass i stayed in the standard rooms. They are small, but have aircon, hot shower and a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ErikJanSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    52
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
14
63
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed there one week in a standard room mostly for diving.

The resort is well managed and maintained,(bar, garden and pool really lovely and clean) many different types of room, the staff is very friendly and the restaurant was good even if they have little vegetarian choices. The breakfast is awesome.
It's a very good place to stay, but probably only for divers as the beach is not really nice, you have direct sun only until midday and 4 pm around the swimming pool.

My only complain concerns the wifi for which you have to pay per device... In 2013 with that price for the room, I expected a free wifi!

That said, it's a good value for money and we spent a great week there (taking in account the overpriced area)

They also have a small fitness place outside in the shadow.

There's a quite big range of difference between the rooms, we visited a deluxe and it's much bigger than a standard one and seems to have a better a/c maybe.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joris87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed here for a week after visiting earlier for a meal. The cheaper rooms are small but adequate and probably cool in the hot season. There were two menus, one appears to be more expensive but the food is good. The Sat. fixed price Buffet took us by suprise so we went next door for a meal. Dive Society is well orgainised and equipped with Patrick & Co. The boat's crew are all characters and are fun but it does get busy with lots of other divers off Apo Island one of the dive sitesThe Swiss owner may be a little shy rather that arrogant maybe he should be enquiring of his guests if they enjoyed their meal etc. The beach is fine for a stroll not sandcastle building but there were lots of sunbeds and hammocks to lie on.

Room Tip: Bring lots of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baz7903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

Completely agree with some reviews here:
- not really clean
- unprofessional staff
- old rooms
- expensive accomodation (for what you get)
and expensive dives
- small pool
- bad food
- bad beach (ok, you won't find anything amazing in Dgte)

...and unfriendly and arrogant Swiss german owners

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jojotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Went for a 5 days 4 nights dive trip and stayed over at this hotel. 30 mins away from airport, pretty good to be out of town from busy traffic.

Service: Friendly staff, prompt but forgets to clean your room daily unless you remind them.

Value: Afford-ably reasonable price. Room is pretty plain and raw, bed is hard and flat, blanket was ridiculous as its as thin as paper. Floors are pretty slippery when we first checked in. No free water from the room, mineral waters in the fridge is chargeable. Wifi is chargeable for rooms, weak most of the time.

The food is pretty good from the steaks to pizza. We sticked to western food as we're not so favorable to the local food especially when they have fruits and raisins in their fried rice. They need to add more fan in the restaurant as they cover the beach sight most of the time because of rough waves, hence no wind/breeze.

We had our checkout dive just right at the shore of the resort which was excellent! The nearby dive sites were good too with alot of surprises.

Overall an average resort for the price you pay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marciano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Very relaxing for business traveler. The staff are in the best attitude, and very helpful, the owner is 100% involve in the daily routine which tells me that they care about their business.
My first yoga/meditation/karate/mind fixing or I just don't have any clue what kind energy forming the resort owner help me experience. The diveshop Diving Society has the best guide and divemaster you could ask for. Great location and price for short staty. Grounds are immaculate, very relaxing, great drinks, good food. See jenny on the bar for good prices on tours! Went during off-peak season so very quiet and low key. Not so great weather, great beaches, must stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Stay in the Beach Front Room # 25 for a very low price. Ask Jenny!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crisdigamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The Eldorado is the worst place we have stayed in the Philippines. The management is indescribably bad; I have never experienced such bad service in all my years of travelling. I would not recommend anyone to stay at the El Dorado under any circumstances. I have written a detailed description below but in short this place is totally over priced, rooms are dated & dirty, with thin foam mattress, the aircon is a relic from the 70s and does not work, the food was terrible and the whole place was a construction zone when we were there. All this for 3,300 pesos?? totally overpriced and over rated. To top it off the management and staff were extremely threatening towards us when we complained about the state of the resort.
Full Review here-
As soon as we arrived the place felt wrong, the hotel was incredibly dated and unkept. It was like stepping back to a cheesy resort from the 1980s. The rooms resembled that of a Mexican prison cell, it was dirty, with ants everywhere, the bed was solid concrete with a thin foam mattress and pillows; the airconditioner was so old and loud it was unusable. The most insulting part was that this room cost 3,300 pesos! Totally unacceptable for this price.

It just got worse- as we were led to the restaurant, we were informed that the pool was closed and under construction. This was hugely disappointing as we had arrived late in the evening on the ferry and were really looking forward to having a swim. Not only was the pool under construction but the entire resort resembled a building site. The paths down to the beach and restaurant were ripped up and riddled with dangerous fishing wires acting like trip wires in the night. As we were eating our horrid dinner big chunks of concrete were being chipped off from somewhere on the roof and falling down around us outside the restaurant- not such a nice dining experience. By this stage we knew the place was a dump but it was so late that we decided to try get some sleep and work things out in the morning.

The next day the paths were now full of wet concrete, so you had to walk through the bushes to get to the restaurant or waterside- there should have been at least one path left clear to walk through. Thankfully the breakfast was better than the previous dinner but all you could hear was construction and in the daylight the unusable pool area looked even worse. Due to all the construction and furniture piled up there were none of the "cozy spaces" available and we decided to get out of there as soon as possible.

When checking out we explained our situation to Raquel at front desk who could not have been more rude and disinterested. When we complained about the dirty room, no aircon, no pool, construction site, etc etc she just called someone, then with out even talking to us, giving any kind of apology or explanation just printed out a bill and said we could get 10% discount.

I refused to accept this 10% as the resort should really have been closed for such extreme construction during this period and we were not informed of anything going on. She replied saying that there was a disclaimer informing us of the construction on the email confirmation she sent us. We had not seen this in the mail at all- this was not clear and not defined in the body of the email at all. After a long time looking we finally her "notification"- in tiny print at the end of a very long email and email signatures that the pool was going to be under construction,

However anyone knows who is travelling is that all you want to know if the room is available; so her claims that we were informed was completely unfair. As the whole place was under such extreme construction it should have been clearly stated in the main body of the email and here's and idea- perhaps a discount could have been offered during this period?!
As there were so many things wrong a 10% discount was insulting, especially as we had just found a beautiful resort just down the beach that morning that was offering standard 20% discounts during the low season.
Raquel refused to budge on the 10% discount, she could not care less about our problems. Her attitude was appalling. When I spoke to the owner on the phone he actually hung up on me as I was complaining about the situation!!! We were hoping to get at least 20% discount as that was what everywhere else was offering as a low season rate, so we thought that was at least fair.
He refused to agree or comply at all, after many years in hospitality i have never seen a situation managed so badly.
I had organised money in cash to equal our total food bill and the amount for the room, less 20% for the room charge. This was more than fair in my opinion and when I told Raquel that was all I was going to pay she threatened to call the police and got the security guard with a gun to stand behind us in an attempt to hold us there!! At this point the owner came back on the phone and must have realised that Raquel was slightly over reacting with the whole police/gun threat and finally agreed to giving us a 20% discount for all the problems.
It was a really extreme experience and not what you want to deal with on your holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TinaSparkles_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
0.3 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 15 in Dauin
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 15 in Dauin
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Wellbeach Dive Resort
Wellbeach Dive Resort
#3 of 3 in Zamboanguita
69 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sea Dream Resorts
Sea Dream Resorts
#6 of 15 in Dauin
119 reviews
2.9 mi away
Atmosphere Resort
Atmosphere Resort
#2 of 15 in Dauin
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Beach Resort

Property: El Dorado Beach Resort
Address: Washington Street, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
#5 Spa Hotel in Dauin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Dorado Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mabuhay and welcome to a perfect starting point to your well deserved vacation or weekend getaway which the whole family enjoys! Nestled amidst lush coco palms, tropical plants and always facing the sun, EL DORADO BEACH RESORT, is the Pioneer Beach Resort and icon featuring DIVE SOCIETY, SSI DIVE CENTER, by the shores of Dauin. With decades of experience in genuine Filipino care paired with Swiss hospitality & management, we provide the ideal combination of fun and relaxation in our admirable amenities and terrific location along numerous Scuba Diving sanctuaries like Apo Island. Make yourself at home in our unique resort that boasts a variety of 47 modern, bright and artistically furnished rooms for any budget type and studio apartments for those who wish to stay a bit longer. Additional in-room amenities include comfortable bedding, flat-screen TVs, warm & cold rainfall and regular shower, bidet toilet, safety box and mini bar for almost all rooms. Room Service is readily available for lunch, dinner and midnight snacks. Enjoy complimentary WI-FI in public areas, mouth-watering dining at our all day PEPE’S BEACHSIDE RESTAURANT with local and international cuisine featuring oft live cooking, and a spacious GYM for YOGA and the like during your stay. Something interesting for your dinner palate could include our all you can eat Mongolian buffet style on Saturdays or Japanese Teppanyaki Table with prior reservation. We bring travellers, scuba divers and locals together here: our ambient POOL BAR and cozy BELLRINGER BAR & LOUNGES offer widescreen movies at night as you swim in our wonderfully illuminated pool featuring underwater speakers. Those travelling to Dauin can make use of many available lounge beds or beach chairs during the day whilst basking in the sunlight. Native interior, up-to-date technology and a highly spirited team is our winning formula for you to plan your next event in our WILHELM TELL FUNCTION HALL. We offer unforgettable events of up to 60 guests that can be tailor made by our EL DORADO KITCHEN or local catering services such as MIFUNE JAPANESE RESTAURANT. Our resort is just about a 7 minute walk from the South National Highway with easily accessible local transportation to Dumaguete City, the City of Gentle People. For your convenience, we also offer air-conditioned Van service at a surcharge fee for special trips like to the famous “All-under-one-roof” nightspot: WHY NOT? Le Chalet Restaurant, Discotheque, Deli Shop, Internet Cafe, etc. Starting with your room key, we look forward to giving you a memorable experience time and time again...for years to come! Have a safe journey to Dauin and see you soon with us! :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your El Dorado Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Beach Hotel Dauin
El Dorado Beach Resort Philippines/Dauin, Dumaguete City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing