We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice resort”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Foods was great, but the pool was too small. So we rather chose to go swimming in their beach which has a fair quality seashore. There is a big parking space, so you won't have any problems in going out.

I would recommend this place for eating.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrganicSFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    90
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
52
111
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Beautiful beach resort with very helpful and friendly staff, great food and nice, clean rooms.
Very well organized and professional diving center with good quality equipment.
The Long Weekend was not enough to enjoy this paradise so of course I will come back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nini1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We spent 5 nights here and it was fantastic!!! From the moment we stepped out of the airport we were looked after and felt very welcomed. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they're all so very friendly and professional. The dive operation is very well organised and run; very high standard of service and our guide Carlos was fantastic. For the times when you're not diving the spa is great. It's true that internet access was not always good but then we were there for diving not browsing the net.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 473Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panglao Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Last week I spent 5 days diving and staying At Pura Vita. I was completely impressed with the level of service offered both in the diving center and the resort. The dive guides and staff within the center were so professional, we were completely looked after, no need to worry about anything - loved the food at the restaurant - especially the Brazilian beef which is very unique to find good quality beef In the Philippines - also the Kinilaw ( which is a marinated raw fish dish that is Devine!) I would recommend this dive resort to anyone with a high level of expectation- they did not disappoint and I will definately be back with more of my family and friends.

Room Tip: Make sure you dive Apo Island - it's incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

..... and yes in the year 2014 for me this is a reason to give only 3 out of 5 points. The Internet on the Philippines is slow I am fine with that but creating a WLAN that covers the whole area is not a hard thing to do.

The room indeed was nice. I had the IDC Room. Its big and clean.
Another Reason to only give them 3 out of 5 Points is that the towels are changed every other day. You can't use the towel for longer. In other resorts I have been so far you had to put the towel on the floor if you want the cleaner to change it.
This practice saves a lot of water.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisheim99, Owner at Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
Getting your feedback about the concern with the towels I am very thankful as this should be the standard in Pura Vida too. I will follow up this concern an pay closer attention to it.
We are also very much aware of the problem with the internet/WIFI. So fare we have big problems offering a stable line as well as an enough fast line in Dauin to satisfy the guest request. Our local provider Smart, Globe and PLDT are not serving Dauin with the needed connection. All resorts in our area fight the same problem.
Actually they are working on a titan cable connection and we are positive that with this line we will be able providing a proper connection to set up a resort wide WIFI connection.
Hope to be able welcoming you back with us and see the changes. Dive with a smile Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is our third visit and it doesn't disappoint. This time we stayed in a suite. Rooms are still in top condition and the diving is excellent. This is a gem of a small dive resort. One of the best places for macro diving in the world, without a doubt, and Apo Island has wonderful coral gardens. And service to match. Love the girls in the bar and restaurant - they are all so friendly and helpful and nothing is too bothersome for them. And the dive staff are all professionals. They know where to find the smallest creatures and make your stay so much more enjoyable. It's a pity parts of the dive sites were ruined by the typhoons, but there's so much still to see. Food is good. The menu has expanded. We will be back. The govt has changed the terminals for the transfer and it was a big hassle. It took us a full hour just to transfer from international to domestic so allow ample time and be extra patient. I hope this is temporary.

Room Tip: Ask them to 'kill' the bugs in the room, and fumigate especially the mattress. This is the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ireneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bienne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Amazing Place: it's very quiet, sunny and clean beach
Amazing dives: one of the best place ever went awesome Macro!
Amazing meats: the food was always excellent, the breackfast awesome and the special bread fo sunday morning just make me feel like home
I coun't expect much more. The staff was friendly and the beach bar awsome... just can't wait to come back

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holeshotboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisheim99, Owner at Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
thank you so much for visit and review balik balik and always welcome back from the sunny Philippines chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dauin hotels
0.1 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Liquid Dumaguete
Liquid Dumaguete
#5 of 15 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 15 in Dauin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Dorado Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Atmosphere Resort
Atmosphere Resort
#2 of 15 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort

Property: Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Address: Washington Road | District 3, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dauin
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dauin
#3 Spa Hotel in Dauin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dauin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, spacious resort is located in Dauin, 15 kms south of Dumaguete City on Negros Island. Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort is built from divers for divers and is under Swiss management. Real tropical atmosphere with lots of coconut palm trees and other plants. Directly on the nice sandy beach and with its large swimming pool, it's as well an ideal place for families.Perfekt for Divers.Sea-explorers-management 5 star. Familie rooms-sweets-delux-standart(aircon)and economy rooms and soon 14-luxus appartments have a look at vidahomes.Ph stay with us with a smile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Beach & Dive Hotel Dauin
Pura Vida Beach And Dive Resort
Pura Vida Beach & Dive Resort Philippines/Dauin, Dumaguete City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing