We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay was wonderful.”
Review of D'Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
D'Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dipolog
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay was wonderful.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Thank you so much for all the staff being very attentive to our needs. We loved the Junior Suite. Highly recommend those rooms if you got enough to pay extra as it is definitely worth it. The view of the city is wonderful at night from where we were. It almost felt like we were somewhere else in the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    52
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
58
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here twice now and can wholeheartedly recommended D'Hotel for the price.

For the room-rates you get above and beyond your money's worth.
Stayed in a Queen deluxe this time and everything was clean and well thought out.

House keeping cleans well daily and are cheerful to guests.

Had a restful nights sleep most nights with minimal disturbance.
Quite a feat considering you are in the heart of the noisy city. Hotel is overall quiet and comfortable.

Well recommended.

Room Tip: Suite rooms are best located and nicest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and friendly receptionist! It is not very inexpensive hotel and restaurant they are different food to choose ! Whether Chinese,Italian, Japanese . The room so clean and neat ! From airport to hotel it take 5 minute no traffic and hassle! It very peaceful and quiet place ! And especially going to boulevard some restaurant nice food also ! Try to eat carinderia toninos not so expensive and delicious! The best Japanese food in town ! Auhtentic

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikegaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zamboanga City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Umami, the Japanese resto in this hotel! is the best!!! In the four nights that I spent in the hotel, I didn't miss a single night having dinner at the Japanese resto! Superb!
The hotel room is very clean! And the room rates are reasonable! Worth recommending!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario Dandi R, General Manager at D'Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to give us a review, Ms. Brenda! We look forward to serving you again in one of your future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Checked in at the economy single rate. Got a small but nice and very clean room. This is a fair price for what you get. It's a available at the hotel directly, not online. The room has great aircon, but no blanket on the bed. Oh, you want a blanket? That's extra P100 ($2.50). I passed the "fitness center" on the way back to the elevator. It is literally just a single exercise bike ensconced in tiny glass box just next to the elevator.

Went to the hotel's Italian restaurant directly across the street. This was at 9pm. A couple of tables are full, meanwhile, in the back part of the restaurant, they're remodeling and have construction equipment roaring and banging non-stop. I complain. The staff asks them to stop. They do. The restaurant has a decent wine list, but no wine available by glass, only by bottle. If I want a glass of wine, they tell me, I should go back to the hotel and dine at the lobby restaurant.

Back over to the lobby restaurant. A few tables full, many of the rest empty and dirty, staff milling about not cleaning them up. They show me a nice picture menu. I order. What arrives doesn't even contain the ingredients shown in the pictures on the menu. (Mangga salad has no avocado. Roti comes with thimble-sized dollop of chicken curry, not a bowl of dhal as shown.) I finally get my wine. It's served in glass that is half the size of normal wine glass, and not even poured full. I finish my meal under the glaring red flashing lights of large scrolling-word sign that belongs outside a gas station, not in a hotel lobby restaurant. This sign utterly destroys the ambiance of the entire restaurant. I complain about this too. Nothing happens.

My advice to the owners: you're trying to present a luxury hotel experience, so find managers that know what they're doing. Don't make your guests feel that they're getting ripped off at every turn. Give a proper servings, and serve what you show on the menu. Provide a blanket in the room. Don't put garish stuff inside your lovely hotel. Think about whether adds or detracts from the experience. Don't skimp on every single thing. It's better to charge more and then back it up with proper service. If you don't, you'll have people like me write bad reviews.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario Dandi R, General Manager at D'Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Mr. Gavin,

I'm sorry that you have so many complaints about our hotel. It seems you are looking for a hotel like Shangri-La and have mistaken us as such. To clarify, we have NEVER advertised our establishment as a Luxury Hotel - any well-traveled person knows that a Luxury Hotel will charge exorbitant prices for the "luxury" you want to enjoy. We are a business hotel for the budget traveler - offering "affordable luxury".

Our Single Economy Room at 999 comes with free breakfast. These rooms are meant for travelers on a budget who just want a cheap but clean and nice place to stay for the night - not for travelers who want more amenities. And yes, we do have a thin blanket in our economy rooms - our thicker woolen blankets are reserved for the Single Deluxe Rooms. Are we really ripping you off if we charge an extra P100 for the thicker blanket when you already have a free breakfast that goes with your 999 room? I don't think you can find a hotel that gives 999 per night with free breakfast for budget travelers anywhere in Dipolog - or Dumaguete, for that matter. If you wanted a room with more amenities, our front office staff did inform you that we have the Single Deluxe Rooms. Our guests understand that this is a business we're running, not a charity. In fact, this is the first complaint we have received about our single economy rooms - our other guests understand the difference between a budget/economy room and a deluxe room. As with most things in this world, you get what you pay for.

Mr. Gavin, I would humbly ask you not to exaggerate. We can provide shots that show that our sign only says Exercise Room - we have never put up signs or announced to guests that we have a fitness center. We are NOT required to have a fitness center or an exercise room, but we have nevertheless provided a small room with a cross-trainer for guests who want to exercise a bit before going out on business.

The wines we offer at our Italian Restaurant across the street are more expensive and not that affordable per glass - if we offered them per glass, they would just go stale because Dipolog only has a few wine drinkers. As I said, we are running a business, not a charity - and I do think all our other guests understand that offering wine per glass or per bottle in one of our outlets across the street is our prerogative.

Regarding our other outlet, Tonino's, I apologize if indeed you saw some empty and dirty tables that were not being cleaned - I have already called the attention of the heads there. Staff milling about doing nothing is unacceptable in any establishment, be it a business hotel or a luxury hotel.

However, I do ask you again to please refrain from exaggerating. We can provide shots that show that our menu does not show a bowl of curry dip, and our servings are NOT thimble sized.

That said, Mr. Gavin, we encourage you to try our other rooms if you want more amenities.

*Guests reading this review are asked to email booking@dhotelandsuites.com to ask for actual photos so they can judge for themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Love the fact that it is situated near shops and restaurants, so we just walked most of the time to buy food and other stuff. The hotel offers free shuttle to and from airport and this is one of the factors I consider in booking rooms. Check in was quite slow, had to wait half an hour as the room was not ready at that time. We availed the twin room, very clean, however noticed an odour coming from the toilet. Room is small but comfortable. The breakfast is good, and fast too. There is a restaurant just across the hotel called Tonino's and their lechon is worth bringing home as pasalubong. Would recommend D'Hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chic_chef81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario Dandi R, General Manager at D'Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Ma'am,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! I am sorry to hear your check in took some time - flights from Manila usually arrive around 12 noon and our check in time is at 2pm so guests who want to check in early may have to wait until then, especially on days when we have high occupancy. I hope it did not inconvenience you too much.

The whole hotel's piping system and water tanks are currently under maintenance for cleaning and repairs so this may have been the source of the odor you mentioned. Nevertheless, our housekeeping head has also been directed to double check all rooms as well.

Our Tonino's Lechon is indeed something that visitors shouldn't miss! We are glad that you enjoyed it!

We look forward to seeing you again in one of your future trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is a very new and modern property in downtown Dipolog. It is off the main road, hence not too noisy. Yet it is located about 150 meters east of the public market, and the hotel is about 300 meters west of Magsaysay Park, City Hall and the Cathedral. There is also a bank next door, and a tourist gift shop nearby. So the location is actually very good.

The hotel has upscale food outlets - Japanese, Italian, Spanish tapas/grill and a wine cellar. Breakfast is served in the Tonino's Restaurant and Wine Bar.

Transfers to/from the airport in the hotel van, as well as the meet & greet were handled well.

Check in was quick.

The hallway leading to Room 413 were clean, and decorated with a touch of a small japanese style bamboo garden.

Room was nice and clean. It smelled nice and clean! And it had been cooled down prior to arrival. The bed was just so comfortable to sleep in after a flight.

The hotel provided four bottles of water. Two on the bedside table, and two on the dresser. Be aware though that two are free, and the other two have to be paid for!

The bathroom had nice white, clean, and clean smelling towels, as well as an overnight kit (soap, shampoo, toothbrush, toothpaste).

There are no negative remarks about this hotel. So it the property and the people running it are doing a very good job. And I thank them for a good stay at D'Hotel & Suites - Dipolog City.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capt Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario Dandi R, General Manager at D'Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Capt. Mark,

Thank you very much for you kind words and very detailed review! We do look forward to serving you again sometime soon! At D'Hotel & Suites, "We Make People Happy" - it will be very encouraging for our staff to find out that we have succeeded in making you happy.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dipolog
0.9 mi away
Ariana Hotel
Ariana Hotel
#3 of 7 in Dipolog
38 reviews
8.3 mi away
Dakak Park & Beach Resort
Dakak Park & Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Dapitan City
286 reviews
45.9 mi away
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ozamiz City
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
C & L Sea View Hotel
C & L Sea View Hotel
#3 of 21 in Dipolog
26 reviews
7.2 mi away
Travelbee Heritage Inn
Travelbee Heritage Inn
#1 of 12 in Dapitan City
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Camila 2
Hotel Camila 2
#4 of 21 in Dipolog
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Hotel & Suites

Property: D'Hotel & Suites
Address: Rizal Avenue corner Osmena Street, Dipolog, Mindanao 7100, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mindanao > Zamboanga Peninsula > Zamboanga del Norte > Dipolog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dipolog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — D'Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"We Make People Happy!" D'Hotel & Suites is a 48-room business and boutique hotel situated in the very heart of the city, making it the ideal base for business and leisure travel in Dipolog City. Our prime location provides easy access to all the commercial areas for businessmen while allowing tourists and leisure travelers to walk right out and immediately experience the local scene. We take pride in giving our guests great service and comfort and this is reflected in our rooms which you will find elegant, modern, and cozy. Offering free airport transportation, free breakfast, and free wifi for all hotel guests, individual dining venues and convenient facilities, D'Hotel & Suites is the perfect choice for every traveler. For food lovers, D'Hotel & Suites' four restaurants also offer the finest dining experience in the city. Savor the best All-Time Filipino Favorites and a wide selection of Continental and Asian Fusion Cuisine at Tonino's Resto & Wine Bar or enjoy a bottle of premium wine with a selection of cheeses and cuts from our Deli at the Taylors Room. Indulge your senses and experience the "fifth taste" with Authentic Japanese Cuisine at Umami Room and enjoy live music on weekends at the Olive Tree Bar. Pizza and Pasta lovers will also enjoy Cucina Italiana - giving you an authentic taste of Italy with freshly made gelato and pizza from Dipolog's first and only wood-fired oven. Guests who want to soak in the local food scene will want to drop by our carenderia/fast food highlighting Tonino's Special Lechon and a plethora of "fiesta food" Pinoy Favorites - Kada Adlaw, Adlaw sa Dipolog! As the leader in style, excellence, and reputation our aim is to provide you, our guest, with 5-star service at affordable prices. Easily mix business and pleasure and Experience Affordable Luxury at D'Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your D'Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing