We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time around. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
School Cottages Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Farmborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England, Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Second time around. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit and although other reviews comment on road noise I can honesty say I never give it a thought in this beautiful B & B yes you can hear it but only when in the garden ..... you will hear road noise in any garden unless your in the middle of nowhere
We had a beautifull spotless room and we're offered tea or coffee on arrival Tim always polite and helpful
Will happily stay again on our next visit.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mawal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
171
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a long-overdue review as I have stayed at School Cottages on several occasions. It's perfect for weddings at Priston Mill and for access to Bath and Wells. The accommodation is beautiful, both inside and out -there is a gorgeous garden where it is easy to relax after a day of sight-seeing. I am always impressed by the quality of all aspects of the B&B; the fluffy white towels, the cleanliness and the tasteful design of the rooms, the genuine friendliness of the owner, Tim, and the fantastic breakfast. I have no doubt that I will return there soon.

Room Tip: I've stayed in all of the rooms in the B&B and seen the self-catering cottage and they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the self catered cottage in July. Tim was very helpful, the gardens and animals delightful. We were greeted with a delicious boxed cake, fresh eggs and were able to buy another half dozen! We squeezed in a 5th person at the last minute and although cosy was not a problem.
Only downside was the road noise in rush hour.
Would gladly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis-in-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed for the third time at School Cottages B&B. The place still feels really fresh and well kept. I think it's decorated every year and it shows.

Breakfast delicious - fresh produce, homemade jam.

Garden was looking lovely in the late spring.

Chose to drive to Bath for dinner - about 15 minutes away so very easy if you have a car and parking free after 8 in the big carpark in the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d9300q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

From the warmth of the welcome to the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms through to the quality food served at breakfast you simply cannot go wrong booking in here. Excellent service; excellent setting; excellent all round.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just wanted to write to say how lovely Tim was.

I was searching for a cottage to stay before, during and after our wedding at Priston Mill in March, most importantly I needed somewhere to accommodate my bridal party before the wedding.
From the pictures a feel in love with the cottage and contacted Tim via email to book.
Tim was very helpful, pleasant and extremely kind.
He not only explained that he felt his cottage wouldn't be big enough for a group ( of 6 ) getting ready for a wedding, he offered for us to visit them before booking and selflessly recommended a lovely cottage just down the road which was perfect for us and had such a beautiful grounds for our photos.

Not many people out there who would be so honest or recommend other competitors !!
Thank you so much Tim.
Hope to come stay with you for our 1st anniversary

Lacey and Keith

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in School Cottages B&B. We found the perfect mixture of quiet and peaceful space in the countryside, surrounded by beautiful gardens and delightful animals, coupled with lots to do for days out in Bath and Wells. Tim was helpful, friendly and paid great attention to every detail during our stay. The breakfasts were a highlight of each day, especially the homemade jams!! We will return!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsTwo062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmborough
5.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
8.8 mi away
Wheelbrook Mill
Wheelbrook Mill
#2 of 5 in Norton St Philip
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beech Cottage B&B
Beech Cottage B&B
#17 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School Cottages Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School Cottages Bed & Breakfast

Property: School Cottages Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Street, Farmborough, Bath BA2 0AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Farmborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farmborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — School Cottages Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the pretty Somerset village of Farmborough, just minutes away from Bath, School Cottages Bed & Breakfast, set in lovely gardens, is the perfect combination of comfort, style and traditional charm. We believe the standard of our accommodation reflects our very high expectations of quality, attention to detail and service. Our stylish en-suite rooms offer affordable luxury, tastefully designed and furnished for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your School Cottages Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
School Cottages Hotel Farmborough
School Cottages Bed And Breakfast
School Cottages Bed & Breakfast Farmborough, Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing