We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island Gem”

The Dancing Midge Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scotalnd
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Island Gem”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

A visit to the Dancing Midge made they day for our small group of walkers. Even though it was busy the service was calmly efficient. THere was a selection of four homemade soups - all delicious - not many much more expensive restaurants could match that! Really tasty and generously filled sandwiches, rolls and panini – tailored to order. Felt relaxed even though we had limited time to enjoy the food and the ambience before we had to catch the bus! A highly recommended cafe.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveToGangAwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    20
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Dandy Food and Dandy People”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This summer I spent a lot of time in the Dancing Midge Cafe and I feel as though I'm a good postion to recommend this cafe to anyone visiting Millport. The owners know how to make you feel at home and there always seemed to be a positive atmosphere around the place. The food is consistently excellent and the prices are extremely reasonable. Another bonus is the wide variety of choice on the menu which caters to every taste. The coffee is also way above the standard you'd expect to find on a small island in a wee cafe, and surpasses the flavour of any large chain coffee shop I have visited. All the staff are very friendly and are prepared to improve your experience anyway they can. I really can't recommend this welcoming Cafe and the people who work there enough. It was a pleasure to be there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Balamory22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Fantastic food, fantastic views, fantastic people! The Dancing Midge has a wide variety of breakfasts, lunches, snacks and coffee, all at reasonable prices. The views from the cafe window are gorgeous, and I would definitely recommend this cafe if you are visiting the area. I particularly enjoyed the generous afternoon tea, as I have never had such great scones anywhere else.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great food in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Excellent selection of food for breakfast brunch and afternoon teas; we found the Dancing Midge after walking along the sea front and enjoyed a great lunch accompanied with good coffee. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dancing Midge Cafe - whatever you want they do it well!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This may be a small cafe in size, but the owners are clearly very experienced in this field and run a tight ship - smart surroundings, well laid out menu, excellent service, and superb food and drink.

From a simple ice cream, to a cooked meal, you can be sure of the excellent quality. Most forms of coffee are professionaly prepared, and no minor preference is too difficult to be provided and with no fuss.

Highly recommended if you visit Millport, in fact it's a must! We have been there each time we visit millport these last two weeks (four times) and on no visit have I been disappointed. Other than the time there was a long queue outside the front door to get in and we had to miss our Midge coffee on that ocassion due to time constraints! I'm told that particular day was one of the busiest on Millport for the last 35 years.

And if the weather suits sit outside and enjoy the incredible view. Don't miss this small gem of a cafe, open from late March till October. I'm told there is more info on their facebook page.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blobgob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dancing Midge Cafe also viewed

Millport, Great Cumbrae
Millport, Great Cumbrae
 
Millport, Great Cumbrae
Millport, Great Cumbrae
 
Millport, Great Cumbrae
Millport, Great Cumbrae
 

Been to The Dancing Midge Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing