We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments”
Review of La Caleta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Caleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here as part of a wedding group and it worked very well. The apartments were very clean and comfortable (unfortunately no air con but there was a fresh breeze), all the rooms were a good size and we had a balcony over looking the pool. The pool was very quiet with plenty of pool chairs. The onsite bar was ok- I think the tapas restaurants nearby were better. The apartments were close to two small supermarkets and some of the apartments had a sea view. The reception staff were very helpful- they helped us book taxis and we hired a car for 33E through reception. The taxi to and from the airport was no more than 10E which was quite reasonable. There was free wifi in reception but unfortunately it didn't stretch to the rooms. We did contemplate breakfast but we thought 7.50E was quite steep for what was on offer. Everything in la Palma is really reasonable. There is a beach a short walk away from the apartments and you have easy access to Santa Cruz, the airport and the entire island from the hotel. In short, great location, great pool and great rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Daph123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

We dined here 3 times during our stay.The food was good and the service was good.They were training a waitress the first night we were there,and she managed to knock a glass off the table and smash it and to drop 3 bread rolls much to here embarrassment,but it was cleared up quickly with apologies.The sea food was good and I had a really good Steak the first night,although the second time we were there it was not as good[different Chef perhaps]You can eat inside or outside with a good sea view.
We tried lunch there one day but the menu was the same and rather limited for lunch.
All in all very good indeed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spud C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stayed here Oct 2012 with my wife and 6 month old baby. We picked La Caleta as it was close to the airport and we were slightly apprehensive about the baby on a 4+hour flight and wanted a short transfer. It is literally 5 minutes from the airport so don't bother with a transfer as it's under 10 euros in a taxi.
We arrived in the pitch black at around 11pm and reception were not expecting a baby so we had no cot but they sorted this out pretty quickly. We were up several flights of stairs which again was not ideal with the pram but we made do and I used the carrying of baby in pram as my daily exercise!
During our stay we had an unusually hot week for this time of year which highlighted the main issue with these apartments - no air con, no fans. I will always just get on with things but it was bordering on unbearable on a couple of nights even with windows open (29 degrees on a couple of nights!).
We were in 229 and we went to bed on the first night slightly apprehensive as we were above toilets/La Caleta restaurant (not to mention the heat issue!) When I woke the next morning though and looked through the window the view was stunning of sunrise. We had a huge terrace which was unique to this room and the view of the sea was panoramic. Again I'm not sure if this was a suitable apartment if you had toddlers or young children as there were obvious health hazards with the terrace (low walls, steel rods coming out of the ground). For us though it worked well as we could relax and enjoy the views when the baby had his naps.
We had no hot water for the first day or so as the boiler was not working. Again this was not ideal as it meant boiling water for the babies baths etc. We coped with freezing showers though due to the heat and to be fair the boiler was sorted out when we gave up trying to sort it out ourselves!
We had read a previous review and noted no kettle or toaster so took a cheap kettle which was a life saver! (so thanks for the previous review!). Room had 2 electric hobs and a microwave, utensils, cups and plates were very random (one plate, one teaspoon!) but did the job for a week stay.
I thought the apartments whilst pretty basic were clean and quite spacious but my wife did say the floors were filthy and her feet were black from walking on them on the first night.
The pool area was nice but children's pool was closed and taped off for the first few days. Water extremely cold but was again nice as it combated the heat. There were days when we were literally the only people at the pool so no issues with sun beds and loungers.
There is no pool bar so the odd trip to the supermarket which was literally 2 minutes away was often needed. Supermarket was reasonably priced and well stocked (drinkable bottle of cava for 2 euros!).
The resort is extremely quiet which suited us. There were around 4 restaurants at the end of the road, all of which were decent. There were a couple across the road and the Italian was really nice and run by a really nice lady. There are no English at this resort and most people do not speak English which really illustrated our ignorance and poor Spanish but we had a laugh trying to converse with waiters etc and it's nice to go somewhere in Spain without lots of English bars.
There is no beach near to the apartments although a 10-15 minute walk along a nice coastal path takes you to a few small, quiet black sand beaches. Again though surprisingly even at the beach there isn't much there. Literally a handful of bars/restaurants and a couple of beach shops.
We had a great time here in this resort but it won't be for everyone. Mainly Spanish/German tourists and very little here. I think I'd have got bored for any longer than a week but car hire is really cheap (I was told by the one English couple I met!) and the island is very pretty. For a week in the winter sun you won't go far wrong.
The apartments have flaws. In spots it could be described as a bit grubby but on the whole it did the job and we always felt safe and secure there. With a bit of work they could be really nice but you get what you pay for (we paid £350ish each for the adults).

Room Tip: 229 if you want a massive so terrace and amazing sea view.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Just returned back from La Palma where we stayed in the La Caleta Apartments in Playa De Los Cancajos. Overall the apartment was spacious and clean. We were in apartment 121 which was on first floor. We had a view over the pool and the sea which was lovely. Cancajos is near the end of the runway of La Palmas airport so there will be a bit of aircraft noise, but its not a busy airport and we quite enjoyed watching the planes take off! Only drawback to this apartment was that the front door faced on to the main road through the resort. Although the road was not too busy, there were a number of bars and restaurants directly opposite the apartment which did get quite loud. This was not a major problem though and didn't keep us awake. There is no air conditioning either so the rooms can get quite hot. We just opened the window a touch and it was fine. The apartment was cleaned 3 times during our stay and new towels were provided each time. It didn't have a kettle though, so we had to boil all our water which was a bit of a pain. The reception area was bright and welcoming and the staff were friendly. The pool area was lovely too. There is a restaurant on the apartment complex which serves a buffet style lunch and dinner menu, although we can't vouch for it as we did not eat there. The apartments are easy to find, as they are situated on the main road through Cancajos. There is a lovely promenade at the bottom of the street where the reception is located, which leads you along the sea front into the centre of Cancajos, where the main beach and restaurants are. There is a small supermarket towards the bottom of this street or a Spar supermarket back along the main road towards Cancajos, although this does close around 9pm. The islands capital Santa Cruz de la Palma is only 4kms up the road and is definitely worth a visit. Its only small and has lovely little cobbled streets to explore. Overall we would recommend La Caleta Apartments and we enjoyed our stay here. You probably won't meet another English tourist staying here, we only came across another 2 during our whole stay and we explored the whole island! We can highly recommend the island of La Palma as a whole. It is absolutely stunning. Having visited all of the main Canary Islands now except La Gomera and El Hierro, we can safely say that La Palma is our favourite by far!! If you want a spacious apartment, close to the beach in a central location to explore the rest of La Palma, stay at La Caleta.

Room Tip: Request a room with a Balcony and/or a Sea View and you are less likel to have an apartment on the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rickywhite2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We booked the La Caleta apartments for week commencing 13/7/2012 having read the reviews on this site.
We were very pleasantly surprised as it was one of the most spacious apartments we have had on this type of holiday. We occupied Room 220 which was on the upper floor of the two storey block overlooking the pool. Huge, comfortable bed, bright and airy, well maintained and generally quiet although we were disturbed by a party of raucous Spanish girls partying into the night - the management soon put a stop to this after complaints from several guests.
The locality was very good, 10-15 mins walk to a lovely set of three small beaches; 5 mins to the nearest Spar supermarket and good restaurants nearbyt. The bus service is also worth remarking on; new buses, on the half hour costing only E1.30 to get to the capital.
Our only complaint, which is a very minor one, there is no kettle so having read about this on here we took our own mini boiler - problem solved.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oilycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I spent a week at La Caleta at the beginning of February 2012. We were very pleased with the apartment in general -clean, well maintained, huge comfortable bed, and remarkably quiet at night (despite the proximity of the airport). The one shortcoming was the lack of cookware - there was a fridge, cooker and microwave, but no toaster, small saucepan or even a kettle. The only saucepan was was a huge "tureen" completely unsuited to boiling a small quantity of water, and had we not taken our own kettle we would have been in real difficulties. Please follow our example if you want to make your own tea, coffee, etc.
To finish on a positive note, there are lots of nearby restaurants and the island itself is glorious!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeicesterRicey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Very quiet and none of the usual British holidaymakers like you see in the rest of the Canarys. Really big apartment in a good location although there is not much in the way of great places to eat on a nighttime. We went over christmas and the weather was ok. We hired a car and did the full island. Definately worth going up to the top of the volcano to sse the great views and breathe the fresh cool air. It was snow capped when we went and the drive up and down is something else.Also go to Feuncalinte to see the volcanic craters.The west side of the island is very lush and looks a lot like parts of Hawaii. We went out to eat in the restaurant which is attached to the apartments but he food is average. I would recommend the La Placeta Restaurant in Santa Cruz. The food is wonderful although a little pricier than other places but ypou get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dadie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa De Los Cancajos
0.3 mi away
H10 Taburiente Playa
H10 Taburiente Playa
#2 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
1,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hacienda San Jorge
Hacienda San Jorge
#1 of 13 in Brena Baja
580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Las Olas
Hotel Las Olas
#1 of 3 in Playa De Los Cancajos
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Sol La Palma Hotel by Melia
12.1 mi away
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Princess
La Palma Princess & Teneguia Pri...
#1 of 6 in Fuencaliente de la Palma
4,785 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Cerrito Apartamentos
El Cerrito Apartamentos
#4 of 13 in Brena Baja
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Caleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Caleta

Address: Calle San Antonio s/n, 38712 Playa De Los Cancajos, La Palma, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Palma > Playa De Los Cancajos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Playa De Los Cancajos
Price Range: £35 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Caleta 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Caleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Caleta La Palma/Playa De Los Cancajos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing