We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect to relax”
Review of Hotel Xaloc Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Xaloc Playa
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Punta Prima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner (26 & 32) returned from the Xaloc Playa this morning. All in all we had a really pleasent stay.

The hotel is very tranquil, perfect for a really relaxing holiday and the resort of Punta Prima also matches the tranquil description- which is great if all you want is to literally relax, however, we struggled due to the lack of activities/ things to do. Maybe its our age- we're used to busier places.

Punta Prima has a small selection of tavernas/ bars, the prices are reasonable but the food at the Xaloc was amazing so there was really no need to dine out (we did a couple of times and were disappointed with the quality of food in the local restaurants). Breakfast was consistently great and plenty of tasty choices available at dinner at the Xaloc.

Drinks were priced very reasonable, 0.5 litre of house wine is €3.80, glass of cava €1.95!!

If you choose to stay at the Xaloc you MUST ensure to request a room with air con, as you will definitely require it- not all the rooms have this facility as we found out upon arrival and was allocated a room in the older part of the hotel without air con... we found that the room was very small. Reception soon helped us out and gave us a different more spacious room and advised that these rooms should be requested via email. I'm not sure of the address but hopefully this review will prompt a response.

Overall, we had a great stay. We would return again if we wanted to relax.

P.s please attend to the bengal cross cat- we named him Jefferson and he is lovely!! 45cent will get a tray of cat food at the local supermarket. .. his favourite chicken pate!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Xaloc Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoyed our 1 week break in Menorca staying at the Xaloc Playa , It was a very we'll run hotel ,the staff are worth their weight in gold they are busy all the time , cleaning staff are very thorough keeping all rooms very clean , just a couple of negative points , food although was ok there was not enough choice for myself who does,nt like meat and family's must struggle with no children's variety of food.l also think there should always be a way to change your money within the hotel as it was quite a walk to the supermarket which l found busy at the time .Overall it was a pleasant stay in a lovely location .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmalwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Xaloc Playa and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is situated very close to the beach, which does get rather crowded. The room (402) was rather basic but very clean. It had just 2 sockets in the room, one of which was under the dressing table and the other in the middle of the bed, which really was of no use at all. The cleanliness was very good and the staff were all excellent. The only real gripe we had was that the food in our opinion lacked variety and was on most occasions not very warm, which was rather disappointing. If you were not on a half board basis the choices of restaurants you may find was very limited.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northantshippo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed 16th June for 7 nights. A lovely hotel situated a stone's throw from the beach and high street of this lovely small resort, with everything within walking distance. The perfect chill out holiday and equally ideal as a base if you want to explore the rest of Menorca. There are restaurants, bars, shops and supermarkets within easy distance for you to explore, and you can easily live comfortably within the hotel for your entire stay. The Hotel itself is lovely and clean, with friendly, attentive staff, and the maid service was excellent. The only thing missing was a cuppa in the room, so if you like that sort of thing, take a travel kettle. We went half board and the food menu was more than adequate with several options and as much as you like to eat and drink. The staff were hard working and cheerful, clearly experienced at knowing their audience, and providing for it, so we had no complaints. The bar food and drink was reasonably priced with entertainment provided every other night. I would recommend this friendly hotel to anyone and certainly intend returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ViWi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I can't see why people give this place such good reviews. Rooms though clean are very outdated. The air conditioning didn't work and we couldn't use the balcony due to other people chain smoking. The food was edible but very bland. Asked to be moved to a none smoking area on third day but reception staff took notes but did nothing. €15 for a weeks wifi was excessive. So many additional hidden costs. I can't say the staff were friendly unlees they were trying to get a sale. The only words spoken were hello. Overall id give this hotel a 1 star and only that because the pool was nice and the hotel was close to the beach. Would I recommend it? Simply put NO. But I guess you get what you pay for. This was a last minute booking. Thomas Cook could do better.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in the Xaloc Player from June 17th til 24 June 14. We asked for a high floor sea view room prior to arrival and was pleased to get this staying in room 808. This room over looks the resort and the sea above reception. Not very noisy, nice views and decent size balcony.

Now about the hotel. First I must say, the hotel is very very clean. Floors mopped and windows polished everyday. The pool area is well kept, no litter, and cleaned again early morning. The rooms are cleaned everyday if you wish, this includes fresh towels.

The food is very good for the price that you pay with a large selection of hot and cold. There is a vegetarian option every evening alongside the normal salads. The dining area is nicely set out, not too crowed with a 2 hour serving period. And the choice to eat on the front terrace. The bar pricing is very good, €3 for a pint of beer and also has a good selection of soft and alcoholic drinks.

The staff are very friendly and will go out of there way to help you and make sure everything is just right.

Evening entertainment is 3 times a week which varies from musical to magicians. These are well worth the watch, especially sat outside in the terrace by the pool having a nice drink.

The hotel has 2 very nice pools which most of the time had only 4-5 people swimming or cooling off in. A crazy golf course which we sadly never had time to try, 2 pool tables, table tennis, sky TV in the Barr, WI-FI (€15) for a week though quick and reliable, pool towels to hire, air con (€43 a week though we only could of used it 1 night that was very humid).

All in all a superb hotel and we would go back with out a doubt.

Any questions please just ask.

Room Tip: Room 808. Good size double with nice bathroom, high floor with a sea view and view overlooking the r...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig3558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just returned from 10 days at Xaloc Playa, such a laid back hotel. O-k, so it's not luxurious, but very clean , with a lovely atmosphere, and the staff were fantastic, every single one of them were so friendly,pleasant and polite, nothing was too much trouble.The food could have been better, but was perfectly edible. The entertainment three nights a week was excellent. We came back feeling really rested as the resort is very small and very quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tynewydd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Prima
0.2 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,726 reviews
24.4 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,287 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,334 reviews
1.8 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 3 in S'Algar
1,528 reviews
13.1 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xaloc Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xaloc Playa

Address: Calle Major s/n, 07713 Punta Prima, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Punta Prima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Punta Prima
#5 Family Hotel in Punta Prima
Price Range: £45 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Xaloc Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Xaloc Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xaloc Playa Punta Prima Es
Xaloc Playa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing