We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very well” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Costa d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamentos Costa d'Or
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Calafell
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

My family and four family vacationed at this hotel for one month. The excellent location, close to beach, station, shops. The hotel is very safety! Fly away from the balcony towels back to us immediately, before we noticed the loss. On site there is the camera. The rooms are very clean, beds and towels are new. The maids are friendly. twice to request is not necessary.Anne and George were very attentive. fast internet, perfectly clean bass, the noise stops in from 20.00 pm, which is very convenient for families with small children. the kitchen has everything you need. I really do not understand people who did not like something. I am very demanding and demanding and so I tell them thank you for our stay! excellent value for money!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 298484Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    35
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
68
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I booked this place due to it's rating on here yet had to check again while I was there that I'd booked the right place.

Maybe the rooms are very different because I cannot see how anyone staying in a room like ours would give it a good review!!


The good points

Begins and ends with it's location! Two minutes at the most from the beach and 5 minutes from the main central part of town.

The bad points:

No aircon
Very poor outdated decor
Smallest balcony every!! (have to pull table into room to get to the other chair!!)
No bin in apartment
Tiny TV
Cobwebs
Dirty floors
Wi-Fi 2 Euros per day but only available in a shabby communal room near reception
All communal areas downstairs seem to be overgrown with plants meaning those areas cannot be cleaned.
Pool in the shade all day


In fairness the staff on reception were very helpful and courteous.

It may have only been £40 per night but how it's rated 3 stars is beyond me, let alone being Calafell's number one hotel on Tripadvisor.

I will never go back here nor would I recommend it.

(If you are driving they have an excellent indoor car park for 7.50 Euros per day. Which we joked was better than our apartment!!)

Room Tip: Any rooms, so long as they are in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zottegem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed in Costa D'or appartments in August 2012 for the first time, with 4 adults and 2 babies. When we arrived, we were shown our appartment and it was very nice and clean. Although it was hot outside (32 degrees), and the appartments have no airconditioning, it was not too warm inside because the rollerblinds on the outside of each window was lowered so the sun couldn't come in. The appartment isn't very big (especially the kitchen is rather small) but on the other hand, you aren't on vacation to stay in the appartment, so for me it was big enough. The terras could be bigger though, very complicated to sit their with 4 people... The baby beds were placed in the room, as requested.

It's a bit a pitty that there isn't a written overview available of the facilities (like internet, fans for rental, etc.), so you have to ask everything but the people are very friendly and help you out very good.

The beach is very close (5 min walk) so the situation of the appartments are very good. We were a bit afraid that Calafell would be a bit solitary but this wasn't true at all: you have a lot of good restaurants (try Saint-Tropez!) and shops in the neighbourhood and in the evening, there are lots of tourist walking around.

The swimming pool was a bit small and there isn't much sun available because of the walls but it was very clean (cleaned every morning). When you want to get in the sun, you can go to the roof, where you can sunbath (we only found it after a couple of days so you have to know it's there).

One thing that disturbed us was the noise in the evening of the hotel lying after Costa D'or (I believe it's called Canada Palace). They had music shows every evening untill 11 pm... Especially for the people who want to sleep in the room on that side, the noise was too loud.

Although we had some doubts in advance, the positive reviews are certainly justified and we would definitely return to Costa D'or. The apparts are clean, they are well situated and the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yosemite84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Nice spacious apartments close to the beach, the restaurants and shops. We enjoyed the beach and visited Barcelona and the area with public transportation (train or bus).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlonaBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

Perfect location.
It was two minutes from the beach and shops so extremeny convenient.
Ten minutes from the train station also made it perfect, if you are traveling without car.
Staff very friendly and apartment well equipped.
Although simple and not luxurious it was excellent value for money due to the cleanliness and convenience to all amenities.
We loved sitting out on our balcony for breakfast.
We enjoyed our stay - Calafell is a great place ( this was our first visit but will definately be going back ) and the apartments were clean and the beach amazing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Right next do the beach, yet on a quiet street and close to everything you need, like shops, bars and restaurants. Simple, but very well maintained and clean.
Everything about this place are the people who manage it. They remember everything, you never need to ask them twice. Before you reported a problem with your household they were there to fix it. I travel for work a lot and I wish most of the 5* top luxury hotel would have people like here. They don't have fake smiles on their faces all the time, but they think about you and your needs and this is soooooo important. They made us feel like we are in a safe place and we're taken care of. Which was really really great and I cannot thank them enough for that.

The downsides: no a/c. We stayed for 4 weeks from August 23rd expecting to have a cooler weather by September. No chance. We were very lucky with the beach, but sleep in such heat with no a/c is a nightmare. Because there are no a/c all apartments has all their doors open, everyone is hanging out on their balconies till late night, disco in the hotel next door. It is absolutely fine if you have no kids. If you are with small kids and you wake up early and put them to bed at 9. It is extremely noisy until 1 or 2 am every night.

Other than that - this is really a great place to stay if you are on the budget,

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dashkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at this aparthotel for 9 days and had a very nice holiday. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. Top marks to the maid service who are worth a special mention and were very thoughtful in putting a bedrail on my daughters bed after seeing our effort of putting chairs by her bed. The maid service throughout was excellent. The apartment was very clean, a little on the small side but adequate for us (2 adults and 3 children - 5/3/9 months). We had no issues with noise and at night the temperature was fine for sleeping - A/C would not have been needed.
The pool is fine - we used it 2 or 3 times. It is shaded in different spots at different times of the day - so the avid sunbathers had their sun loungers "booked" with towels. However we used the beach most days - literally 5 minute walk away. Supermarket also withon 5 minute walk.
Callafel is a nice location for a family holiday with small children - lots of playgrounds, nice beach and good kids entertainment locally. Not the most atmospheric place, more of a resort than a town but certainly not a garish touristy town. And just an hour train trip to Barcelona. All in all a nice place but once mmight be enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1camel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calafell
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kursaal
Hotel Kursaal
#5 of 10 in Calafell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Solimar
0.1 mi away
4R Miramar Calafell
4R Miramar Calafell
#4 of 10 in Calafell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Antiga
Hotel Antiga
#1 of 10 in Calafell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Costamar Apartments
Costamar Apartments
#8 of 10 in Calafell
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Costa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Costa d'Or

Property: Apartamentos Costa d'Or
Address: C/Vilamar 101 | Calafell playa, 43820 Calafell, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Calafell
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Calafell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Costa d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments Costa d'Or are located 5O meters from the beach, in the centre of Calafell, close to restaurants and supermarkets.Calafell is situated 6O km south from Barcelona and 3O minutes from Port Aventura. Calafell is a good accommodation choice for visit Barcelona, only at 50 min by train to Barcelona center.The apartments Costa d'Or have swimming-pool, solarium, gardens, lift, park for children, sitting room and parking, and all the apartments have T.V., satellite, safe and telephone. The apartments are furnished with linen and towels. Maid service and change of linen and towels is done 3 days per week.Wifi area, parking, laundry service and safe are also possible.Accommodation suitable for enjoy a beach holidays and visit Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Costa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Costa D'Or Calafell, Spain - Costa Dorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing