We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Papillon Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmyra Hotel(Argassi)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirabelle Hotel(Argassi)(Great Value!)
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Contessa Hotel(Argassi)(Great Value!)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoulos inn(Argassi)
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Windmill Studios(Argassi)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
190
85
22
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
85
22
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplenty of sunbedspool barrooms are basicself cateringlarge poolbedroom apartmentcentral locationminute walk to the beachyour doorstepfantastic holidaygreat pool areathese apartmentsspecial thankstwo weeksgyrosair conditioningzante town
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Booked a cheap place in the sun with no high expectations. Were we surprised when we came to the Papillon.
Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Room was small, but perfectly adequate, with a balcony overlooking the courtyard.
The pool area was the gem in the crown. Large pool, looked after by Ivan, with plenty of sun loungers.
Close to the village centre, but it is quite quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann6555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Ann6555,

Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor.
Nice to hear that you had a good stay here at the Hotel Papillon enjoying the pool and its central position.

Best Wishes
All the staff from the Papillon Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked a cheap allocation on arrival deal with cosmos. As we were travelling with our son who is 6, we were a bit dissapointed to be given somewhere in Lagana!! But it didnt matter as i had looked up a few possible choices, so we got in a taxi (17euros) and came here. Paula who was on reception was really nice, showed me the room before we made our decision. It was a top floor 2 bedroom apartment.(It was up 2 flights of stairs, but you could just about see over to Zante town and a bit of the sea.) She was worried that although the room had been cleaned she wasnt able to get the cleaners in to freshen it up. No worries as it was clean, and fine for us. Basic as most greek hotels are, but clean. There was a double bed + single in 1 room and 2 singles in the other. There was a tv but we never switched it on. A bath!!! with shower head above( you still had to sit in the bath to shower, but again for Greece was quite posh having a bath!!) There was plenty of hot water too. There was a fridge, Kettle, cooking plate (never used) few pots and pans and cups. Small seating area in the kitchen with chairs. Although the Hotel seemed quite full it was very quiet at night time so you got a good sleep, the beds are a bit hard, BUT i have slept on worse!!! There is a bar area near reception, always looked nice and clean. There is a few table games for children, some books and mags left by other guests. The pool is big, with seperate bit for children( be aware this still went a bit deep!!!) plenty of sun loungers, always looked clean. There are two blocks of rooms at the hotel, the 2 bed apartments are self catering, and studios on a b&b basis. I walked past the breakfast options and looked like cereal, ham, cheese, bread, tea and coffee, juice etc. Basic but looked ok! we didn't eat at the hotel, but there were menu's about offering snacks at reasonable prices. I went to the bakery a few mornings( go to the main road turn right, and its set back a bit off the road just after the signs for peters boat trips) croissants were 1.50!!! lovely selection of bread pastry's, biscuits, and little ice creams in the fridges. If you like pan au chocolate get there early!! i only managed to get them once!!! but mmmmm still warm and were lovely. Now for Argassi its self the beach is close, over the main road but there isn't much of it, and was rocky. So not great for little ones!! there are a lot of restaurants on the main road, we ate at a few Gusto's is a nice little grill house ( go to main road and turn left, its quite far up on the left) they've not been open long, but got a nice meal with salad and some lovely strawberries after free with the bill!! We went into Ruby's snackbar quite a few time my little boy took a liking to Makis who works there at night. We had a nice souvlaki there and they do crepes, waffles, chocolate pie and other yummy cakes which myself and the little guy sampled for a treat on the way home!! We took the little guy to play mini golf up the main road a couple of times to pass a bit of time in the cloudy weather it was 5euro a person!! There is another one up the road the hotel entrance is on but we didnt get there!!. We got the little train to Zante town one night. This was quite nice for a change of scenery. Had a walk around the square but the meal we had in the square was a bit dissapointing, and there was some sort of arcade type thing next to the restaurant, we didnt realise until we sat down. My advice if you do the train ride, is walk back towards the Dionysos church and there is quite a few places round there to eat that looked much nicer!!! we also drove to Kalamaki one evening and had a lovely meal there, it seems much cheaper around there too. We had a 3 course meal for 6.50 each was one of the nicest meals we had!!! There was some 3 course meals offered around Argassi but were 12euro per person. We hired a car from olympic up the road from the hotel this cost 150euros for 6 days we went 28th may-05th june and the weather was a bit cloudy for quite a few of the days so we thought we would go and hunt the sunshine around the island. We had a nice holiday, shame the weather wasn't great but that's noones fault. This Hotel is really nice and i would reccomend. If i come back to Argassi i would stay again. Sorry for the long review, but if you travel with children its nice to know a bit more about where your going!! P.s if you book it before you come its slightly cheaper!!!

Room Tip: 2 bed apartments are set back away from the road.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Anne B,

Thank you so much for your detailed review, you have wriiten almost everything that you did and saw during your stay. As you said it is good to give other viewers more of an idea, which you have done. We would like to let you know that it was a pleasure to have you all staying with us here at the Papillon and we hope to see you again in the future as i am sure that you will be back to the island again...

Kind Regards
All the staff from Papillon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Just got back from staying at this lovely and welcoming hotel,first of as soon as we turned up something struck me...The night porter I didn't actually get his name greeted us with almost open arms,very pleasant and he made us feel very welcome strait away,even if it was 5.30 am lol.
One of the things what struck me strait away was when the night porter showed us to our room in the respect of people sleeping he actually carried our cases,they didn't hit the floor once until they were in our room...and it shined on me strait away were definitely in an hotel which is worth a lot more than what we payed...through out the stay we met nick, Paula and all the staff...!
Where do I start,nick fantastic guy spoke great English, so helpful,very pleasant and most of all always smiling...! Paula well,this gal made me laugh,likes abit of banter...! Again fantastic English because she was English lol but most of all very pleasant and all ways smiling and helpful,seriously these guys would bend over backwards for you if they could...! Evan,he ran the kitchen. again very pleasant smiling also spoke good English,just in all made you feel very welcome...! The cleaners,wow the were fantastic ok English wasn't the best but however the way the cleaned made up for it...Every time I went back to my room after a day out the room felt new again...They work very hard bless em...!
There was even a gardening/groundsman I didn't really speak to him but hey he seemed happy enough smiling while working...;-)

The rooms,I can't fault them the were absolutely spot on for what we needed.very clean and modern,even had a fridge aswell as a TV and I might ad the fridge worked very well and was spotless inside...!showers in the rooms were spot on,toilet sink yep you guessed it,all clean...loved the fact they fixed the switches for your lights at your bedside so you didn't have to keep getting up to turn the buggers on/off

The pool,just rite in size very clean Evan the fella who run the kitchen runs round cleaning it every morning,other than that a pools a pool long as it gets you" wet "rite...!Oh and also there were always sunbeds spare...

Reception,bar area fantastic place to sit and chill and it was never hot in there so that was nice...There's a big TV in there also so if the world Cup's on like it was when we was there happy days quiet bar,to watch the footy

Just one more thing this place is pretty close to every thing,there's a cracking little bar just round the corner magic mushroom it's called the staff in there are spot and it's a good night also...loads and loads of shops rite on ya door step and trust me I was very surprised they speak English to or at least try there best,restaurant wise there's loads of restaurants but mine and my gals fave place to eat was the papillon restaurant,amazing food and not to expensive...staff there again,fantastic...!

Rite that's me done I just wanna say thanks to all at papillon hotel you guys made my gal and my holiday amazin and we will definitely be back in the not to distant future thanks again


Lee and jo aura room 218
15th june- 22nd June xxx the kisses are from the missus...;-)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear lee m.

Thank you so much for your fantastic review here on Tripadvisor.
What can we say except we are so glad that you had such a good time here at the Papillon, also that we made you feel so welcome, it is of course what we aim to do at all times, but it is always very rewarding when we get to hear so much as that what you have mentioned.
A huge pleasure to have had met you and got to know for the short time that we did. Really hope that we get to meet again in the near furure.

All the best
Paula Dimitra Nikos Ivan and all the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our first family holiday since our 4 year old daughter Grace was born and it took me some painful searching to find the holiday that suited us! It had to be exactly right as my hubby really didnt want to go to Greece and I did, so I needed to find the ideal holiday :-) We wanted two bedrooms to give us the best opportunity of having a relaxed holiday, and these apartments had everything we needed, two very large bedrooms with enough storage and a compact bathroom and kitchen. The location was great with the beach, shops bars and restaurants a stones throw away and the staff ESPECIALLY Nikos and Dimitra were truly wonderful with nothing being too much trouble. They both always found time to chat even though they were busy getting ready for the season (we arrived on the first day of opening, and there were literally only 4 other couples the whole week so the pool was never crowded) We didnt eat at the restaurant as it wasnt open during our stay but we used to pool bar which was good. The room was cleaned with beds made daily, and hand soap and loo rolls were always stocked up. There is a small play area which Grace loved and she was always pleased to see the resident Yorkshire terrier (sorry, cant remember her name but she is a real old lady!!) The apartments all have balconies or terraces which get the sun all day long, and even the ground floor one which we had was enclosed with a secure metal railing which was ideal for keeping children safe.

All in all we had probably one of the best holidays just because we were chilled, Grace was happy and the weather was good so we will certainly return as this place definitely draws you back!
(The pancakes at bar 24/7 just up the hill to the left of the Papillon are amazing and the staff there a great too!)

Thanks for a great holiday, Steve is totally converted and loved his first Greek experience!

Cant wait to come back,

Suzie, Steve and Grace x

Room Tip: The apartments have 2 bedrooms and have the sun all day!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looniestpluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear looniestpluto,,

Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor, great to hear that you all had a good holiday, especially as it was your 1st with little Grace. Also great to hear that Steve is converted and that he enjoyed himself too. We try our very best at all times to do what we have to do to make everyone happy, and it is a pleasure to do so.
Little yorkie is called Missy.....

Best Wishes
Dimitra Nikos and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My girlfriend and me stayed in this hotel for two weeks, we came for a quiet holiday to get out and explore, eat in nice restaurants and generally just relax. We searched the internet for days trying to find a hotel - we were both coming to the end of uni a lot of pressure was on with that and we wanted to book a holiday so as you can imagine it was very last minute. We decided on zakynthos and went from there. After some searching we came across this hotel and I'll be honest, the lack of reviews really put me off when booking to stay here - however we booked and we went, and I couldn't have asked for a better hotel.

The rooms were just what you need, they were well kept, they were modern and exactly what you need from a room - best of all they had a fridge! (which was spotlessly clean on our arrival - it sounds petty but a minor detail like a clean fridge just makes the overall feel for the hotel better in the knowledge that they have taken the time to make it perfect for you). They were cleaned everyday with fresh bedding and towels - the cleaners were lovely and pleasant and did a really good job.

EVERYONE on reception are fantastic. We were made to feel so welcome and were able to ask questions and generally just have a chat about anything and everything - we were NEVER pressured to stay at the hotel we were even advised by the staff there of places to eat out and encouraged to try the places they enjoyed and had been themselves which as you can imagine was really helpful. You were made to feel part of a little community/family.

The breakfast is basic but what do you expect for the price you pay? There's cheese, ham, croissants, biscuits, juice, coffee, toast, slices fruit, cereal - everything you need for a breakfast.

The hotel is in a great location, it offers restaurants, bars and shops. Zante town is a 30min walk although the road to get their is a bit treacherous. I would advise anyone staying in ANY part of this island to hire car - we had ours for a week and saw literally EVERYTHING, well worth doing!

The only thing that disappointed both me and my girlfriend was Ivan/Ifan who work at the poolbar - he really let the team down - very pleasant first day - for the next 12 days of our stay he was miserable as sin and when I greeted him EVERY morning with a "Hello, how are you?" I was ignored! He was always pleasant to those who stayed and spent their days at the pool though (something we did not do) so I suspect it had something to do with that. Last day of our holiday he was as lovely as the first (I suspect in the hope of a tip - which he did not get). I feel really bad writing this because as I have already said the hotel was prefect, the staff were amazing and he really let them down - do not let this put you off, I am writing this so the management are aware, and it is not meant to take away from ALL of the amazing qualities and staff this hotel has to offer.

This hotel is WELL worth a visit, the staff are amazing, lovely, friendly, kind and honest. You are made to feel most welcome and it is like staying with relatives rather than in a hotel. Clean, friendly, great location and a more than reasonably priced hotel.

Thank you all for making our time so enjoyable and for all the advice on places to visit and eat - you really made the holiday special.

Kind regards,

Lee and Chloe (Room 214).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Lee W,

Thank you so much for your review here on Tripadvisor.
Thank you again for writing in such detail, about almost everything. I am sure that it will be very helpful to other viewers here on Tripadvisor. Loved the way you described everything from the exploring that you did, right down to the description of the Hotel itself including the general upkeep, services etc,
We are all so pleased to hear that you had such a good time whilst on holiday and makes it all the better knowing that maybe we had a little something to do with that.

Lastly i would like to inform you that we value and take into consideration all of the comments made here on Tripadvisor.

Hope to see you again one day
Kind Regards & Best Wishes
All the Staff from Hotel Papillon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews