We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Papillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Papillon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday ”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

A very friendly and warm hotel . This hotel is central to argassi and well situated for all local amenities and the staff and warm friendly and helpful, a special mention of Nikos and Paula must be made. Our room was well cleaned daily, with a daily change of sheets and towels. The hotel has the advantage of a large pool area, and free sun beds. We would not hesitate to return again, it felt comfortable and a real 'home from home'.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Janet T,

Thank you for taking out the time to write your review here on Tripadvisor.
It was a pleasure to have you here and glad that you found the hotel to be "home from home'.
Missing our little chats about anything and everything...!

Hope we meet again sometime.
Take care and keep up the good work both of you!

From all the Hotel Papillon Staff
Paula Nikos Dimitra Ivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    74
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
116
97
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Papillon hotel for two weeks and it was the best holiday we have had. Initially we booked the Meridian but due to an issue with overbooking we were moved to the Papillon and it turned out to be for the best. The hotel was wonderful with a comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. The hotel also had one of the biggest pools I have seen at the hotels in Argassi and you could easily spend a whole day swimming, playing volleyball in the pool and relaxing poolside. The food from the pool bar was also amazing especially their gyros and village sausage. However, by far the most stand out quality of the Papillon hotel was its wonderful staff; everyone was friendly, helpful and welcoming. Any issues or questions we had the staff at the Papillon were more than happy to help varying from recommendations for what to do at Zakynthos to making our stay as pleasant as possible. I recommend the Papillon to any one looking to stay at Zakynthos. The Papillon is the first hotel I can say I miss and when I return to Zakynthos I will be booking at the Papillon again.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the reception get better wi-fi signal. Also, rooms on the 1st floor have a balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Jack B,

Thank you for your recent review here on Tripadvisor
We are happy to hear that you had a good holiday here at the Papillon, enjoying all the facilities and surrounding area.
Thank you for your kind comments on our staff, which will be passed on to all.

Finally, as you mentioned a possible return to the Island , we hope that we get to meet you again sometime.

Best Wishes

From all the Hotel Papillon Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A group of 8 of us stayed here 29th May to 5th June and had a fabulous time. We had actually booked to stay in the Meridien Beach Hotel but when we arrived we were told they had a water leak and no rooms for us to stay in. We later found out there was no water leak and they had just overbooked, if you read reviews for the Meridien you can see we were not the only ones that were lied to over this recently. Anyway after contacting our rep she found us alternative accomodation at the Papillon. This hotel had 15 minutes notice that we were coming and I can honestly say they made us so welcome we did not want to leave. They upgraded our rooms to 2 bedroom appartments and our board basis to bed and breakfast, All the staff were so friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Paula especially is a real asset to this hotel. The owners and all the staff were so helpful all the time and I think they appreciated the floral gifts that certain members of our group left them. Two of our group are planning to go back in September. The pool bar does lovely food and at a very reasonable price. Pool area is lovely and has plenty of sunbeds. Our rooms were cleaned every day and spotless when we arrived despite the short notice. I would without a doubt stay here again next time I visit Zante. Thank you to all at the Papillon for making our holiday so special. Best wishes from all the Rotherham lot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LilRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear LilRotherham,

Thank you so much for your review here on Tripadvisor.
We have to say from all of the staff from the Hotel Papillon, that it was a real pleasure to have you all here, to accomodate you and most of all to laugh with you all...Thank you for all your comments regarding staff and the hotel in general.
Great to hear that you were all satisfied and really hope that we get to see you all again soon...
Flowers are a must though...!

Take care and Regards to All
Paula Nikos Dimitra Ivan and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

2 adults two kids ali and natalia (probably heard them at pool).spent one of our best weeks holiday, ever. Paula a definate gem and a real asset for the hotel, always smiling eager to help and really genuine person. Our kids loved her too. The chap at the bar Evan was brilliant always attentive freindly and helpful. Whilst at the pool we ate at bar, its normal snack food but evan always added his touch and made it interesting. The two other chaps at reception where cool, always eager to make you feel as one of them. The ukrainian entertainment guy was a hit with our children, he kept them busy when they could manage to tear them selfs away from the pool. The rooms are all you need for a holiday, cleaned every day and spacious. During our stay we hired a car and travelled around the island (highly advisable as this place is amazing) try and see as much as you can. Banana beach is a must.
Also visited a restaurant called komis, a fish restaurant in the town near the port police, what alovely place. All in all an excellent holiday location, lovely island very helpful and nice locals but best of all and really made our holiday was the way we where treated and made welcome at this hotel. Well done guys and keep up the exceptional work. Just like to say sorry I didnt say goodbye properly, (paula you saw how the wife took in the shower, I had ten minutes to get ready) but hopefully we will see u again because when we plan anther trip to zante papilon will definitely be our choice. Thank you for everything to everyone who made our holiday a special one love malak, kalil, ali and natalia stayed 19th june-26th

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Ali C,

Thank you so much for you fantastic review.
A detailed review which covered everything you did, where you went etc. I trust that this will be helpful too to other Tripadvisor viewers..
You can tell Ali and Natalia that all the staff miss them and Paula misses them ringing the bell on reception!

Dont worry about the quick goodbye, we will do properly next time!

Once again thank you for choosing the Hotel Papillon, it was a pleasure to have you here.

Take care all of you
Dimitra Paula Nikos Ivan and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Booked this trip quite last minute wanting to return to Argassi after visiting there around 7 years ago. We had a wonderful stay at the Papillon Hotel all the staff especially Nichos and Paula were friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. Rooms are basic as most rooms in Greece are but they are very clean and the maid service visits daily to tidy the beds, change the sheets and towels when needed. You are literally a stones throw away from everything you need. The pool is lovely with ample sun beds and the Beach a very short walk away. The food at the pool side bar is delicious and there are a vast amount of beautiful restaurants close by. We would definitely visit again both the Papillon and Argassi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robnbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Robnbeck,

Thank you for taking out the time to write your review on Tripadvisor.
Great to hear that you had a good holiday on your return visit here in Zakynthos.
Thank you especially for your kind words about the staff and the hotel in general.
Hope that you had a great Anniversary and that we get to see you again in the future.

Regards
Paula Nikos, Dimitra and all the staff from the Papillon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Booked a cheap place in the sun with no high expectations. Were we surprised when we came to the Papillon.
Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Room was small, but perfectly adequate, with a balcony overlooking the courtyard.
The pool area was the gem in the crown. Large pool, looked after by Ivan, with plenty of sun loungers.
Close to the village centre, but it is quite quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann6555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Ann6555,

Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor.
Nice to hear that you had a good stay here at the Hotel Papillon enjoying the pool and its central position.

Best Wishes
All the staff from the Papillon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked a cheap allocation on arrival deal with cosmos. As we were travelling with our son who is 6, we were a bit dissapointed to be given somewhere in Lagana!! But it didnt matter as i had looked up a few possible choices, so we got in a taxi (17euros) and came here. Paula who was on reception was really nice, showed me the room before we made our decision. It was a top floor 2 bedroom apartment.(It was up 2 flights of stairs, but you could just about see over to Zante town and a bit of the sea.) She was worried that although the room had been cleaned she wasnt able to get the cleaners in to freshen it up. No worries as it was clean, and fine for us. Basic as most greek hotels are, but clean. There was a double bed + single in 1 room and 2 singles in the other. There was a tv but we never switched it on. A bath!!! with shower head above( you still had to sit in the bath to shower, but again for Greece was quite posh having a bath!!) There was plenty of hot water too. There was a fridge, Kettle, cooking plate (never used) few pots and pans and cups. Small seating area in the kitchen with chairs. Although the Hotel seemed quite full it was very quiet at night time so you got a good sleep, the beds are a bit hard, BUT i have slept on worse!!! There is a bar area near reception, always looked nice and clean. There is a few table games for children, some books and mags left by other guests. The pool is big, with seperate bit for children( be aware this still went a bit deep!!!) plenty of sun loungers, always looked clean. There are two blocks of rooms at the hotel, the 2 bed apartments are self catering, and studios on a b&b basis. I walked past the breakfast options and looked like cereal, ham, cheese, bread, tea and coffee, juice etc. Basic but looked ok! we didn't eat at the hotel, but there were menu's about offering snacks at reasonable prices. I went to the bakery a few mornings( go to the main road turn right, and its set back a bit off the road just after the signs for peters boat trips) croissants were 1.50!!! lovely selection of bread pastry's, biscuits, and little ice creams in the fridges. If you like pan au chocolate get there early!! i only managed to get them once!!! but mmmmm still warm and were lovely. Now for Argassi its self the beach is close, over the main road but there isn't much of it, and was rocky. So not great for little ones!! there are a lot of restaurants on the main road, we ate at a few Gusto's is a nice little grill house ( go to main road and turn left, its quite far up on the left) they've not been open long, but got a nice meal with salad and some lovely strawberries after free with the bill!! We went into Ruby's snackbar quite a few time my little boy took a liking to Makis who works there at night. We had a nice souvlaki there and they do crepes, waffles, chocolate pie and other yummy cakes which myself and the little guy sampled for a treat on the way home!! We took the little guy to play mini golf up the main road a couple of times to pass a bit of time in the cloudy weather it was 5euro a person!! There is another one up the road the hotel entrance is on but we didnt get there!!. We got the little train to Zante town one night. This was quite nice for a change of scenery. Had a walk around the square but the meal we had in the square was a bit dissapointing, and there was some sort of arcade type thing next to the restaurant, we didnt realise until we sat down. My advice if you do the train ride, is walk back towards the Dionysos church and there is quite a few places round there to eat that looked much nicer!!! we also drove to Kalamaki one evening and had a lovely meal there, it seems much cheaper around there too. We had a 3 course meal for 6.50 each was one of the nicest meals we had!!! There was some 3 course meals offered around Argassi but were 12euro per person. We hired a car from olympic up the road from the hotel this cost 150euros for 6 days we went 28th may-05th june and the weather was a bit cloudy for quite a few of the days so we thought we would go and hunt the sunshine around the island. We had a nice holiday, shame the weather wasn't great but that's noones fault. This Hotel is really nice and i would reccomend. If i come back to Argassi i would stay again. Sorry for the long review, but if you travel with children its nice to know a bit more about where your going!! P.s if you book it before you come its slightly cheaper!!!

Room Tip: 2 bed apartments are set back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Anne B,

Thank you so much for your detailed review, you have wriiten almost everything that you did and saw during your stay. As you said it is good to give other viewers more of an idea, which you have done. We would like to let you know that it was a pleasure to have you all staying with us here at the Papillon and we hope to see you again in the future as i am sure that you will be back to the island again...

Kind Regards
All the staff from Papillon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Argassi hotels
0.2 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 29 in Argassi
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 29 in Argassi
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 29 in Argassi
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#11 of 29 in Argassi
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Katerina Palace Hotel
Katerina Palace Hotel
#7 of 29 in Argassi
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zakantha Beach Hotel
Zakantha Beach Hotel
#8 of 29 in Argassi
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Hotel

Property: Papillon Hotel
Address: Argassi, Argassi 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Argassi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Papillon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Papillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Hotel Argassi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing