We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and calm atmosphere, but very central!”
Review of Papillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Papillon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a 2 bedroom apartment at Papillon. The bedrooms were clean and well decorated. The kitchenette was very sparse. Just 1 ring, a kettle and a fridge. A toaster would have helped or 2 rings etc, but we coped. The rooms were cleaned every day and the cleaners were very pleasant. We paid extra for 1 room to have air con as my husband prefers it, but this also cooled the second room to an acceptable temp for my 2 teenage girls. The pool area was lovely; quiet and always plenty of sunbeds. A good mix of shade and shine! The pool was beautifully clean at all times. The pool bar served reasonably priced meals and drinks and there was a supermarket just across the road to get some food for our lunches on the balcony. The staff were very pleasant and the free wifi, was a godsend for aforementioned teenagers. We could just about get this in our room and on the balcony, as well as at the pool area. My husband had to work while we were there and the reception area was very pleasant for him to work in. One of the managers even made him a cup of coffee one time! We particularly enjoyed our family table tennis tournaments in the shade near the pool.
I would say that this is a reasonably priced hotel, which provided us with a very central, but quiet place to enjoy our holiday. Thank you to the staff who make it so pleasant!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WhitakerHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear WhitakerHampshire,

Thank you for taking out the time to write your detailed review here on Tripadvisor, great description of everything from the pool to the rooms, whats on offer. We are sure that this will be perfect for other viewers and help them to make their final decisions...
Missing seeing your husband in the reception working away....

Kind Regards
All the hotel Papillon staff..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just back from a fantastic week at this hotel which is in the centre of Argassi. We stayed in a self catering apartment which was clean and had plenty of space and a lovely balcony. Because there are two bedrooms there is plenty of wardrobe space and lots of hangers which is always helpful. The pool area was very clean and the pool bar good value and lovely food. The pool itself is split into two halves and there is plenty of room for everyone. There are more than enough sunbeds to go around and the music selection from the pool bar will suit all ages!The staff are very helpful and happy to advise the best places to eat and which trips are worth going on. We ate out every night, the Papillon restaurant was one of our favourites and Zorbas is also worth a visit. The beach is narrow but good and the sea was great fun, lots of waves but safe as the water stays shallow until quite a way out. We took a boat trip out to see the sea turtles but only spotted one which was in the harbour and we didn't really need to even get on the boat to see it! Overall a great stay and we would love to visit again.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom apartment which was very spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lisa_DJ8702WG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Lisa_DJ8702WG,

Once again we thank one of our recent guests for a fab review. Really good to hear that you would consider staying with us again. Thank you for the nice comments on our hotel, rooms etc and giving other viewers an insight to other things like the beach, excursions etc.

Great to have met you all, thanks again.

All the Best
All the Hotel Papillon staff..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Papillon is basic even by Greek standards, however, you have to remember it is a 2* hotel. The location and staff more than make up for this though. Papillon is slap bang in the middle of Argassi. Argassi is a really nice resort. It is busy enough to keep everyone happy with bars aimed at a younger crowd as well as some more relaxed places. Argassi is blessed with some excellent places to eat. I would totally recommend Peppermint, which is to the west of the high street opposite the church. There is also Ethnic which is run by an Australian family that offers some really good meat off the spit. We also found a little boutique vineyard in the mountains that sells some superb Greek wine. And finally the Greek night that they do about 5 minutes up in to the mountains is good value.

Just down the road you have Laganas and Kalamaki which are aimed at the 18-30s crowd - I would think you could arrange a taxi there if you really felt the need. Argassi is well connected to Zakynthos which is the main town on Zante and you can get there either by bus or by the road train that is fairly reliable.

Room Tip: We had ground floor, I think first floor would be better it you get the chance. The studios look go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guido_Flashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guido_Flashman,

Great review, touching many things to do and places to go whilst on holiday in Zakynthos/Argassi.
Here at the hotel we always aim to please and makes all the difference when someone comments on this.
All that we can say from the hotel is that it was a pleasure to have you all here and that we really enjoyed having you here..

Many Thanks And Kind Regards,
Nikos Paula Dimitra and all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We are a family of 6 covering 3 generations and we spent the last week of May and the first week of July at the Papillon. We had a lovely holiday, rooms were really spacious and cleaned daily to a good standard. You wouldn't be able to cook much in the kitchenettes ( we went self catering) just a kettle, toaster and hot plate, but why bother with the range of fantastic eateries on your doorstep? Favourites were the Papillon ( great pasta and steak with Roquefort to die for) Zorbas where all the helping were huge and mouthwatering, Peppermint, fab service and food, Palmyre, Ethnic for a charming ethnic meal with an Aussie twist, and Stars for an authentic greek taverna meal. My daughter and I had breakfast a few times at the 24/7, the pancakes were gorgeous and the range of toppings mind blowing!
Peter next to the bakery can organise anything and is a charming man, like most Greeks, nothing too much trouble. He sorted us a car for the week and a great night out up the local mountain to a taverna with Greek dancing, transport provided in mini buses, great night had by all!
Would recommend a visit to the Sunset tavern, best place in the island to see the sunset, awesome views. Allow plenty of time for the drive, poor signposting and small twisty roads means it took us an hour and we only arrived as the sun was touching the sea! Well worth the effort though, view off the cliffs was amazing.
We hired a boat for the day from Agios Sostis and had an amazing day, a must do. Daughter was swimming off the boat in Laganos bay and along came a giant turtle, totally unbothered by her and swam right next to her! Highlight of her year! The beach at Marathonisi Island, only accessible by boat, is amazing very Jamaican looking with white sand and 3 distinct layers of turquoise sea colour.
Too much to see and do on the island to cover it all, but Papillon was a great base. The biggest pool I saw on Zante ( apart from at the waterpark) always plenty of sunbeds and shade to be had. The pool bar man was always cheery and cracking jokes and makes a mean milkshake! The staff make the hotel so nice, all the cleaners always helpful and smiley, the night porter/ receptionist who was welcoming and lovely about sorting a ground floor room for my 84 year old father who had been allocated a room up a very steep shiny set of marble stairs which he had no hope of climbing. Later on the holiday he became ill and needed a Doctor, a home visit was efficiently sorted by Dmitra. Paula organised extra pillows to enable him to sleep upright and was very kind and helpful.
The flights tend to come in and leave at silly times of the morning, but for 40 euros a room was organised for us until 2am when our pickup came. This was a big benefit and we did see people who stored their luggage in reception sleeping on the loungers by the pool - not an option for us travelling with an 84 year old.
The only negative I can say is that the walls are indeed very thin and if you are unfortunate and have thoughtless neighbours you will hear everything. Take a good set of earplugs and don't let this spoil a lovely holiday, I would certainly return. Thank you all the staff at Papillon!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Joanna F,

The hotel Papillon would like to thank you for your detailed review here on Tripadvisor.
You have taken the time to describe everything from the resort to the hotel to the staff and even things to do here on the Island.
We are sure that it will help other viewers a great deal.
Really great to hear that you managed to enjoy so much even if there were a few hiccups-hope that your father is feeling better.

Many Thanks and Regards
All at the Papillon Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I come from Zakynthos and I suggested to most of my wedding guests to stay at the Papillon hotel mainly because of the location and the cost.

I have been very pleasantly surprised by the welcoming and accommodating staff to all of my guests needs. They have been brilliant and they helped me with several stressful technicalities.

I was also very happy that my guests, all Greek and some foreign, really enjoyed the value for money they got. This is a great centrally located hotel in Argassi, but also provides with a large clean swimming pool, nice outdoor seating areas, quiet surroundings to relax and clean rooms.

I definitely recommend Papillon Hotel.

Thank you all!

Room Tip: The rooms come with an extra cost if you use the A/C, but the rooms are so cool that you most likely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittynel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear kittyNel6812,

We would like to thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor and for all your positive comments.
We are happy to hear that all your guests were happy with the hotel and the service.

Hope that we can be of service again sometime in the future too.

Many Thanks and Regards
Papillon Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here in August 2013 rooms are clean and very basic staff are very good. There were a lot of cats around the hotel and they were a pain we had a ground floor room and they were alway trying to get in, soon fixed that problem with a water pistol after a few days they seem to have got the message.

Room Tip: First floor to avoid the cats! Lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear David H,

We would like to thank you for you review from last years holiday.
Thank you again for your positive comments on hotel and staff.
Regarding the cats , we were aware of stray cats around the hotel last year, which was difficult to keep under hand due to guests/tourists feeding them. Now the situation is underhand with the help of an animal organisation.

Many Thanks & Regards
Hotel Papillon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We had 2 weeks here in early July the rooms were clean n spacious the pool was lovely and we often had it to ourselves the pool bar was great the staff here were wonderful nothing was too much trouble special thanks to Paula and nikoss for making us so welcome and giving us the lay of the land a very memorable holiday. The restaurant of the same name was exceptional too x

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Landygirl1,

Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor......
It was our pleasure to have your company here at the hotel Papillon, and we are happy to hear that you had such a good time.

Really hope that we get to meet you again sometime.

Regards and Best Wishes
Paula Nikos Dimitra and all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Argassi hotels
0.1 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 26 in Argassi
782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#7 of 26 in Argassi
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Beach Ηotel
Paradise Beach Ηotel
#19 of 26 in Argassi
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#6 of 26 in Argassi
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Hotel

Address: Argassi 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Argassi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range: £69 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Papillon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Papillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Hotel Argassi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing