We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and welcoming”
Review of Papillon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Papillon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Papillon hotel , We have stopped in various hotels in argassi but this was our first visit here . We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived to the moment we reluctantly left .
We had a 2 room apartment which were the biggest bedrooms we have had , and even had a BATH ! the apartment has everything you need for a comfortable stay . All the staff were very helpful and tried to accommodate any request ( thank you Paula for the extra pillow and the lovely touch of a present of wine for my wifes birthday ) , The cleaning was done regularly and very well and gave us no cause for complaint . The location could not have been better for access to argassi's bars and restaurants .
Overall I would highly recommend the Papillon for anyone going to Argassi and we cannot wait to return in the future .
The Gould Family

Room Tip: quieter rooms are in the main block towards the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gazgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear gazgo,

Great to see your review here on Tripadvisor, was a real pleasure to have you all here at the Hotel Papillon, and even more of a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time once again here in Argassi.
Most more importantly - really good to hear that you would reccommend the Hotel Papillon and think to return again..Til then,

Very best regards to you all
Paula Dimitra Nikos and all the staff...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Myself and my partner have recently arrived back from a two week holiday in argassi Zante where we stayed at the papillon hotel .although rooms are basic they were clean and ample for our stay , the staff were very freindly and helpfulland full of very good helpful tips of whereto go and where tovisit which helped make our stay even more eenjoyable. Centrally located with the swiming pool second to none .I can highly recommend this hotel for couples an familys.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Dianne G,

Thank your for your recent review, great to hear the you had a good time getting out and about. Thank you also for your kind comments on our hotel staff...
Look forward to seeeing you again as we said....

Regards
Paula Nikos Dimitra Ivan and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

To make life easier I have kept this review purely about the hotel and have reviewed the resort and some of the restaurants separately.The very best thing about this hotel is the people who run it. They are all unfailingly polite, cheerful, helpful and generally make a huge effort to help and make sure everyone has the holiday they want - you cannot put a price on this and we appreciated all of them - thank you. When we arrived we were checked in by Paula very quickly and shown to our room (260) which was not anywhere near the standard I would expect (and I am well used to very basic Greek accommodation but this was dark, dingy and smelly and did not appear to have been cleaned or used in a while) so we were allocated another one on a lower floor (250) which was better and much fresher. It had a very small kitchen diner (self catering equipment consisted of a kettle and two rings but as I have no intention of cooking on holiday - ever! - this suited me fine) with two very large bedrooms (1 of which slept three, the other two) leading to a reasonably sized balcony. The bathroom was typical greek holiday standard but was very clean and okay by us and the sheets and towels were fresh and changed frequently in our 10 day stay. The pool is clean, very large by Argassi standards and there were always plenty of sunbeds (we are lazy and get up at 11am or later and never had a problem finding 4 vacant ones). Food from pool bar was fresh, well cooked, good value and served with a smile and a joke. The hotel is right in the middle of Argassi - literally seconds from anything you need but it is very quiet at night so sleeping not a problem. Yes I could nitpick and fault tiny things but you have to remember what you pay to stay at Papillon and we all know you get what you pay for. I really cannot find anything bad to say about the place really and should I ever return to Argassi I would stay here again. The only vague negative is the noise of the maids working at the Diana Palace next door (which is so close you wouldn't get building regs for it in England) who start work very early and very loudly but that is not is Papillon's fault and I'm sure if had mentioned it they would have tried to sort it out for us!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cullies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Cullies,

Thank you for your detailed review of the hotel Papillon here on Tripadvisor.
Thank you especially for your kind comments on our staff and their efforts, all the staff here at the hotel try to exceed expectations at all times and really try to make sure everyone has a great holiday, so its always nice to get credit on this area.
You mentioned about the room that you were allocated on arrival seemed dingy and unused and unclean on arrival. All of our rooms have been used since the beginning of May and are cleaned on a daily basis Especially for our new arrivals..Also that it was not anywhere the standard that you expected, again we do not offer any rooms that are any different from what we show/describe from our website. However as you were unhappy on arrival and as you mentioned we changed your room immediately to a room exactly the same but on a lower floorh hoping to satisfy your needs and expectations.
With this we hope that you had an enjoyable holiday here in Argassi.

Kind Regards.
All the Hotel Papillon Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have just returned form our holiday in Argassi, we stayed at the Papillon Hotel. What a delight. On arrival we were directed to our 2 bedroomed apartment, which consisted of a small kitchen area, a bathroom (with bath) and 2 very large bedrooms, both leading onto a balcony. The apartment was clean and well maintained, if a little spartan. A travel cot was supplied for my granddaughter of 18 months, & we paid 6 euros a day for the use of the air conditioning unit in the apartment, which was a wise decision in view of the heat in August. The pool area is maintained to a high standard and there was never a problem finding a sunbed at any time of the day. The hotel is centrally positioned in Argassi and with easy access to several very good quality restaurants, bars and the beach with it's friendly beach bars & safe swimming.

Perhaps the best thing about the Papillon Hotel, is the staff. From the speed of response to my email query before our stay, to the daily attitude towards their guests, it could not be faulted, nothing was too much trouble for them. The chamber maids were more than happy to work round the sleeping patterns of an 18 month old baby, and made such a fuss of her when she was awake, even when they were not working.

Everywhere we went in Argassi our granddaughter received special treatment just for being a baby, and she loved it.

If you want a 5 star hotel with all the expensive trimmings they bring, I am sure that you can find one on Zakinthos, if you want to feel valued as a guest at a family run hotel, with clean well maintained rooms, consider the Papillon. It is such good value for money.

Room Tip: We were in room 254, 1st floor & away from the main road, which meant it was quiet at night. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1stShezza54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear 1stShezza54,

What a lovely review! Thank you for taking out your time to write these kind words about the Papillon Hotel , what it has to offer and its staff..
As we have mentioned before it makes everything worthwhile when we get to hear that our guests have enjoyed themselves and felt comfortable during their stay.

Thanks again and Kind Regards
From all the Hotel Papillon staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We have not long come back from two weeks at the Papillon and what a great holiday we had.
First of all I would like to say a huge thankyou to all the staff Nikos, Nikos, Paula, Ivan, Maria and also Manos and Marco who work in the Magic Mushroom. You were all great and felt like we had built a good friendship by the end of the holiday. We would love to come back and were all sad to leave.
The accomodation is typical of a 2 star Greek hotel, basic but clean. As has been said by other guests, the rooms are cleaned every day and beds remade. Sheets and towels weren't changed every day but regularly enough and the staff would change them if you asked them to. Also toasters are available if requested which are ideal.
The pool area is excellent. A large pool and always plenty of sunbeds available.
All the staff were extremely helpful and would do what they could to help, all you have to do is ask.
Some extremely good restaurants near by. Our favourites were Athina, Waves (more for drinking), Peppermint, Pappillon (which isn't anything to do with the hotel), Ethnic and Zorba's.
Ivan can also cook up a storm at the poolside bar.
I'm sure it's alot quiter now we've left? Hopefully you are all well and enjoying the weather. We came home to rain for a change.....
We would love to come back and will hopefully see you next year, from Paul, Cassie, Brendan, Niamh, Antonia, Tony, Catherine, Ann, Walter, Sandra and Joe.

Room Tip: Not all two bedroom appartments have Air con in both rooms so make sure you check this iif it is a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_McGow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Paul_McGow,

Really great to see your review here on Tripadvisor and to hear that you had such a good holiday.
We would like to thank you for all the things that you have chosen to write especially the bit that says that you felt like you had built a good friendship... We truly hope so and makes everything worth while that we do...
Hope the weather not too bad now in the Uk and hope that we get to meet you all again sometime in the future.

All the best to all of you
Paula Nikos Dimitra and all the staff.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a 2 bedroom apartment at Papillon. The bedrooms were clean and well decorated. The kitchenette was very sparse. Just 1 ring, a kettle and a fridge. A toaster would have helped or 2 rings etc, but we coped. The rooms were cleaned every day and the cleaners were very pleasant. We paid extra for 1 room to have air con as my husband prefers it, but this also cooled the second room to an acceptable temp for my 2 teenage girls. The pool area was lovely; quiet and always plenty of sunbeds. A good mix of shade and shine! The pool was beautifully clean at all times. The pool bar served reasonably priced meals and drinks and there was a supermarket just across the road to get some food for our lunches on the balcony. The staff were very pleasant and the free wifi, was a godsend for aforementioned teenagers. We could just about get this in our room and on the balcony, as well as at the pool area. My husband had to work while we were there and the reception area was very pleasant for him to work in. One of the managers even made him a cup of coffee one time! We particularly enjoyed our family table tennis tournaments in the shade near the pool.
I would say that this is a reasonably priced hotel, which provided us with a very central, but quiet place to enjoy our holiday. Thank you to the staff who make it so pleasant!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WhitakerHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear WhitakerHampshire,

Thank you for taking out the time to write your detailed review here on Tripadvisor, great description of everything from the pool to the rooms, whats on offer. We are sure that this will be perfect for other viewers and help them to make their final decisions...
Missing seeing your husband in the reception working away....

Kind Regards
All the hotel Papillon staff..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just back from a fantastic week at this hotel which is in the centre of Argassi. We stayed in a self catering apartment which was clean and had plenty of space and a lovely balcony. Because there are two bedrooms there is plenty of wardrobe space and lots of hangers which is always helpful. The pool area was very clean and the pool bar good value and lovely food. The pool itself is split into two halves and there is plenty of room for everyone. There are more than enough sunbeds to go around and the music selection from the pool bar will suit all ages!The staff are very helpful and happy to advise the best places to eat and which trips are worth going on. We ate out every night, the Papillon restaurant was one of our favourites and Zorbas is also worth a visit. The beach is narrow but good and the sea was great fun, lots of waves but safe as the water stays shallow until quite a way out. We took a boat trip out to see the sea turtles but only spotted one which was in the harbour and we didn't really need to even get on the boat to see it! Overall a great stay and we would love to visit again.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom apartment which was very spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lisa_DJ8702WG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitra A, Front Office Manager at Papillon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Lisa_DJ8702WG,

Once again we thank one of our recent guests for a fab review. Really good to hear that you would consider staying with us again. Thank you for the nice comments on our hotel, rooms etc and giving other viewers an insight to other things like the beach, excursions etc.

Great to have met you all, thanks again.

All the Best
All the Hotel Papillon staff..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.2 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 26 in Argassi
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#7 of 26 in Argassi
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#6 of 26 in Argassi
150 reviews
5.3 mi away
Eco Resort Zefyros
Eco Resort Zefyros
#1 of 1 in Agios Kirikos
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papillon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papillon Hotel

Address: Argassi 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Argassi
#3 Family Hotel in Argassi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range: £20 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Papillon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Papillon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papillon Hotel Argassi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing