We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst meal of the holiday”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue 'n Blue - CLOSED

Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worst meal of the holiday”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

After seeing a flyer advertising this restaurant and checking reviews on tripadvisor we decided to give it a try. Their flyer boasted the fact that they used fresh produce from their garden and that they had the best views on the island. The views were nice but thats where the postives ended I'm afraid. I don't like to leave bad reviews but the food was terrible.. My boyfriend ordered prawns - he got two prawns on a plate with a single leaf of lettuce on the side. I ordered calamari which was rubbery, tasteless and full of grease. I had mousaka for the main course which had hardly any meat and didn't taste fresh or homemade. Chips were poor quality and frozen - certainly not homemade as others have said!! We did look at the desert menu but were told that they didn't have half of the dishes listed there so we didn't bother.
I was very disappointed that the food was so bad as the restaurant itself is beautiful with lovely views of the island. I can only wonder was this a nice restaurant at one stage but due to being off the beaten track having no customers they have cut corners (no homemade chips anymore etc) and standards have slipped. We were the only two people in the restaurant 9 pm in the evening when most restaurants are busy
Unfortunately I could not recommend this restaurant to anybody.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee_202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the walk, great food and views”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We struggled to find this place, it's worth finding it on a map or asking someone to point you in the right direction. It's a 5 minute walk from 24/7 in the opposite direction to the main Argassi strip. It is on the way to Target bar (top of the hill). We ate here twice, the staff were lovely. The views over Argassi and across to Zakynthos Town were worth the walk, you can get a good view over to the mountains of Kefalonia too.
We had the Greek salad, massive portion with big chunks of feta. For the main we had Village chicken (their speciality dish) and the steak, again good sized portion and very good quality.
At the end of the meal they brough out melon the first time and a shot of a local spirit the second time. Very good value, the house wine was only 7 euro for a litre, we didn't spend more than 30 euros on either visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne_c86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food, nicer view.”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The food was really good and it's perched above Argassi so the views are great. As it's perched it might be worth taking a taxi if you don't have a car, although I did hear staff offering to drive other customers back into town. I've only said the atmosphere was poor because it was so quiet.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“You must try the food here, the view is just as memorable too”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This has to be the best tasting food l have had on any Greek island so far. Cooked by mum with her son and daughter waiting it is hard to believe there isn't a team in the kitchen. The mousaka is amazing, village chicken is so moist and well cooked with flavours to set your taste buds alight. You never feel hurried and the service is good but not intrusive. Even the background music is well chosen,not loud but calming. The view is stunning, sunset to the left and the sea view from Zante town to the local beach in Argassi. I had a list of tavernas to use from Trip Advisor and this was one but we couldn't find it until the day before we were leaving. It was so good we used it the following night also. Make the effort to find this taverna and l am sure you will be back too.
Saw a flyer on a lamp post outside La Sirena saying Blue n Blue did free transprot and breakfasts from 0600.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJBNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had!”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We went to Blue 'n Blue on our second night in Argassi early evening.

The hotel is quite a steep walk and it was still sunny. So we absolutely knackered by the time we got up the hill! But would have been manageable if it was cooler.

I loved the restaurant - sea themed. Beautiful views and food was fantastic. It was very quiet as we went early but the staff were lovely and friendly to us and food was served quickly.

Definitely want to go next time we visit!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aliclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue 'n Blue also viewed

Argassi, Zakynthos
 
Argassi, Zakynthos
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing