We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing, uncomfortable and unhelpful”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Eleana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eleana Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Argassi
Swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing, uncomfortable and unhelpful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stated at this otel - never again. The whole environment was noisy and the rooms hot and sweaty. Way over the top fees for air con which ought to have been provided anyway. Two of us slept on the groundfloor as my son sleep walks and we were concerned about the height. This room was even worse. Dank and smelly with hard core porn mags left by the previous guest. The staff were OK to begin with but soon cooled off when they realised we were spending mostly outside the hotel where prices and standards were better. Thomson holiday rep was poor and of little help towards the end of our stay when we were absurdly accused of unscrewing a toilet seat. Laughable. Pool was nice and other guests friendly but I would think more than twice about staying here again.

Room Tip: Stat away from the reastaurany next door. If brochure says some noise from the nearby night club bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    28
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
16
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is a two star hotel. Only. Rooms are mediocre, bed linen pretty average. Towels old and shabby. Breakfast is basically carbs, bread and nothing much else. Of the seven days, we only went and had one breakfast in the hotel. Aircon is €7 per night and is vital as the rooms are sweaty in the heat. Pool furniture is old and needs to be replaced.

Ok, the good things, the lady in reception is lovely and helpful. The pool is good and catches the sun. The hotel is in the centre of Argassi. Basically a really good location.

I don't want to be too hard on the hotel cause Zakyntos is the kind of place where the hotel can't really adversely affect the hols. Its a great and beautiful island. We had such a great time. Fab weather, excellent food in Argassi, really reasonable to eat out and plenty of good restaraunts (Zorbas, Castaways, Ethnic, Athena etc). We preferred Banana beach to St Nicholas. Its cleaner and more relaxed. Its well worth renting a car or jeep to go around the island, very lovely. The roads are not as bad as people may suggest, very narrow in villages but outside, pretty ok.

What else, the restaraunt owners are annoying touting for business but you get over it.

Anyway, great spot, not a great hotel but its ok. It will not ruin your hols! We would go back to Argassi in a heartbeat.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Megafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Argassi hotels

Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed at the Eleana from July 17th - 24th for a couples holiday.

We requested a double room, pool view yet quiet not actually expected these to be fufilled! But they were! Bed was comfy enough, but like a previous reviewer said pillows are a bit rubbish so ask for a second set at reception. We didn't experience any problem with noise. We hired the aircon (€7 a night) - which is definitely needed July - August. Kept the room very cool! Also hired a fridge for water and drinks etc (€3 euros a night). Room was kept very clean by maids. Linen was changed once, and towels once during our stay. Plenty of storage.

Pool was good. Hotel didn't seem to be full at all so no problems getting sunbeds etc. There was a stash of pool inflatables so don't bother buying your own - the ones by the pool are for everyone's use!

Breakfast left a bit to be desired. Nothing wrong with it, it was edible but it is not the sort of continental breakfast you expect. They served cheese and ham toasties, melba toast/crisp bread, biscuits, jam, butters and a sort of maidera cake! Got a bit boring so we ended up going for breakfast elsewhere most days.

Negatives:

- No pool snack bar as stated in many companies brochures. Spoke to rep about this, her response was 'They're allowed to get away with it as hotel is never busy and you can order the same things inside at the bar there'. Yes you can order drinks, but no food!

- Pool hours were very strict 10am -6pm on the dot.

- You have to hand the key in every time you go to the pool or out of the hotel, gets annoying, but there is always someone there 24/7 so isn't too bad.

- No aircon in reception/bar area - made our transfer wait very uncomfortable.

- Safety deposit boxes not in the room - they're in reception.

- No plugs for bath. Have to ask for this just used the shower - we didn't but another couple did.

- Quite a few sunbeds and umbrellas broken. Could do with replacing.

- Towards the end of the holiday we got ants in our room and we were on the 3rd floor! They seemed to be coming from behind the bed, but it wasn't a major problem as they were everywhere.

Argassi resort:

We liked Argassi as a resort. There are some very nice restaurants (Ethnic, Zorbas, Blue n Blue and Peppermint) and decent pubs (Molly Malones and Rossi's Place) and bars (Magic Mushroom and Jungle Bar). The one thing we did not like - the constant harassment from restaurant owners as you walked down the road the hotel is on to the main road. Begging you to come into their restaurant. Trade was obviously slow and it started to get tiresome telling them no - even to the point they wouldn't leave you alone and followed you down the street! There were quite a few people selling dvds/toys etc coming into bars but they usually went away after a firm no.

There isn't much to the beach, and it's a bit littered with cigarette butts and seaweed but you can go to a beach bar and hire a sunbed and use their pool also which is good. Or get the free bus to St. Nicholas beach from Magic Mushroom corner.

The horse and carts are nice, but we got completely fleeced by a guy who didn't speak English at all. Agreed one price with his friend and he demanded another when we got there!

Overall, we enjoyed our holiday. The weather was good. The hotel was very good for the price we paid. We'd go back to the Eleana, Argassi and Zante as there were no problems major enough for it to ruin our time there :)

Room Tip: Side rooms quiet, street rooms noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for a weeks holiday.

Being perfectly honest we asked for a pool view but we were unlucky enough to get a street view which was very noisy( Best idea is to get aircon so you can close doors and windows... noise problem sorted:))

The room was basic but met all our needs

the pool was amazing and the staff were excellant

Breakfast was a nice treat and kept us going through teh day.

Overall ould stay here again and argassi as a whole is beautiful and lively

Room Tip: ask for a pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pvallely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Husband and I stayed there from 23 June to 7 July 2011. Clean, well run hotel, excellent location so handy for everything the resort has to offer. I have never stayed anywhere with a cleaner swimming pool excellent and watching the daily routine over a beer or glass of wine on balcony is amusing. When we stayed the pool snack bar service was closed but everything is so close by this did not bother us at all. recommend snack academy for either breakfast or a snack excellent value for money and if travelling with a family very reasonably priced. Ice cold Large Mythos a must.

Room Tip: We asked for a pool view as stayed before and the other side of hotel on the front opposite the bars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynno1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballinasloe, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Off the main drag, but only a three minute walk to the ocean, this hotel is great. This hotel is clean and well maintained. The beds and pillows are a bit hard so ask for a second set of pillows when you arrive. Lying by the pool is peaceful as is the neighbourhood. The showers and bathrooms are a bit on the small side. This is a simple hotel but its well run and the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Go straight across the street to the Creperie for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ballinasloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

The hotel is very clean, comfortable and clean bedroom and bathroom with a good sized pool.
The rooms were cleaned daily and were a nice size, air con & fridge to hire if you wanted them. The shutters on the doors to the balcony are great for not letting light in - you can sleep forever!
Breakfast was very limited, it is the first continental breakfast I have had where I have been served cheese and ham in toast every day (not a buffet). The buffet consisted of bread rolls, biscuits, cake, french toast, butter and two types of jam. The "Orange Juice" was some kind of diluted juice. There were also tea bags and instant coffee. There was no option to pay extra for anything else. There was nothing wrong with what was provided in that it was edible but this everday became tedious.
The hotel is just off the main strip, we had a room at the back which overlooked the pool and was very quiet. - on the second floor.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeyland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.0 mi away
Chryssi Akti Hotel
Chryssi Akti Hotel
#25 of 29 in Argassi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mimoza Beach Hotel
Mimoza Beach Hotel
#17 of 29 in Argassi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#11 of 29 in Argassi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zakantha Beach Hotel
Zakantha Beach Hotel
#8 of 29 in Argassi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Strada Marina
Hotel Strada Marina
#3 of 12 in Zakynthos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleana Hotel

Property: Eleana Hotel
Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eleana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Eleana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleana Hotel Argassi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing