We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely come back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katerina Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Katerina Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely come back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here for 14 nights in september! we could not fault this hotel we had an amazing stay! the rooms and bathrooms were very clean which was my main concern!
We emailed the hotel prior to our stay to ask for pool view rooms, when we arrived late in the evening we wernt sure if this was going to happen ... we were walked upto our room which had TWO sea/pool view balconies on the second floor we were delighted!
We did pay extra for a mini fridge and safe I think it was 50 for each!
the pools were huge! the bar at the main pool always played music and they served the nicest strawberry daiquiris i ever tasted! the food at the hotel was also lovely esp the salads! it was great for the days we decided to sit by the pool all day as we didnt have to leave to eat! the staff were also very friendly! one of the evenings there was a greek night and it was one of the best and most fun experiences ever!
The hotel only had wifi in the lobby and at the pool but this didnt bother us as we could quickly check our emails before leaving for dinner every evening and that suited us fine
recommend this hotel to everyone and will deffinetly be staying here on our next visit to zakynthos!

Room Tip: email prior to visit and ask for sea view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrycja Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    224
    95
    33
    26
See reviews for
119
347
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked this holiday in the full knowledge that this was not a five star hotel and we certainly did not pay five star prices. The hotel is basic and "a little old" but overall is clean and bedding and towels are changed regularly, the only concern was the main pool which could have been cleaner, on one day there was a slick of something floating in the corner which was still there the following day. The pool bar serves a good range of drinks and snacks at reasonable prices and the staff are very pleasant, as indeed were all of the staff, and the owner is around every day and is approachable and pleasant. Room air conditioning and the fridge are charged at 5 Euros a day each, well worthwhile for the air conditioning but a bit extortionate for a fridge, we declined the fridge and ironically it was working but in a locked cabinet, therefore using electricity and adding to the heat in the room.

The breakfast is basic, offering fruit juice, tea and coffee, ham and cheese and bread, but it is typical of many hotels we have stayed in, although some offer a greater choice, but we have had holidays at twice the price where the breakfast was no more interesting.

The hotel has a policy of removing towels from unused sunbeds, according to a sign on the poolbar, but in common with many hotels this is not enforced. We saw towels placed by 8 AM and the beds unoccupied until mid afternoon.

The wifi is very hit and miss, so if, as one reviewer commented, you need a reliable connection to carry on your business, this is not the hotel for you. If, like us, you only need occasional access to clear out your junk mail and do the odd posting on Facebook, there are plenty of bars nearby with free wifi. I only mention this as the hotel is stated to have free wifi and if you have kids, they will be frustrated with the intermittent and slow performance.

Within a few minutes walk there are many bars and restaurants offering the expected fare at competitive prices, and the staff are all very pleasant. I would recommend the Ethnic restaurant, and also the Piccadilly, where you get 10% discount with a card from reception. For snacks or less formal meals, or a full English, the 24/7 bar and the beer academy / snack academy are great value and offer great service, the ladies in the beer academy are very attentive and efficient. If you want something a little more "English" in the evening, try Legends, where we had a chilli and bangers and mash toward the end of the holiday.

All in all, given what we paid for this holiday the hotel was great ( except the pool issue, but the sea is only a five minute walk away ), we had a wonderful time, the weather was terrific, the people are very friendly and the resort is lively but not overly so. We saw no issues of rowdiness in the two weeks and the atmosphere was relaxed and pleasant. Provided you are not expecting Hilton standards, which you should not for the price, this is a pleasant hotel in a friendly sun soaked resort which is not too busy, what is not to like.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a lower floor room, the plumbing is Greek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dimwit26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a self catering break. Hotel facilities are great for the price. Pool bar is great for drinks, cocktails and snacks are really good. The lady in the bar is great! Very friendly and helpful. Pool areas are brilliant.

The room was ok. Abit old and dated in places, beds not very comfy and the shower was an absolute knightmare. Some bulbs need replacing. But it did everything we needed it to for a good price.

Argassi has a great selection of bars and restaurants. We spend a few evenings at waves bar right on the beech. Great for a sunset!!!

Papillons greek taverna is worth a bash. Great fesh food!

I'd have given it a 5 if they shower bracket was more functional and the room was generally given abit more TLC.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMTRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

last minute booking was told on arrival no booking no chance of a room as hotel.was full.there with 2 children and sat in reception for over 5 hrs while trying to sort things out . felt receptionist could not care less.manager very nice suddenly got us a room.stay pleasent rooms clean. not satisfied overall

Room Tip: make sure you ask for room with balcony or you could end up underground with no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel was nice on arrival, our party of 6 was assumed we we were self catering although we were bed and breakfast they had to check before taking us to our rooms, which we found dead flies squashed on the walls, a bed with slats missing, the cleaners are very loud draggin beds around, and shouting to each other in conversation early in the morning, some reception staff are rude and don't make you feel welcome, the breakfast isn't very good, no sausage bacon beans available so we ate out most mornings, we had nothing but problems with the water system and drainage there, and on our departure day we couldn't wait to be picked up! My daughter was told to shut up by the couple above our room, a little customer care would be great here, and I work at a hotel myself and did a little room check, high level dusting would be good to!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waltonfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Purchased a last minute deal to Zakynthos and stayed at the Katerina Palace. The hotel cannot be faulted for cleanliness as there is always someone to be seen working hard cleaning. The rooms are spacious, if a little old looking. The hotel has two great sized pools, which is great for both adults and children. For the price we paid, I cannot fault the hotel or the destination, but would probably have felt a little short-changed if paid full price. I was rather disappointed with the breakfast - a continental help yourself (same most days). If you get the chance, visit Zorbas for dinner!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stay here from the 15th july until the 25th july 2014 . Very unlucky with the studio we stayed in even though we asked to be moved. Studio 4 is at the bottom so issue with thin walls and ceiling so was at the mercy of neighbours which was okay just the couple above us didnt have much respect for others in the early hours of the morning. Main problem is.Studio 4 is situated right next to the cleaners rm so no lye in for us not even with ear plugs. Cleaners are very loud tend to just shout at each other which starts around 8am reported this on morning 3 of holiday and was told studios were full and they would have a word with the cleaners. They only seemed to take note for about 3 days and then got loud again so went to remezzo beach bar when we got up as quieter even though right on beach. Other than that we had no issues. Bar staff very friendly and kept very clean and tidy would stay again but only if we had a studio at the top instead of the bottom .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsdyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.1 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#5 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zakantha Beach Hotel
Zakantha Beach Hotel
#8 of 29 in Argassi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#11 of 29 in Argassi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
2.1 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katerina Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katerina Palace Hotel

Property: Katerina Palace Hotel
Address: Argassi Resort, Argassi 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Argassi
#7 Family Hotel in Argassi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Katerina Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Katerina Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Katerina Palace
Katerina Palace Argassi
Katerina Palace Hotel Argassi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing