We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full of Loud,Rude and Arrogant eastern europeans(Thats just the women)”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Argassi
oswestry
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Full of Loud,Rude and Arrogant eastern europeans(Thats just the women)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Where can i begin.
This hotel is not what the pictures show, the swimming pool is a disgrace(full of mould) and never seen it being cleaned once in the 2 weeks we were there.
The soft drinks are hot, just left on the top of the bar in 40 degree heat,a fridge would be nice but not one in sight (its the same at Admiral and Captains)
The food is ok but there is only so much chicken you can eat in 2 weeks!!!!!!
The beds are the worst i have ever had VERY VERY HARD
The cleaner though was very good
Just remember when you look at this hotel it very much caters for the EASTERN EUROPEANS who by our standards are very LOUD ,RUDE and ARROGANT they out number the English by about 90%

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gary_weetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    31
    21
    21
    18
See reviews for
31
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my family for one week. Full of polish.. Could not eat the food every night so worked out expensive eating out. Not good as I paid for all inclusive. Mouldy bread was served to my husband one day, couldn't complain as the lady couldn't speak English. This is defo more of a hotel for the polish. I'd say 90% polish 10% English. Some were nice tho but the rest would look straight through you. Drinks are left out in the heat so were very warm, and yes there was ice but if you drink their water or have the ice you will be Ill as shouldn't drink their water. What was very annoying was you didn't get a welcome pack with all the info when arrived so we missed out on the FREE waterpark trip, which cost around 20 to 30 euros each when booked at the little shop down the strip. If we had been told about this when we arrived it could have been for free. Not sure if I'd go back to argassi but if I did I wouldn't stay at his hotel again. People allowed to come in to hotel when ur relaxing around he pool trying to sell you copied CDs and DVDs watch etc they try to hand your children items as well so when you tell them NO means NO you have a very upset child on your hands. Not fair... This shouldn't be allowed

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lovestotravel20124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Hotel Commodore in Septembet 2011. Being students, we were not exacrly overly fussy about our holiday as our budget wasn't that high; its not as if we had particularly high expectations for a 5* complex or anything, but compared to the other holidays we have been on, for this sort of price range, paying 300 odd pounds for the all inclusive package, we weren't impressed.

Our room was average. It was spacious, had a nice balcony with a sea view, it had all the basic needs, such as a wardrobe, kitchen utilities and a bed, however about 90% of the TV channels were not English and so the only useage of the TV was Gordon Ramsays 'the f word' every evening after a long day in the sun. (Can't complain here though!) The real disadvantsge of the room was the bathroom. Dealing with a shower where the majority of water landed on the floor and not on your body is one thing, but having about 2 or 3 tiny sized towels was such a pain - having resort to my damp sandy beach towel was not the freshest of feelings after a full day in the sun. Cleaning was fine, the beds were made niceky but still, a few more 'adult sized to Wes would have been appreciated.

The next issue, or in our opinion the major issue, was the food and drink. Being a young couple, all inclusive drinks was perfect! However we did expect more than a choice of about 4 drinks. The white wine tasted of salt water and vinegar, the red wine tasted of malt vinegar and the plastic half cups of larger weren't really ideal - as you are only allowed to take a few drinks at a time and our room was really quite far away from the busy bar and restaurant. The food was a let down, buffet style. The buffet was the same, every day.....every lunch time and every evening meal. Infact we had to live on pot noodles and crisps after a few days of putting up with the luke warm tasteless and repetitive buffet.

We were really sad that we didn't make any friends, most probably because of the eastern Europeans taking over the hotel, who the staff clearly had more interest in, than their customers. The blondish guy in the reception/bar at the entrance however was great! Really chatty, friendly and liked a joke. Location was okay, we spent alot of time in a few bars down the strip, where staff chatted and food was nice - which is annoying because as I said, we had paid for all inclusive and definitely didn't make the most of it. The beach at the end of the road the hotel was on was shocking; it was about 2 meters worth of pebbles before the sea started and so really wasn't a beach. You had to walk a 10, 15 minute walk before hitting again, a bit of a let down beach, paying for sunbeds, not very nice sand etc.

Overall, fortunately we were ale to enjoy our holiday with our optimism and free (but urine tasting) drink. The hotel was clean, spacious and the location and views were old, but the staff were unwelcoming and the food was diabolical. This hotel would be good for self catering but definitely nit all inclusive; so annoying we didn't make the most of it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Georgia1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Argassi hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

went there this summer, because it was so last minute and for the price it was a very good deal. Entertainment every night was great, local community very friendly! food didnt vary but was still always good, and the staff always friendly! it was my first trip to greece but for a first trip they made it amazing! its better to go half board then all inclusive or else you'll be stuck in the hotel every day! i loved commodore and Zante!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fashionade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

I have been in Commodore hotel in 2011 August. Originally I have booked a room in hotel Admiral but after I have paid the money, I have received a call from the agency, that they
are really sorry but a mistake happened, there are no available rooms in hotel Admiral. So they said they can only offer a room in hotel Commodore, which is placed on the same property, maybe the rooms are a bit more simple, but the food, pools...are all the same. As we did not have any other choice we agreed to go to Commodore...unfortunately.

This hotel is terrible. When we first saw our room, we nearly started crying. There were no space in the room, we had only the bed, no wordrobe...nothing to put my clothes out...and the bathroom...OMG...that was really nusty. We tried to spend all the time out of the room.
The other problem was the quality of the foods and drinks. We paid for an all inclusive package...but what we have received was garbage. The food was always the same and for drinks you could choose from 3 types of local beverages which were contains min. 50% sugar or even more.

If you would like to spend your holiday within "normal" conditions, try to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kollaragi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Booked here with only 5 days notice, so very last minute. so for the money we paid we had no complaints. up quite a steep hill but u get used to it. Rooms were fine. Clean enough. Would go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AP40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

my fiance and i have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Captain-commodore complex (5th - 15th sept 2011) and we were slightly worried at the reviews on here (or lack of recent ) before we went we needent have worried apart from the wait when we arrived (4 hours) as nowhere on my paperwork or when i booked it was i told we would have to wait til 12 till check in so we settled our selves outside in the sun after a little look around it looked quiet nice from what we could see.The good thing with it being a complex is you get 3 hotels to choose from they all do breakfast so you dont need to leave your hotel as stated in the hotel description but the commodore doesnt do lunch or dinner so you have to go to the captains ~(which is only up some steps) or down the hill to the Admiral (which we prefered the pool) and the Admiral is where the evening entertainment is anyway so it makes sense to have dinner there we thought. the food was better at the Admiral and the pool was nicer too you can help yourselves to fizzy drinks and juice and water so you only need a bar tender for beer or stronger and you could go inside and get coffee yourself too.The only problem we founf was the all inclusive drinks are not as stated in the description all they had spirit wise were house vodka, bacardi,brandy,ouzo and another clear spririt that could've been gin we werent sure, there was no peach snaps or dark rum or even honey rum as stated in the description we were given but if you asked the barstaff to mix you a cocktail they would throw something together for you and this was usually nice (as with all cocktails its hit n miss whether you like it or not!)
We spent alot of time down at the magic mushroom at the end of the street which had lots of drinks to choose from and the 24/7 bar is good for food with good prices too!
We went out for a nice meal on our last night(we had eaten out previously throught choice because the hotel food was lovely with plenty of variety we just wanted the experience of eating out) we went to a restaurant called palmyra and can recommend the T-Bone steak it was pretty much half a cow and only around 17 Euros well worth it the guy peddling outside wasnt too pushy he was very polite and this is why we choose this restaurant and we weren't dissapointed the setting was lovely and so was the food.
Our room was a family room which meant it had a separate bedroom but it had 2 beds pushed together as expected but the were big heavy wooden frames which left a big gap in the middle, we figured out the beds in the living room/kitchen didng have such bulkt frames so we pushed those together and were then in the same room as the aircon it made more sense to us.Just to let you know the bathrooms are small and the shower heads are only over the bath shower heads not power showers but we managed just fine im a shower lover and my partner loves baths the only problem he had was the bath is vvery deap but not long enough to stretch out in.
The only major problem we had with the hotel was NO LIFTS im not a moaner but we were on the top floor and had a 4 hour wait to check in with a case each and we got no help from a 'porter' (i dont think they had one) and the stairs are a tough slog when its hot hot hot and even harder when your tired on a night ! but this is my only complaint, the staff work very hard and if your nice to them they are nice to you (which is the case everywhere i think) so all in all we had a great time very relaxed, rooms clean,food good,hotel lovely,great location there was even a heatwave while we were there the temp was forcasted at around 28 degrees and it hit 35-40 we were chatting to some local ex-pats who live there and even they said it was too hot to do anything!!!
I recomend you take the free bus down to the beach but remember its slightly more expensive down there ( not crazy prices but more than the shops)and there's nowhere else to go just a lazy day at the beach we had fun on the jetski's and a cheeky cocktail at the bar it was a scorcher of a day too !
I also recomend the aqua village waterpark me n my fiance had a blast food n drink was cheap and there are photographers who come round n take pics then twice a day they put them all up on a display boeard for you you purchase 3 euros each and a free A4 when you buy 5 bargain we thought!!
So to sum up please dont believe the bad reviews we are a normal hard working couple who went for a relaxing holiday with some fun which we got at a nice hotel with friendly staff so judge for yourself but give it a go we didnt want to come home :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Red303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.0 mi away
Captains Hotel
Captains Hotel
#9 of 29 in Argassi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tsilivi Admiral Hotel
0.1 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#31 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
4.0 mi away
Majestic Spa Hotel
Majestic Spa Hotel
#65 of 77 in Laganas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#11 of 29 in Argassi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Argassi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing