We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location close to the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maria Mare Apartments
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Argassi
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location close to the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My mother and I stayed here for one week in July. We got the two best rooms on the top floor (third floor) with balcoonies facing the sea right outside. Room number 25 and 27. It was amazing to fall asleep listening to the sound of the ocean. I think all rooms have balcoonies more or less facing the sea. The pool area is nice and the woman in the reception is very charming and helpfull if you have questions. The only bad thing - which is actually REALLY BAD - is that there is no aircondition included in the hotel fee. If you want to get aircondition they charge you 10 EUR per day per room. They don't have fens, only aircondition. I think it is quite expensive. Argassi is nice with great restaurants, five to ten minutes from Maria Mare. We spent one unforgettable evening at the restaurant "Target" up in the mountains, with a fantastic panorama. Restaurant staff will pick you up at the restaurant and drive you back after.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CMR1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

In the late May/beginning of June I spent 10 days in this lovely hotel. The owner and family members are very friendly, will help you with anything you need. Studios are cleaned every day. Unfortunately I got the room on ground floor and couldn't fully enjoy the great sea view. Anyway, it was great to take a swim before breakfast.
As mentioned in other review, you should bring something against mosquitos and pay attention when taking a shower as there is no shower curtain. Even though advertised on site there is no hairdryer, but they have one on the reception. WiFi connection is now possible everywhere in the hotel (when we arrived access was possible only in the lobby area).
Location is excellent, if you look for a relaxed vacation. 'Tree Frogs' market and restaurant across the street are very good, with a good choice of all things you might need.
I rented a bike for 6 days as Zakynthos is great for biking, as long as you drive carefully. If you're in active vacation try hiking to Skopos, hill nearby Argassi (4km from the main road, about 490m high), where you can enjoy the view of the entire island.
I would surely return to MM, if there is a chance. :)

Room Tip: If possible take a room on floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gvirovkic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just arrived from spending 12 days at MM. Very good located for visiting the surrounding. Apartments are clean, well taken care and well equipped. We were on the second floor with a beautiful view of the pool and sea. The apartment is cleaned every day except Sunday but the towels were changed only once during our stay. In the bathroom you need flipflops because of for while taking a shower the water sprayed all over and the floor stays slippery. Terrace door has no mosquito net and there are a lot of mosquitoes: make sure you take Raid appliances for electricity. The pool is ok. The beach is not well managed and there is a bad approach to enter in the sea, in the afternoon a strong wind is blowing, which brings a lot of dirty things on the sea. impossible to swim. Restaurant across the MM, THe Green Frog has the great food but the traditional restaurants in Argassi are especially good and the food is excellent. In the center of Argassi is a caffe bar Magic Mushrooms with delicious drinks and cocktails, great music and it's open until late in the evenings. We took rent a car and visited the surrounding and all the beaches. Recommendation: Agios Nikolaus and Porto Roma.
All in all, MM apartments are ok, the staff pleasant but a very need to manage the beach and to put mosquito nets. Enclosed some of my pictures of MM.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alekb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

I got this hotel through a cheap offer, which was good because it would not have been worth extra money. Maria Mare is nice, has an amazing view and a really good location -and the pool is great, which was important to me. However, there were some things that just reeks of poor service. On the first day I discovered a wasp's nest on my balcony, and the girl in the reception said they couldn't remove it! They didn't even want to call an exterminatior! They also put a fence around the swimming pool at night, saying that no swimming was allowed after 8 pm and before 10 am. I get it if you want to keep the pool closed at night, but those hours are ridiculous.

I had a nice stay and I adore the view, but I would not live here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We spend one week in this lovely hotel. It is lokated at the end of the street away from all noises but still close to "center". On the other side of the street there is store that provides you with everything from food to suncream. All rooms (apartments) have sea view! If you planing to spend week on just enjoying yourself and taking it easy at the pool - this is the right place to be :)

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mag R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Big rooms but the beds are hard... but aren't they always in most hotels.. Friendly personnel both in reception and the cleaning ladies. We had a room with just 50 m to the sea - lovely... I watched the sun go up every morning and it was beautiful. The hotel is close to the best restaurant in Greece (!) - Granada Taverna. On the other side of the road you can also find the bar Green Frog which is very nice. No pool bar (a disappointment). The small beach is very nice, very good for families with small children as they can walk quite a bit before it gets too deep.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joli6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

we stayed here in june 2008 the apartment was great, sea view,clean everything you need for a self catering holiday we hired a car for a couple of days and went all over the island. If you want to be away from the noise but close enough to everything this is the place to stay. there is no pool bar so pop over to the green frog its a stones throw away and serves great food and drinks.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel.Powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Argassi hotels
0.4 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#5 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palmyra Hotel
Palmyra Hotel
#11 of 29 in Argassi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ionian Hill Hotel
Ionian Hill Hotel
#3 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#6 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Mare Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Mare Apartments

Property: Maria Mare Apartments
Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Argassi
#9 Family Hotel in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria Mare Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most beautiful corners of Greece, the south – east Zakynthos, in Argassi beach, the Maria Mare Apart-hotel stands between the green of the olive-trees and the blue of the Ionian Sea. With no doubt, it is the excellent choice for your holiday retreat, where hospitality is offered within a relaxing environment for your absolute rejuvenation. Our privileged apartments are able to accommodate 2, 3 or 4 guests, small groups, families or couples, being completely yours to live your dream holidays in. Embraced by the rich blue color of the sea and the green hues of the verdant gardens, Maria Mare creates the ultimate relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maria Mare Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Mare Apartments Argassi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing