We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pali Kalo”
Review of Palmyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palmyra Hotel
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

One of the best holidays I've ever had! The hotel is in a fantastic location, it is situated less then 5 minutes from the main road. There are lots of shops, tourist excursion stalls, fantastic restaurants all less then 5 minutes away. The beach is roughly a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The people are extremely friendly, they made myself and my family feel very welcome.

The hotel itself has a lovely pool, with cafe/restaurant situated next to it. The cafe/restaurant tends to play its music a bit load, but its not too intrusive. The hotel staff are friendly, they clean your room everyday, leaving fresh towels.

The hotel rooms are nice, the shower would be one thing I would mark down. You have to hold the showerhead when showering. I didn't find it that much of an annoyance but my dad did find it very irritating. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, lots of healthy options, fruit salads, ham, eggs etc.

Over all I would say I had a lovely stay in the Palmyra Hotel, I will be booking my stay with them for next July this December.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool particularly the far left side I found was the best. My room was constantly cool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Emmmse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very central to resort, short walk to beach with all restaurants, supermarket, bars and entertainment on your doorstep. Rooms are on a b&b basis so no cooking facilities. Kettle and hairdryer available free at reception. Fridge, aircon and safe available at extra charge. Breakfast is continental with bacon, egg, local sausage also available ... and Liptons tea bags! Rooms very clean and linen and towels changed daily. Shower tray is postage stamp size, shower curtain and handheld shower. Veranda with small table and 2 chairs. Now popular with eastern europeans, room with pool view preferable. Do not depend on the public bus service as it does not run to any specific timetable we could decipher, tip, if going to Zakynthos port, which is highly recommended, share a taxi with 2 others and the fare will work out just as cheap as the bus anyway - €7, one way while the bus is €1.70 one way. Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful. Free wifi.

Room Tip: Not facing the car park,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Aquilicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We stayed here 1 week and I can say that it was one of the best 3-star hotels we've ever tried. The cleaning ladies were doing a great job every day, towels were changed and bed was made. They also cleaned the floor and the windows, and didn't disturb us when we put the "do not disturb" sign on the door.
The breakfast was basic continental, with ham, cheese, yogurt, olives, fruit, eggs, bacon, cereal and cake.
We enjoyed having a garden view, maybe it would have been noisy if we were to have a pool view from the room.
The location of the hotel was perfect, just in the middle of the resort and close to the beach bars (5-7 minutes walk to the sea) and restaurants.
Internet connection was free, that is a great plus for a Greek hotel.
I definitely recommend it. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Isim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for the first two weeks of June (which was great as there weren't many children around) and, overall, found the Palmyra to be a great place to stay. It is quite a small hotel, which we thought was a good thing. It never felt too crowded and because it is set back off the road it was quiet too. The pool was a reasonable size and generally there were enough sun loungers. The gardens around the pool were well kept and pretty. It was only a 5 minute walk to the beach (a thin strip of sand) where there are loads of bars offering free sun loungers. Also a short walk away were loads of restaurants and bars. The two best restaurants were, in our opinion, The Palmyra and The Green Frog. Great cocktails at great prices available from Kiss bar.

The reception staff were really helpful and friendly. The rooms are basic but very clean with good storage space and a dressing table, chairs, table and bedside tables. There was enough room to move around without feeling cramped. The beds and pillows were a little bit hard. Aircon was extra at €5 a day and you also had to rent the fridge and the safe (I am sure these are free on some packages, but not ours). The balcony overlooked the pool and was perfect for a few drinks in the evening. The bathroom was fine - the shower was a raised tray with a curtain round it. It was a bit small and it was too easy to flood the bathroom or end up with the shower curtain clinging to you. The women who clean the rooms do a great job and they come in and clean your room every day - they are always smiling and yet seem to work really long hours. They also keep the rest of the hotel immaculate.

We were there on a B and B basis and found the breakfast to be adequate. Certainly enough choice to find something you could eat and enough of it to fill you up.

So, whilst there are a few things that could be improved upon, the Palmyra is offering real value for money. We would definitely go back again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is located away from the sea in a resort with no beach. The room was clean, but very basic. The toilet was rusted and the shower had no cabin - only a curtain that didn't help much with spraying water all over the place. There are additional charges for anything apart from bed and toilet: AC, fridge, safe. The breakfast is really poor (only the cheese and the vegetables were eatable). Compared to the attitude of most of the people on the island, the staff at the hotel are less than friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view to the pool - at least it's a pretty sight when you go out on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

In this elegant three star (two storeyed – ground floor and first floor) Hotel I did not really miss any of the luxuries of a four or even five star hotel! I stayed there for ten days at the end of July. Although it is located in the centre of Argasi (a busy "tourist" village by the sea, only 10 minutes away from the capital town “Zakynthos” by bus, on the beautiful Greek island of Zante), it is very quiet, as it is built around a magnificent garden and a big (25 meter long and 13 meter wide, sweet water) swimming pool. I noticed that this garden was the nicest and the quietest, compared with those of several other hotels located nearby. From the balcony of my first floor room I could gaze at the garden and the sea. While swimming in or relaxing (basking in the sun or under an umbrella) by the swimming pool I could admire the colours changing on the pine and cypress tree covered mountain, which is rising up behind the hotel. Interestingly enough, the garden or the swimming pool of the hotel were never too busy (although the 70 rooms of the hotel were full), as, apparently, many guests of the hotel were sightseeing or visiting various beautiful beaches, by bus or moped (although a modest narrow beach is also circa 100 meters away). All reception staff are well trained, really efficient and friendly and (as most of them were born and raised on this island), and they can also give you "insiders" information also on non touristic cultural activities taking place on the island (e.g. traditional mandolin, or choral music concerts – I attended one mandolin classical music concert, in which a famous Italian mandolin player from the Verdi Music Conservatory in Milan also participated ). The rooms are spacious and kept very clean, with good wi fi and satellite tv reception of Greek and foreign stations (English, Italian, German, Polish, Russian). The lobby is nicely decorated. Buffet (hot and cold ) breakfast (available in a restaurant, where tables are well apart from one another) was diverse and a real delight: Three kinds of fresh fruit, cake, two types of fresh bread, jams, marmalade, honey, poached, boiled and fried eggs, omelette, sausages, ham and turkey slices, bacon, two types of cheese, yogurt, full and low fat milk, tea, coffee, three types of cereals, fruit juices etc. There was an ample quantity of food items, until the very end of the serving time (10:00 am). Restaurant staff were very polite and never showed any discomfort, when one was enjoying one's breakfast until 11:00 am. The fabulous Greek sunshine and beautiful nature completed my relishing my stay in this unpretentious, family owned, hotel. I would like to stay in this excellent value for money hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor, so that you can enjoy a partial (but adequate) sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank THEODORE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I spent my holiday in Palmyra hotel at the end of August 2013. This hotel is locatd in the centre of Argassi, close to the capital town Zakynthos. The hotel is small but very cute and nice. The stuff is friendly, the room was cleaned every day, the towels were changed sometimes every day or every second day. For a 3 star hotel there was a good choice of food for breakfast. We could eat different food as chees, bread, marmelate, fruits, eggs, honey, milk, coffee, cereals, salami, croissants,..and so on. There is a nice swimmingpool but my impression was that the water wasn't very clean in it. There is a free wireless internet connection which works pretty good and is not too slow.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YulaYala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Argassi hotels
0.2 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 26 in Argassi
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#6 of 26 in Argassi
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Admiral Argassi
Hotel Admiral Argassi
#17 of 26 in Argassi
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Papillon Hotel
Papillon Hotel
#4 of 26 in Argassi
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmyra Hotel

Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range: £42 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmyra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fully renovated for 2004 B class Palmyra Hotel is located close to the center of Argassi, one of the most famous resorts of Zakynthos. "Hotel Palmyra" is situated approximately 100m from the beach and approximately 50m from bars, restaurants and shops but its location ensures your tranquility. With a traditional style exterior but luxurious interior the hotel Palmyra is perfect for a relaxing break. The welcoming and calming atmosphere is ideal for all families &couples alike. The hotel offers swimming pool with separate children’s pool surrounded by beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palmyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmyra Hotel Argassi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing