We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place to holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windmill Bay Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our favourite place to holiday”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 7 nights at Windmill Bay. This was our 7th time there & can't wait to return. Apartments are very clean. Beautifully designed & decorated, well equipped, air con, safes and all with balconies make the most of the views, the pool bar is perfectly situated, with gorgeous table, chairs & parasols, very clean with fab food & drinks which is very reasonably priced. The staff are awesome, they can't do enough for you. Maria at the pool bar is a fantastic cook & lovely person,
she makes great coffee. Effie at reception is also lovely, very helpful & friendly, both ladies have worked at Windmill since we started going there. Anna & Alba at the pool bar are also great & very friendly. The owners Jenny & Dennis make you feel so welcome & nothing is too much trouble, they have a fab family who all lend a hand. Stunning pool with lots of very comfy sun loungers and if you fancy a dip in the sea you only have to go down a few steps to get there. The sister hotel Windmill Bay Studios isn't far away and has a great Greek night on a Mon. Definitely worth checking out. On this holiday we had our kids and some of their friends ranging in age from 22-25 years, they all had a fab time too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolMasonGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    66
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
163
103
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is an excellent choice for families and couples looking for clean room, peaceful but up to date surroundings, friendly staff and a breath-taking seaview. There is also a very nice pool area in the hotel and the rooms are pretty spacious. The only thing on the down side is sleep quality which is the same all over Greece (at least to my experience): the matresses are pretty hard. All in all a very nice hotel with extra friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiisaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My friend and I have just returned from the Windmill Bay and the title says it all. What a fabulous holiday we had, we got the shock of our lives when we arrived in our room, it was beautiful!! all white and duck egg blue as the hotel has been refurbished in 2013, it doesn't matter which room you have you will have a sea view, the grounds are beautiful and clean, and the staff!!! how friendly, accommodating they were!! especially Anna & Maria & Alba who run the snack bar day time and evenings, they make super cocktail and so reasonable at 3.5 euros. Effie on reception is so lovely and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. It is at the end of the town but only a 5 minute walk to all the bars, you cannot go and not visit the Green Frog where Alex Janis will make you welcome and the food is really good, as is the Piccadilly, the cheapest drinks we found was at Ruby's café 2 euros for a beer!! we are definitely going back next year, my work friend has tried to book this hotel in July and they are full, Jenny is the owner who is English and brilliant.. the snack bar will even do room service, as I said PARADISE

Room Tip: Just enjoy the best holiday ever, all the rooms are good, and the only sound you hear is the ocean l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked the holiday with Thomas cook and booked additional in flight meals and transfers. Checked in online which you have to do 48 hours before checking in if you want to avoid queuing at the airport. We just had to drop our bags off and were through passport control within 20 mins. If you have not paid extra for pre booked seats then if you say wanted aisle seats like we prefer then you will have to pay £9 each extra but if you turn up at the airport and ask for aisle seats you are normally accommodated without extra cost. The in flight meals both outward and on return were very good and much better than they used to be. We paid £25 each for coach transfer to our accommodation whereas if we would have got a taxi to Argassi it would have cost 16 Euro each way and only 15 minutes whereas the coach made 8 drops and we were last and it took 1 hour and 15 minutes from leaving the terminal to getting to the apartments. The return flight check in was a lengthy process with 3 flights leaving near the same time and we had to stand in line for 40 minutes to check our cases in. No duty free on the flight out or in so may be wise to purchase at Zante airport.


We arrived at the apartments around 1.30pm and was greeted and given our room key by Effie. The Apartment had a bedroom with 2 beds pushed together, dressing table and drawers for clothes. The wardrobes had plenty of space and hangers. The kitchen and dining area was nice and bright and roomy with plenty of facilities for cooking including a microwave and sandwich maker but no toaster. The lounge had a 3rd bed and a pull out sofa bed. There was a colour tv in the room. We had a room with a solid wall balcony but to be honest we did not spend too much time on the balcony. There is Air conditioning available which you have to pay for if you want to use it. This can be done on a ad-hoc basis at a cost of 10 Euro per day or 60 Euro per week we did not need it in the middle of May. There is also a safe deposit box in the room which you have to obtain a key for from reception and the cost for this is 25 Euro per week. The bathroom has a shower over the bath which was a bit fiddly to turn around in but ok. A word of warning here is that if you have a bath only take the plug half out to release the water or the bathroom floor will flood through the grill in the tiled floor. This is because the pipes are small and cannot cope with the sudden throughput of water.
Hair Dryers can be borrowed from reception if required.
As you go through reception taking the steps to the left down to the pool area there is an opening on your left where there are blue doors, these are the pool/bar area toilets. At the end of this corridor is a room set up with an ironing board and iron and opposite there are showers which can be used after swimming or if needed if you have to vacate your room and you flight is later in the day, then it could be used as a courtesy room.


There is a large pool and a childs pool which appear to be well maintained and clean. There is a tiny area of beach and the water slowly shelves outward so you can walk a fair way out. Jelly shoes or old trainers would be useful as some bits are pebbley.
There are plenty of sunbeds which were even comfortable without the extra padded mattresses which were available
The two ladies at the pool bar Anna and Maria were lovely and gave us excellent service. A full English breakfast which included, 3 rashers of bacon, 2 eggs, sausage beans, tomato 2 toast, orange juice and tea or coffee cost 5.5 Euro continental breakfast was 2 rounds of toast or bread rolls with orange juice, tea or coffee was 4.5 Euro. Small Beer 2.5 Euro 330ml large Mythos beer 3 Euro 500ml.

Entertainment
Basically there is none apart from a Greek night at the sister Windmill Studio apartments which are about 100 yds from the bay apartments on the other side of the road next to the green frog restaurant. This happens on a Monday evening and costs 12 Euro and has to be booked at reception in advance.


David the Thomas Cook Rep was very helpful and not Pushy with the tours. He advised us if we wanted to hire a small car for 3 days the cost with Avis ( cheapest price) would be 160 Euro for 3 days. We decided to hire a car from Faros car hire down the main street which cost 80 Euro for 2 days inc full CDW this was a Corsa a cat B car the cheaper Hyundai I10 would have been 64 Euro. 16 litres of fuel got us nearly 180 Km to various places on the island and the cost of fuel was 1.70 euro per litre on average. Five out of seven days the weather was mixed so having the car was great. Roads are ok but the signs can be a bit confusing so get a good road map.


Before booking tours with the rep check out the company opposite Mythos Travel, Mamfredas Tours which is run by Peter who used to work at Mythos. He will give you all sorts of impartial good advice on trips and where to visit. He can also get you good deals on car hire. He has put some bright orange signs outside his agency with his name PETER on them.


The apartments suited us as we wanted a relaxing break and in spite of the dodgy weather that is what we got. The staff at the apartments and the restaurants were all very friendly. Its in a peaceful location. If you are looking for nightlife, entertainment and more sandy beaches then Kalamaki, Laganas or Tslivi may suit you better. For a beautiful sandy beach with some more action then Alykanas may be another good place to consider.

Budget
We spent 580 Euro plus 80 Euro for car hire. It should be pointed out here that if you were staying for 2 weeks in the summer and needed aircon and safe then this would add and extra £150 to your holiday for one room!

Tips
Hire a car and see this beautiful island, see the shipwreck from the viewing platform its spectacular the colour of blue the sea is. Also from the windmill next to the lighthouse at the top of the island past Agios Nikolas which is also a nice place to stop and have lunch, there is a stepped path that leads to platforms where you can get a view of the blue caves, lovely. If you want to do the cave trip and ship wreck from Agios Nikolas then try to get there by 11am as the position of the sun gives a better view. The trip takes a total of 3 hours and cost 15 Euro per person. Kiri is nice at the other end of the island. Alykanas beach was special for us very nice indeed. At the green frog shop you can sample various wines and buy them at a very small cost in your own plastic bottles. The normal bottles of Greek Cabernet Sauvignon was only 3.5 euro and a nice drop of red. If you think you may need extra baggage allowance whilst there then David the rep said he could arrange an extra 5kg for I think he said 20 Euro.
Here are the published Taxi Prices for 2014 and this is a useful place for other info. http://www.justzante.co.uk/zante_taxi_fares.asp

Summary
We have not been to Zante ( Zakynthos) before but it is certainly a place we would like to go back to and the Windmill apartments would be top of our list. The staff really do make this place a success. Hello to Anna and Maria at the pool bar and Effie and Maria on reception. We met a lovely couple whilst there called Steve and Sarah and we wish them all the best with Uni and Sarah is a keeper Steve :-). Have a great time when you visit this beautiful Island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank technoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Firstly the good points about the hotel. It really does have a marvelous outlook, the sea laps the wall on which the sun-beds are laid out, all rooms have a sea view (we had a double apt, on 3rd floor with a latticed balcony that got the morning sun. If you want evening sun on the balcony - looking out to sea you want the right hand side apartments.

The sun beds are new, and comfortable.

The staff are 5*, helpful, attentive and go the extra mile.

The swimming pool is freshwater and long enough to do laps.

Now for the compromises...The food onsite is acceptable, good enough for the price, but nothing to write home about, and there is better value, choice and quality if you take the 5 min stroll into town.

We were disappointed on arrival to see that there were no mattress or pillow protectors, and ours were rather badly stained, but the pillows were replaced on request and we selected the best mattress's (out of 5) for the two of us to sleep on. We did sleep soundly once we were settled.

Late checkout fees are 40 euros, and safe fee is 25 non returnable. Hairdryers for loan 5 euros deposit. Thomson, Thomas Cook and Jet 2 all have rooms at this hotel.

In our opinion, this hotel is not overly suitable for children or those with mobility issues. There is not an awful lot to do, other than sunbathe (If that's your bag, this is pretty good) Otherwise you need to hire a car or go on trips (which we didn't do due to inclement weather)

The walk to the main strip is along a busy road, with uneven (and sometimes non existent pavements). If you are someone who likes to walk without having to get a bus or taxi first - which we are, it's unsuitable, on all previous trips to greek islands we have always been able to safely meander for an hour or so on to traditional greek villages or along promenades.... We did walk into Zante one day, but it was 'hairy' no pavements, hairpen bends, and fast traffic, and once we got there, well, we got a taxi home, with no plans to revisit. There was little to linger over.

On the strip itself, worth a mention are the Green Frog supermarket and restaurant, which was well stocked, reasonably priced (Except for branded liqueur - 30 euros a pop everywhere - think this is due to taxes) and with delicious food and drink, served by really wonderful staff, Stars restaurant was nice but a bit pricer, and for those on a budget, Legends Sports Bar provides fair grub at very reasonable prices. Zorbas was delicious, good atmosphere but with massive portions, we regretted having a starter!


Despite speaking to many people who return to both the windmill and to argassi on an annual basis, we personally would not. Perhaps we missed something, we had a good time with fun folks, but we have had much more pleasurable stays in Rhodes, Kos, Crete and Corfu within the same price range.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We returned today from a one week break at Windmill Bay with Thomas Cook and we absolutely loved it, will definitely be returning as soon as we can! We have been going to Greece for many years and this is our third trip to Zante, our second to Argassi (the first time in the 80s). We chose the place mainly because of its impressive location but also because of the reviews on Trip Advisor, which are mostly excellent. The rooms are very impressive, thoroughly clean and very spacious. They all have sea and pool views. We stayed on the third floor and the view was so impressive when we arrived it brought tears to my eyes!!!

The staff are very helpful and friendly (, they can't do enough for you. Our son, who is 7, took a real liking to Alba and Anna who run the bar. The food at the snack bar is amazing, all freshly cooked and they offer a wide range at very reasonable prices. They also have a wide variety of beverages, again at reasonable prices. Jenny and Dennis who own Windmill Bay are lovely people and it is clear to see how hard they must have worked to make it such a huge success. The Windmill doesn't offer entertainment which is just as we like it, but The Windmill Studios do so if you fancy a lively evening you can walk a short distance down the road and enjoy it there.

Argassi is a lovely Greek village, only a short distance from Zakynthos Town, which is easily reached by bus. We visited many restaturants during our trip but especially liked Ethnic, run by a lovely Australian family and The Green Frog. The Granada also produce excellent food and the atmosphere is really warm and friendly. We went to a beach bar called Mimosa most evenings, the views of Kefalonia, Zante Town and The Mainland are very impressive. Argassi is just what you make it, either low key or lively, plenty of choice, you could eat in a different restaurant every night for a fortnight. If you want to go clubbing/dancing or if you fancy a quiet time, there is everything there, take your pick.

Don't really want to advertise this place too much as we want it to be our little secret but I would feel guilty if I didn't tell everyone about it!

I really don't know what else to say, the views, the rooms, the sea and beach in front of you. We don't normally go to the same hotel twice, but I cannot imagine going anywhere else for the next few years!

To sum it up, beautiful place, fantastic staff, great food at reasonable prices and views to die for! Well done, you have got it just right! x

Room Tip: We had room 411 on the 3rd floor, sun in the afternoon/evening. Absolutely perfect for us and plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahT547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I spent the second week of May 2014 at Windmill Bay hotel.Location was ideal - right on seafront.Our room was thoroughly cleaned and very impressive, with a nice balcony which caught the sun first thing.The only downside was that the beds are not exactly comfortable - but we are used to memory foam at home.The staff are all very happy and friendly. Drink prices at the pool bar were very reasonable and the breakfast was great.Because we are not into sunbathing, we hired a car and travelled around the island to different places, but if you just want 5to relax this place is ideal.we will definitely return here

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benjibutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.7 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 27 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 27 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ionian Hill Hotel
Ionian Hill Hotel
#3 of 27 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 27 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
2.4 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Bay Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Bay Aparthotel

Property: Windmill Bay Aparthotel
Address: Argassi, Argassi, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Windmill Bay Aparthotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windmill Bay Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Bay Aparthotel Hotel Argassi
Windmill Bay Aparthotel Argassi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing