We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windmill Bay Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lovely location, lovely hotel with lovely staff. We stayed first two weeks of July 2014. Booked this hotel on the recommendation of trip advisor comments, which were spot on. I have never stayed in an hotel that is closer to the sea, were you get your bed linen and towels changed every day and each room facing the sea and pool. All the staff clearly work very hard to maintain the standards at this hotel, from the cleaners, cooks, waitress's and reception staff all do an excellent job and make you fell welcome. We will defiantly be booking again, just hope that rooms are available.

Room Tip: All rooms are pool and sea facing, if required you could ask for a room with a metal balcony that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave21Shep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

I would not advise taking the risk with this property, as in my opinion, they deliberately overbooked my accommodation not to have an apartment empty for 6 nights.


At 9.00pm the evening before arrival I was sent an email, not viewed until the next morning, informing me that due to 'maintenance' my apartment would only be available for six and not seven nights as per my CONFIRMED booking and that I would have to leave a day early. They did offer alternative accommodation for that one night but who wants to pack up and relocate for 24hrs, losing half a day in the process.

By leaving it to the last minute to contact me, they were obviously banking on me putting up with this crap. It was not until I telephoned, was told it was due to plumbing problems, so cancelled, that they emailed me offering a discount and free breakfast, as if that makes a difference.


Ask yourself two questions;
1. were they expecting us to put up with their 'plumbing problems' for our six, not seven nights?
2. if it was not an urgent plumbing problem, what kind of hotelier evicts paying guests in peak season in favour of carrying out non urgent maintenance?


As we were already on the island it was something we took in our stride, dealt with it and found great accommodation for our second week. Imagine the shock on turning up after your flight and being put on the spot, you may well feel that there is no alternative than to put up with the disruption, I imagine this has been done to others.
This review is based on my dealings with this hotel and how they have total disregard for guests with CONFIRMED bookings. I am not in a position to review anything else to do with this accommodation as obviously did not stay there.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PCRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at Windmill Bay mid July and could not have chosen better accommodation.

On arrival a very friendly Effie greeted us and promptly booked us in and lead us to our rooms. All rooms have a large balcony overlooking the pool and the sea. Our room was cleaned every day and the bed linen/towels changed daily.

The pool area was spotless with plenty of sunbeds and the pool bar served lovely breakfasts and lunches catering for all. All the staff were very friendly especially Alba with whom my daughter Jessica took a particular liking to.

The Windmill Bay is situated approximately 5 mins walk from all the restaurants and shops. The only drawback is that there is a short walk from the hotel that has no pavement for the first 50m or so but that should not put anybody off staying at these gorgeous apartments. We just wished we had booked for 2 weeks instead of 1!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for 1 week in July, the apartments are very clean and in a superb location, all with a pool and sea view. Sea breeze is a bonus. Pool area is great for the kids, Alba in the snack bar is lovely. Thanks to Effie on reception for her knowledge, although we didn't need her much as we had no fault with the accommodation at all. The apartment facilities in the kitchen are very basic, however the snack bar does great food and it is very cheap to eat there. Argassi itself is great for families, some great restaurants - we liked Granada, some bars and some kids play stuff if you find it. In all a great holiday, weather was obviously fab and we can see why so many people who we met go back year after year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zozoHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We had a room on the ground floor ie straight out to pool area via our own little patio area. So a stones throw away from the sea too. We bought lilos and found ourselves in the sea and the pool at every opportunity. Sea shoes are a must.
All staff here are very friendly and the pool cafe food is very good and not expensive.
Just around from the cafe is a small computers/ pool/ book room. Rarely used!
You will also find the better sunbeds this side too. The poolside ones are rather restricting on the arms.
Kitchen equipment is sparse but we ate at different places everyday. We only had one bad meal out. We complained and we're recompensed.we paid for a safe and air con. We had plug ins and sprays and never got bitten once. Ps.the green frog shop sells mozzie stuff plus almost everything else you might want.
You need to keep your wits about you when navigating the pavement/dirt track into the strip. There isn't enough entertainment for my liking along the strip .l very much enjoyed the must see Greek night at the sister hotel. We made some good friends there and at our own apartment complex. Legends is where we found the crowds. .a bit like a weatherspoons with entertainment. The Michael Jackson show was awful but such a good laugh.
We went on the turtle trip. You only see about two turtles. We also took a taxi to banana beach. ..a bit extravagant but hey we were on holiday. There is a free bus that goes here but you have to pay for sunbeds and stick to their timetable. This beach was wonderful!!
A lot of people hired quad bikes and mopeds to see the island. We got a taxi to and from the airport. .This saved a lot of time and money. Just make sure they drop you at windmill bay and not the sister hotel! Best place to stay along the strip. Wonderful holiday due to the people we met. ..mainly round the pool. Easier to do in small complexes!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed for one week. Friendly, helpful staff. All rooms have both sea and pool views. The beach is a few steps away, lovely warm shallow waters with a chance for snorkeling. Not overcrowded, more than enough sun loungers. I would suggest asking for a room with a balcony view, however if you have small children a blocked balcony looks very safe. The utensils in the kitchen are a little sparse but we manged. Good disabled access to pool. Delicious food at the bar, which is small and quiet. Staff recommend great places to eat and visit. It's a 5 minute walk to the centre of argassi, not taxing if you're fit and able. Choose supermarkets towards centre for slightly cheaper prices. As far as day trips go, don't bother with a full day boat trip, too long and motion sickness was abundant. It helps if the tour speaks your native language, ours didn't and this was failed to be mentioned on booking. Look on trip advisor for restaurant guides, zorbuz and ethnic were lovely. Granada, ummm,. I would definitely return and recommend to friends.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank jo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our third stay here at the Windmill Bay and, as always, we had a fabulous time. Effie, Anna, Maria and Alba were so friendly and helpful, as were the rest of the staff. Set in very pretty and well maintained grounds, with very comfortable sunbeds. It's a short walk into town and is quiet and peaceful. I would happily recommend these apartments for anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.7 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 26 in Argassi
780 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Edelweiss Apartments
Edelweiss Apartments
#6 of 26 in Argassi
151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zakantha Beach Hotel
Zakantha Beach Hotel
#9 of 26 in Argassi
477 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Bay Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Bay Aparthotel

Address: Argassi, Argassi, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Argassi
Price Range: £44 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Windmill Bay Aparthotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windmill Bay Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Bay Aparthotel Hotel Argassi
Windmill Bay Aparthotel Argassi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing