We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Contessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Contessa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just returned home from zante ,staying once again the Contessa hotel in Argassi . This is our sixteenth year and for fourteen years we have stayed at the Contessa .The Contessa Has beautiful views of the sea and Zante town , the staff are friendly ,we have Lou and Ellie at the pool bar and in the evenings Marios ,The food at the pool bar is great and very quick service .The rooms are cleaned daily,very clean . they serve a variety of food for breakfast, lots of choice, you can stay for evening meal which is a buffet and again plenty of choice and there is also a weekly Barbeque by the pool its just lovely. We will be back at the Contessa next year ,Beautiful Hotel .Lynne

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    138
    51
    19
    7
See reviews for
148
383
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just got back from a week at the Contessa. Agree with the previous reviews all the staff are really friendly. The bar snacks are lovely and reasonably priced and the breakfast was fine lots of choice really enjoyed the greek yogurt and honey. The only downside was we were only bed and breakfast and other than a small fridge in the room there was no kettle or cups to brew up or anywhere to make a sandwich at lunch so had to eat out everyday. Perhaps the hotel could think about putting cheap kettles and a couple of cups in the rooms ! The pool was lovely too really warm even I had a dip at least 3 times a duy a drink but we never went down there to sun bathe. Argassi it's self is beautiful lots of places to eat and drink ended up in the Beer Academy most nights watching the world cup. Ate somewhere different each night but did return to the Granada Taverna twice as it was so nice Would return to the Contess again but would take a kettle

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel 10th to 17 June (B&B), it was our 1st time in Argassi but know Island well, have stayed up the road in kalamaki a few times.

Hotel was very good, clean, nice staff and a good breakfast. You do have to pay 2 euros a day for sun bed cushions which seemed a little silly but I suspect the tour operators pay peanuts so they have to make their money somehow!

As for the resort it was really nice, plenty of bars restaurants etc. Would recommend The Green Frog for excellent food at a good price.
If your like an adventure, hire a scooter and explore its good fun (hotel can arrange this or see George down at Olympic hire, down hill turn left 200 mtrs on left talk to him about motorbikes and you will get a decent one).

To end would return to the Contessa np, great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edgydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just stayed at the Contessa Hotel Argassi for a week. All we can say about it is that it was ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. The location set in lush greenery with a WONDERFUL view to the sea and Zakynthos town was perfect. The cleanliness & attention to detail was outstanding. The choice of food and drinks in both the restuarant & pool bar was very good and the service was excellent. What made the stay so special was the friendliness of all the staff throughout the hotel. The warm welcome we recieved when we arrived set the tone for the rest of our stay. They all worked so hard to ensure you have a truly memorable holiday. We were so sad to say goodbye to what we now consider friends. We can not thank them enough for all that they did. The atmosphere at the hotel is happy and relaxed. We enjoyed ourselves so much we landed back in the UK on Tues 17 June and on Wed 18 June we booked again for next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank redgeorge2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just spent two weeks in this beautiful hotel ONCE AGAIN as I've been coming back here since I was 4 years old! (16years ago)
The staff are incredibly welcoming and friendly and will do anything to help you with anything you need!!
The rooms are lovely with beautiful views, air conditioning is also available for a small extra price!
The food is all delicious and fresh EVERYDAY! Breakfast in the restaurant upstairs has a lot to offer from fresh bread and cake to hot cooked food! Lunch at the pool bar with LOU-LOU and ELLIE is beautiful to fresh and lovely! Everyday there is a different special on the board! The service is also quick and friendly!
Dinner in the restaurant...you cannot fault!!!!

All in alli believe this is the number one hotel in all of Zakinthos and I'll defiantly be coming back ASAP!

Love to everyone Angela, Alicia, Demi, LOULOU, Ellie, Lydia, George, Giannis, Kleia, Angie, resturant staff and cleaners!!!

ILL SEE YOU ALL SOON!!!




Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank hanstaysxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We returned from two weeks at Hotel Contessa on 3rd June and I can honestly say it was perfect! The staff are amazing, they are always so helpful and will go out of their way to please you! We stayed with our two boys aged 5 and 3 and there was plenty to keep them occupied - kids pool, play park, mini golf next door, ping pong and table football in the bar etc. We had room 306 on top floor and is was great. Kids slept in bunk beds, room was just right for what we needed. Some reviews have stated that the rooms are on the small side with very small shower, yes they are but you have everything you need and adequate storage space! It really does not make a difference when you are out enjoying the sun anyway :) Would recommend the air conditioning as the rooms can get hot and stuffy at night without it.

The hotel has a fantastic location - a 5 minute walk to the main strip with the bars and tavernas. A shop is right opposite and the hotel itself has a brilliant pool bar with lots to choose from for lunches and dinners if you fancy. We stayed B&B and the food was good. There was a lot to choose from - cereals, toasts, eggs, bacon, sausages, yoghurts, cold meats and cheese, salad etc so will give you a great start to the day! The hotel offers a buffet evening meal too for a very reasonable price and a weekly BBQ which we definitely recommend!!

We hired a jeep for two days to explore the island. Very reasonable price of 50 euro per day including full insurance! The ladies on reception can organise this for you and are only too happy to help! There is so much to see on the island so would definitely recommend a car. There is a land train to Zante town not far from the hotel which is worth a go too.

If you are thinking of doing any trips there are plenty of companies in the town who offer them. We did the turtle boat trip and just a note of warning although we did see turtles and we did have a good day......we were told the boat goes right up to the shore when it stops for swimming on Marathonisi island but it doesn't! So if you are travelling with young children I would make sure you find a company uses small boats that are allowed to anchor right up to the shore otherwise (like us) you have to sit on the boat for an hour and wait because you are expected to swim to shore and leave valuables on board.

Anyway, all in all, we had a fantastic holiday and would highly recommend Hotel Contessa to anyone wishing to stay in Argassi!

A special thanks to all staff involved in helping my (now) fiancee to make our last night extra special with the flowers and candles etc for his proposal!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank handyreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Friend

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Contessa Hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories.

It is such a pleasure to know that you had such a great time here with us and that our hotel succeeded on meeting your needs and expectations. Most of all, we are happy that our staff made you feel so nice and comfortable and we would all like to thank you so much for your praise to our people.

We do hope that we will have the chance to see you back again with us in the near future for another wonderful holiday in our home.

Until we meet again take care and dont forget us!!!

Warmest Regards,
Alicia K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very nice staff, kind and social! Great food such as breakfast and food at the snack as well and clean rooms, i would definitely recommend the hotel! Very cozy and charming :) You've got everything near by as well.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Jan,

Thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel and staff.We are glad you have had a great stay here with us. Customer service is our highest priority and we will always give our 100% in order to satisfy all guests at all times.

It also gives us a great pleasure to read that we have managed to meet your expectations regarding the food and that you have found the location of our hotel very convenient!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Alicia K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.3 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#5 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.1 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
13.4 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contessa Hotel

Property: Contessa Hotel
Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Argassi
#1 Family Hotel in Argassi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Contessa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Contessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel Argassi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing