We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Contessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Contessa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Contessa Hotel. There is nothing I can fault it with! the hotel was spotless, the staff very friendly and helpful, the location very good and the pool was lovely. I would say it is better than a 3 star hotel. The rooms are spacious, they all have a balcony and a good size toilet/shower room. Nothing was too much for the staff. They were more than happy to help you and answer any questions you had and also recommended the best restaurants and trips. Would go there again! Thank you guys for a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panni11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    142
    51
    19
    7
See reviews for
152
391
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Booked this a week before departure and for the price was not expecting to be blown away, but based on the tripadvisor reviews were happy that it would be a nice base for us to explore zante. Well we were dropped off last and got to see the rest of the hotels in and around kalamaki, argasi etc. and the kid that got off at the same hotel as us, nailed it when he said, “aw wow we got the best hotel mum!”

Made to feel at home from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. Thank you to the hotel staff; Lou, Ella and Mario especially. You really made us feel special in your great hotel.
Yes there were a few extra charges for things like safes, air con, sunbed pillows etc. but as a previous reviewer has said. They probably get paid peanuts from the operators and need to make a profit somehow.

The rooms were perfect. Comfortable, Clean, Nice balconys etc. we had a room facing out onto the pool. Bathroom ok too, if anything the shower was a bit small and the curtain let the water onto the floor, but that is probably the only gripe with the room. There was a little bit of noise from a dog next door one night but most nights were quiet and peaceful. And the rooms were cleaned daily and spotless when we returned.

The pool area and snacks at lunch were ideal. There was a nice mix of nationalitys and a nice blend of couples and familys. We missed out on the weekly BBQ as we wanted to eat out that night but it looked fab being set up when we left. There was no overcrowding and easy to get a good location. The pool was fab and cleaned well every day, and the location of the hotel was just at the edge of the resort up the hill.

Argasi and Contessa Really lived up to our expectations we would hope to return at somepoint. Thanks from Scotland!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pmo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The first thing you notice when you arrive is the cleanliness, the floors are spotless everywhere is tidy and the rooms are services every day with new towels every third day. Check in was a breeze everything was explained clearly. We asked for a quiet room and were given exactly that (room 329) it was at the back of the hotel but had a good view you didn't feel hidden away and although it was on the roadside you didn't get much noise. The room was large with a decent size bathroom (with bath & shower) and for us girls a hairdryer which was really good. The rooftop terrace where breakfast was served was lovely never over crowded you could go out on the balcony area if you wanted and when it was really hot the roof opened up which was great. The food was very tasty and different in some ways every day offering hot and cold options buffet style and you could eat as much or as little as you wanted, the staff were friendly and always topping things up with hot food if it was supposed to be hot it was! The pool area was always spotless Lou was like a busy bee always tidying up and chatting to everyone she was really helpful giving you tips on where to go in Argassi. All the reception staff were really helpful too, they made sure everything was ok for you and as we were there for two weeks we didn't even have to ask for our key they knew the room number, we had many a good chat with Lydia on reception she gave us tips on where to go and showed them on a map, always asked us about our day, we are missing everyone they are all so friendly. The cleaning staff were great too everywhere was spotless and when they left new towels they were placed on the beds in the shape of a bow, except for one time when they were beautiful swans and love hearts the little things are what makes your holiday and this was one of them. The hotel is on one of the main streets with lots of shops, supermarkets and good places to eat and even one that never closes! 24/7 great food again lovely friendly staff we ate there a lot. The beach was nice with plenty of sun beds but if you walk a bit towards Zakinthos there are really good places just off the beach that offer free sun beds, we went to a lovely one that had a pool and the food was amazing! Not sure of the name it had a pagoda style bar area and Eddy served you at your sun bed so you didn't have to move! I could go on about this holiday forever and have nothing bad to say about anything, the trips we went on were well organised and the island tour is a must as well as turtle island, we even island hopped to Kefalonia. We will definitely stay here again as it's. one of the best places overall
that we have stayed in. There are lots of good places to drink in too the jungle bar was great Alex and his friendly staff gave you a lovely welcome ( thanks for the leaving present Alex ) legends was a good place for acts and food was great I had the giant Yorkshire pudding one night and it is what it says GIANT! but lovely. All in all this hotel and area was amazing.
Thank You to everyone who made it a great holiday and we Hope to return soon. Xx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lornaec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just returned from 11 nights at Contessa Hotel. Initial impression is that it is basic but clean however once you get settled in it really is a very good hotel. It is very clean (room cleaned daily, sheets & towels changed every 3 days), the staff are friendly and can't do enough for you, the food is good with plenty of choice.
The hotel is well placed, at one end of town so a little quieter than some places but still close to all the bars & restaurants. We loved Zorbas but get there early because it fills up fast!
Downsides are you have to pay extra for everything. The use of the fridge & safety deposit box is 15€ per week each, sunbed mattresses are 2€ each per day & air con is 7€ per night so if you want extras you need to be prepared to pay.
All in all though, we had a great holiday in a very good 3 star hotel. We would stay there again if we went back to Zante & I would definately recommend it to anyone considering staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for a non pool facing, second or third floor as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Bella

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Contessa hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us.

Most of all, we would like to say a big thank you for your kind comments on our staff and for giving them such a praise on their work and character. We also feel really pleased that you have found our hotel ideally located and the rooms very cleaned.

I am really sorry that we have let you down regarding the extra charges. We always wish to provide all necessary facilities in order to make our guests stay as pleasant and relaxing as possible. However, please let me explain you our policy. When an individual book through our website we provide all the extra facilities for free but you came with a tour operator and unfortunately this is the nature of the contract that we have sign in order to keep the cost of the room really low and make it affordable to everyone. Then we give our guests the chance to add any extra facility they wish. I hope I have answered to your question regarding the extra charges.

It will be a great pleasure if we have the chance to see you back at our Contessa.

Until we hopefully see you again at our home take care and dont forget us!!!

Best Regards,
Alicia K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, UK
Level Contributor
263 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Could not fault the Hotel, its staff or facilities. Rooms were very comforatble and the air conditioning was a must. The pool was very nice and the pool bar was excellent with a good range of drinks and delicious food.The restaurant upstairs where breakfast and evening meals are served was also very good. The staff were so helpful and friendly. My only criticism is Argassi itself - the hotel can do nothing about this but there is no beach to speak of. To get some real space and golden sand you have to drive at least 20 minutes. However, not everyone likes beaches and so if you are only interested in lazing around the pool, this is an excellent place for that.

Room Tip: One of four under the 'Hotel Contessa' sign, first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornwall-blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Cornwall

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Contessa hotel and for sharing your thoughts with the rest of us. On behalf of all the staff and family I would like to say a big thank you for your kind comments.

We are very sorry to hear that the location of our hotel did not meet your needs but we are very glad to hear that the pool area and our snack was a very satisfying alternative.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again back at our home,

Until we hopefully see you again, take care and dont forget us!!

Best Regards,
Alicia K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Contessa from the 24th June - 4th July. Very good location, supermarkets, restaurants and bars all in the immediate vicinity, The beach only a 5 minute walk away, spent most days at Remezzo's, friendly owners, and perfect spot on the seafront.
The hotel was spotless in every area, towels and linen changed nearly every day. Pool area clean and tidy, lovely pool bar run by Lou in the daytime, she'll help you out with any tips you need for the island.
All other staff lovely, always willing to help if they can.
Never ate in the restaurant other than for breakfast, which was adequate enough to start the day. Did have a couple of snacks from the pool bar, these were lovely, and cooked fresh to order.
The only downside to the hotel, very minor, but wished I'd known before I came, so we could have brought one with us.......we automatically thought, that being B & B, we would have a kettle in the room, or at least be able to hire one from reception ??

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wgcjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Friend,

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Contessa hotel and for sharing your experience with the rest of us here.

We are very happy to know that you had a great time in our home and on behalf of every member of our staff and family we would like to say a big thank you for your rewarding comments.

Regarding the Kettle thank you for pointing it out , any feedback is really important to us in order to improve ourselves. We will definetely take it into consideration and we will try to have it in our services for the next time that you will hopefully decide to honour us with your presence

Until then, have a lovely winter back home and dont forget us,

Best Regards,
Alicia K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We just returned from a week stay at this hotel. I don't know about the other rooms, 'cause I didn't saw them, but I can say about ours.(111). It was a room with a terrible smell, heavy and awful and my child was coughing for hours in the night because of the smell.
In the bathroom every day when we'd shower the floor was flooded in such a big water that was every time a danger to walk and not fall down.
Our towels was changed only after 5 days, and only after I told to the cleaning woman to change them.After that she was ok and she try to redress her mistake and made our beds in next 2 days.
The positive part was that the hotel is pretty clean, with nice view over the sea, from the dining room.
The pool nice and pretty clean.
The personnel was helpful and nice
The breakfast was almost the same with small exceptions but U could walk from it satisfied.
About the dinner I have only good words, because it was pretty tasty and diversified, as much as it can be at 3* hotel.
AC, fridge and wi-fi is not for free.( but if U ask nicely the crew from the bar for the password they will give it with pleasure. Thanks me too for that :)
Overall it was a nice stay, and we thank U for trying to pleased us.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room at the first floor. Avoid the rooms with de number 1 in the front (100-101-1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.3 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 27 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 27 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
2.1 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
13.2 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contessa Hotel

Property: Contessa Hotel
Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Argassi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Argassi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Contessa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Contessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel Argassi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing