We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a pleasant stay”
Review of Contessa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Contessa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Argassi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one week it was a pleasant stay, the staff was very helpful and polite, the hotel was good and pet friedly the food was low to average... not enough Parking space. It is in a good location to all the nice beaches and to town for a walk... surely with a lot of English tourists and not a greek friendly place... but it was fun...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank sa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear friend,

Thank you very much for taking the time to add your review on Contessa hotel and for sharing your memories with the rest of us here.

First of all, we would like to say a very big thank you for your wonderful feedback on our hotel and most of all for our lovely staff who always make us proud.

Regarding the food I would like to apologize on behalf of the Kitchen team and all of us for the hotel's food that wasnt up to your standards. It is true that we are a multicultural hotel with several different nationalities and different preferences but we are trying to please them all with a big variety of choices that vary every day. We are really sorry that we havent managed to please you. We can assure you that we will take your comment very seriously into consideration in order to improve ourselves.

What really concerns us however is that we have given you the impression that we are not a Greek friendly hotel. It really makes us wonder why you will feel like that since on the period that you were visiting we had many Greeks staying with in Contessa (we always do in August).....Also all the staff is Greek, the signs and notes are in Greek and above all I can reassure you that our Greek guests are as special are all the other guests that choose to spend their precious relaxing hodays with us......Why have we given you such an idea it really makes us wonder????

We do hope we have the chance to welcome you back in our hotel so we can make you feel special!!!!!!

Take care of yourself.......

Warmest Regards,
Alicia K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, nice rooms, good food, wonderful staff. Nice restaurant at roof, speccialy in the morning. Great swimming pool with beautiful bar with kind and gentle staff, Mario and Lou. Don't miss delicious barbecue at swimming pool. Once again great hotel, great choice..

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Deutsche Telekom
1  Thank Vlasta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Viasta,

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Filoxenia hotel and for choosing to share your wonderful memories with us.

It is a great pleasure for us to know that you had such a great time while holidaying at the Contessa and that our hotel with its facilities made you feel so relaxed and comfortable.
On behalf of all the staff and family I would like to pass you a big thank you for your kind feedback and for giving such a praise to our lovely staff and for your special mention to Marios and Lou.

It will be a pleasure for us to have you back again in our home for another relaxing holiday.

Until we hopefully meet again take care and visit us soon!!!!

Warmest Regards,
Alicia K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Second time here and once again 'everyone on the team' makes you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The food is good, both in the main restaurant and at the pool bar, snd the bedrooms are comfortable. Only disappointment was that we could only stay for 2 weeks. But now back again for a week this August. Can't wait..!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Delbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Delbees!

Thank you so much for spending some of your valuable time to add your review on Contessa hotel.

We are very happy to know that you had such a great time here in our home and that you have chosen to spend your holidays for the second time with us.....

We would like to say a huge thank you for your kind feedback and we are looking forward for your return visit to Contessa hotel so we can take care of you.

Until we hopefully meet again, enjoy your winter back home

Warmest Regards,
Alicia K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed there last week, I thought the location was good, a lot of little souvenir shops, supermarkets, local diners, bars and other hotels around. Its in a place called Argassi, which was a 5 minute drive from the city, I recommend you rent a vespa/car with your international license. There's a beach close to the hotel, like a 10 minute walk, but I recommend you explore other amazing beaches on the island, cuz the ones close to the hotel aren't that nice. Price was good as well. The hotel breakfast was nice, really enjoyed the view there. The room was clean but small, and they only gave us 1 key (it was a double room), they said people tend to lose the extra one. Never used the pool, but there were always people in it, so I assume it was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, because that's also the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oshabrawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Friend,

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Contessa Hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with all of us. It is such a great pleasure for us to know that that you had a nice holiday here in our home and that our hotel with its facilities succeeded on meeting your needs and standards.

Regarding the extra key I would just like to clarify that we do this for security reasons so that you dont lose it and someone else enters your room. With our reception being open 24/7 we could give you back the card or an extra card until you open your room any time you wished. I am really hoping that this wasnt very inconvenient for you.

It was our pleasure to take care of you and we will be more than happy if we had the chance to see you back again

Until we hopefully see you take care and dont forget us!

Warmest Regards,
Alicia K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at hotel Contessa for about 6 days. The hotel is very nice, not far from the beach, has swimming pool and own parking (note that it has limited space and you can park around the hotel). The hotel staff was nice and helpful. We had half board and the food was fine. The rooms were clean. What I found weird is the wifi. To use it, you have to purchase a drink and receive user name and password that are valid for 5 hours and only per device. The wifi is slow, drops often-reminds me a lot the internet 15 years ago when we used modems. Despite this little inconvenience, we liked our stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Nikolay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Nikolay,

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Contessa hotel and for choosing to share your memories with us.

We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful time here with us and that our lovely staff made you feel like home. Your kind comments towards them mean a lot to us!

We are really sorry that we have made it rather inconvenient for you to connect to the internet at all times, but we have a problem with the main internet provider of the island. This is why we provide codes in order to control it.

It will be a great pleasure of ours if we had the chance to see you back again in our home for another happy holiday.

Until we hopefully meet again take care and dont forget us,

Warmest Regards,
Alicia K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a very nice stay at hotel Contessa. The hotel has a good location with a nice swimmingpool. Breakfast and dinner were very delicious, varied and payable (dinner for 10 euro p.p). The staff was very nice and helpful.
We want to thank the staff of hotel Contessa for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilde v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Hilde,

Thank you so much for taking the time to add your review on Contessa hotel and for choosing to share your holiday memories with the rest of us here.

It makes us feel so great to know that you had such a great time here in our home and that our hotel was up to your standards and needs.

Most of all, on behalf of all the staff members we would like to say a huge thank you for your kind comments on our people and for giving them such a praise on their character. Especially to the kitchen team that manage to please you with their cooking.

Until we get to see each other again, have a lovely winter back home and dont forget us.

Warmest Regards,
Alicia K.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just got back from a 2 week stay at the Contessa, was absolutely brilliant and would recommend to anyone that is looking to stay in Zakinthos.

All staff are amazing, very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, Alicia even arranged for Mario to drive us to the airport rather than my nieces having to sit on the coach. Lou and Ellie are great characters, food and drink is amazing, oh....and Lou makes the best Freddo Espresso too :-)

Thanks again, I hope to return next year!

Nick Joannides

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alicia k, Manager at Contessa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Nick,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Contessa hotel about your recent experience here with us. It makes us very happy to know that you had such a great time here with us and that you consider our place a “Great Hotel" with "Great Staff!!”

I would like to say a very big thank you for your credit to our lovely people (Lou, Ellie, Mario ...) and for giving them such a praise on the way they took care of you and your adorable girls...

We are looking forward to see you back again in our home for another lovely holiday and some relaxing time under the sun!

Until we have the chance to see you again, take care and dont forget us!!!

Warmest Regards,
Kladi A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argassi
0.3 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diana Palace Hotel
Diana Palace Hotel
#2 of 26 in Argassi
1,552 reviews
2.1 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
646 reviews
4.5 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
488 reviews
5 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contessa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contessa Hotel

Address: Argassi 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Argassi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Argassi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Argassi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Argassi
Price Range: £26 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Contessa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Contessa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel Argassi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing