We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant downfall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just back from a one week stay with our nearly four year old grandson and on the whole the hotel was satisfactory. Like others we were pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel in all areas and the entertainments crew were excellent in their manner and friendliness. The restaurant staff took a few days to warm to us but were then fine. I think our grandson helped there as he was a chatterbox. The downfall? The restaurant. This was the worst part of the holiday and I can't understand how food that was meant to be hot could be so cold. I picked a piece of fish from what should have been a hot plate turned out to be ice cold. I thought this would be a one off but sadly it wasn't. The food was often lukewarm when it should have been hot. I did see some dishes in the mornings bubbling away but it was always the same tray in the same place and was usually. unless you timed it well, some dishes were finished and not replenished straight away. Needs some better management in all areas of the restaurant. It's a shame because the hotel is situated perfectly for the beach and for the few shops and bus stop for Mahon. Would we go back? Not unless we heard that the restaurant was up to an excellent standard - and there is no reason that it couldn't be

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Margaret D,

First of all, thank you for sharing your experience in the hotel with us in TripAdvisor.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed our stay with us, but we are deeply sorry to learn that your experience at the restaurant was not as expected. We will take into consideration all your comments, as they are very important for us.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,373)
There are newer reviews for Sol Milanos Pinguinos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 2,373 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Fantastic holiday for me and my sister who both wanted to chill out. Quiet family resort. Hotel was a little tired but it was more than made up for by the location and quick airport transfer. Right on the lovely sandy beach. Entertainment every evening although it did tend to be dancers miming to musical soundtracks, Grease being the obvious example. Beds were rock hard and really uncomfortable. We asked the rep on the first day to see whether it could be changed, we heard nothing. We went to the reception on the second day and asked about softer mattresses and within 2 hours, much more comfy mattresses were provided.

Be warned, sun beds and umbrellas on the beach are not free and at 15 euros a day for 2 beds and an umbrella it was a bit steep. We took our towels down and lay on the beach for free.

Food was buffet style and there was a great selection if you weren't vegetarian and didn't have wheat/gluten issues. That said, the restaurant staff were able to provide me with gluten free bread/cereal and pasta. However there was no labelling on any of the food on the buffet to confirm whether the different food had gluten in which was a shame given the obvious attempt to cater for coeliacs. It was a case of pot luck and mostly every meal was fine. I did find it a bit monotonous after a while and if I ordered something specific it usually arrived after my sister had finished her meal. We ate out at Atalis and Alessandros a couple of nights, mainly to stop my sister eating all the desserts at the restaurant!!!

Can recommend the half day trip to Ciutadella, big market with lots of local products and was a nice break from sunbathing.

Local shops and supermarkets were well stocked with british foods if you are half board. Be warned, the restaurants on the beach have quite high prices, 2 salads, 2 fantas and 1 plate of chips was nearly 30 euros!

All in all a great holiday, would certainly visit the island again and the hotel

Room Tip: Go for mid floor with views of the beach
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Susie B,

Thank you for share your comments in Tripadvisor!
It is a pleasure for the whole team to read your comments about your experience at the hotel along with your sister. Just remember that here in Sol Milanos Pinguinos, you have a place to stay if you ever decide to come back to Menorca.
We will be waiting for you!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just come back from our weeks stay with son and his fiancée and our two young grandchildren. The hotel and our rooms were spotlessly clean and the location right on the beach was fantastic, ideal for very young children as slopes gently and lovely soft sand. The entertainment every night was unexpected but very good. The food was good with plenty of choice and replaced regularly. The guys who were in charge of entertainment during the day and evening were fantastic, very friendly and you could tell they enjoyed their job. Ideal holiday for young family although we went just after the peak season so the kids clubs were closed but didn't spoil our stay. Very quiet resort and not a lot around apart from some shops and restaurants. One negative was that the pool was too cold and it was warmer to swim in the sea.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smeryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Smeryl,

Thank you for share your comments in Tripadvisor; your feedback was a delight to read!
It is a pleasure for the whole team to read your comments about your experience at the hotel along with your family. Just remember that here in Sol Milanos Pinguinos, you have a place to stay if you ever decide to come back to Menorca.
We will be waiting for you and your family!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Location on the beach and a short transfer time make it ideal for a quick relaxing break. The pool is nice though on the cool side in late season and the activity area is separated from the main pool which is great if you want to read. Evening entertainment was better than average but it's not a spot for night owls as the lights on the terrace are turned off at 11:30pm. The room was small but had everything you need including a small fridge. Air con was noisy if you turned it above the lowest setting. The clientele was probably about half Spanish with Brits the biggest other group then various other Europeans. The dining room was a bit canteen like but the food wasn't bad for a buffet restaurant. We went all inclusive and the beer, sangria and soft drinks were fine but I didn't think much of the spirits. There were none of the grumpy staff that sometimes mar Spanish holiday hotels. The receptionists spoke excellent English and most of the other staff spoke sufficient to take a drinks order.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEJ1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear KEJ1964,

Thank you for sharing your comments in TripAdvisor
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us but also that you enjoyed our location and we are also delighted to see your recognize the hard work of our staff.
We really look forward to welcoming you back in Sol Milanos Pinguinos

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A lovely beach setting, but its a hotel past its best. Some areas, such as the two swimming pools and associated areas looked grubby and worn out. The windows and frames in the dining room were dirty and not acceptable in an food environment. Although, the buffet food area itself was clean and the food was of a good/high standard. The waiter service in the dining room was poor and the waiters assumed everybody was an all inclusive customer. On our first night, I asked a waiter for some water and white wine. A few moments later the waiter plonked a karafe of white wine and a bottle of water on the table. No sign of a wine list so we could make our own choice! On the brighter side, the reception and entertainment staff were excellent and the rooms were clean but on the small side.The Hotel is for families on a variety of board basis and does not cater for couples. I also found the use of dispensing drinks in plastic containers extremely unpleasant. Not a Hotel to revisit!

Room Tip: Some rooms get early morning sun and some on the other side get late sun and wonderful sunset views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Colleen M

First of all, thank you for sharing your experience in the hotel with us in TripAdvisor.
We are deeply sorry to learn that your experience was not as expected. We will take into consideration all your comments, as they are very important for us.
Hoping your next election in Menorca be successful, we invite you to visit one of the other options available to the company on the island through the Meliá website.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very good hotel right on the beach . Food good, all inclusive good value even if they do fill your glass up with as much ice as possible! Excellent for families with toddlers as sandy beach very good for sand castles and sea slopes gently.
BUT, there is little else to do around the hotel that does not require a bus trip or hired car. Entertainment in the evening starts at 10 pm and ends at 11 pm , all inclusive drinks finish then and the hotel shuts down for the night, so little noise. Outside there are one or two disco bars which stay one till the early hours.
Nothing is made of the fact that to the west of the hotel is a huge area of marsh and reed bed, very good for bird watching . Also, the path for walkers that is trying to run right round the island, here goes across sand dunes, almost unwalkable, but you have the entertainment of the adjacent nudist beach!!
All in all fab if you want a rest or have little children, otherwise would get boring after a week.
Also single rooms do NOT all have sea view despite huge charges for them. I had a view of the car park on the ground floor, making it rather vulnerable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMRoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear GMRoles,

Thank you for sharing your comments in TripAdvisor
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and also the food and the all-inclusive. But we are deeply sorry to learn that your experience was not as expected. We will take into consideration all your comments, as they are very important for us.
We really hope to see you back if you ever decide to come back to Menorca!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just returned from a holiday at this hotel. Couldn't fault it. As others have said, amazing location and first rate cleaning standards (well done to the brilliant and friendly cleaning team). Really helpful and friendly staff. The great majority of guests were Italian and they can be quite loud as there seemed to be a lot of them in groups. That said, they were really friendly people and not at all rude, as someone has suggested. Food excellent and great choice. Some people on here have complained about the temperature of the food. The food in this part of the world is not usually eaten particularly hot. The people like to make conversation with friends and family over their meals so the food doesn't stay hot. We tend to eat in a different way in this country (and probably in others). The restaurant staff were also excellent and very efficient and friendly. Neither we, nor anyway else we met had any sign of a tummy problem (which is more likely if you re-heat the food). Really fab all round. Really helpful reception staff too. Can't give it a five star rating because it isn't quite in that league but would definitely recommend it. Ps, we don't have young children but the staff who ran the childrens' clubs seemed to be doing a good job and the children (quite a lot of babies and children under five) were very cute!

Room Tip: Go for one between the 5th and 7th floor, facing the sea, it means the lifts don't take very lon...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Jane B,

Thank you for sharing your comments in TripAdvisor
It is great to read that your stay with us was a pleasant one and that the hotel facilities, services, animation, our location, the amazing views, as well as the staff services exceed your expectations.
We really hope to welcome you back on your next holidays!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Bou
12.6 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,529 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 11 in Cala'n Bosch
2,155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca
10.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Milanos Pinguinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Milanos Pinguinos

Address: Playa de Son Bou, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Menorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Price Range: £54 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Milanos Pinguinos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents SOL MILANOS PINGUINOS, resort located on one of the most famous and longest beaches in Minorca Son Bou Beach. Rooms with stunning views of Son Bou Beach. Ideal for vacations with your family full activity programme, parties, shows, musicals and live music. For Children: Katmandu Adventures Clubs. One lagoon-style pool and the other a sports pool. Enjoy our magnificent international theme buffet and local specialties. Enjoy Holidays with your Family!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Milanos Pinguinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Milanos Pinguinos Hotel Son Bou
Sol Melia Son Bou
Son Bou Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing