We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heads up to all inclusive guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Reviewed 15 July 2014

THere is a restriction on the availability of drinks at the bar. TAKE CASH - there is a 10 euro deposit on towels and 1 euro a day for a clean on (if you change it) Packed lunches are not permitted but charged at 20 euro per person. Snooker table etc is 1 or 2 euro - non of these charges were pre warned by Thomas cook !!!! for a family of six I was hit with charges I didn't expect. Also the safe is 15 euro paid by cash only. Thomas cook advised free wifi in lobby - not so for one week of wifi it is 30 euro cash only and in the lobby charged by the hour. Suggestions to hotel - maybe they should give tokens to all inclusive guests to cover at least 2 changes of beach towels and at least 4 for the snooker tables etc. There are no snacks available during meal times unless you want bread and cheese and this was only in the main restaurant. No snacks offered by the bar as informed by Thomas cook. All these issues are with Thomas cook not the hotel. Had a fabulous holiday - the sports activities during the day was fantastic, high standard and the staff were well trained and executed these with perfection. Thomas cook rep needs to be better informed about how to get around the island and sell tours - they seemed extremely young and only interested in having a good time, weren't very efficient. As a family we would definitely go back but maybe on half board and not all inclusive as apart from food there isn't much else that sets half board and all inclusive apart, especially if you do not drink alcohol.
Standard of hotel was immaculate and the housekeepers friendly and hard working. Definitely recommend - oh 2 beach chairs and umbrella is 17 euro for the day (this was not mentioned by thomas cook as they informed that the hotel provided chairs on the beach) NOT SO.
The kids club (which we didn't use) seemed amazing but we did over hear guests complain about extra hidden charges that they were faced with upon arrival - Thomas cook you need to get your game together and sell your properties correctly to avoid ruining a family vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
6  Thank Helen Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Helen Elizabeth D

Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review about your recent stay in Sol Milanos Pingüinos.
We take note about your suggestion for the All-inclusive guests and we are happy to read that your overall experience with us was a positive one.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Sol Milanos Pingüinos!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 2,453 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Arrived lunch time 4th July 2014. 2 adults 2 children. Having no rep on the coach, it's lucky dip on getting right which building you are staying in as each has it's own reception. On getting to our room, I was surprised how small it really is. We requested bunk beds for the kids, but was supplied with a single and cot. This was put right with in a couple of hrs. Bd in the bathroom was cracked badly, this was changed with in 24hrs for a new 1. Which I thought was good. On visiting the pool first thing we noticed was 90% of the people staying are Spanish. Both pools where cold, but was ok once in. Getting sun beds was ok, but wasn't allowed in the pool until 11am as they are still cleaning. Brought a inflatable ring for my son from the hotel supermarket and was told straight away by the lifeguard that no inflatables are allowed. This is a big negative if you have kids as it's what they look forward too and keeps them entertained. Someone reported that there may be kids poo in the pool, lifeguard just scooped it out and let everyone carry on as usual. Big no for me! Kids club seemed aimed at the Spanish kids and you had to pay for this even tho we was all inclusive. They had a afternoon where they had water slides set up. Once in the que I was told I had to pay for this, same as the trampoline. Very disappointed in this, when your meant to be all inclusive. Food wise started of ok, but then noticed it becoming very repetitive and basic. Then the final straw came when I was served uncooked chicken twice!!!! I complained to the waiters and the restaurant manager and was never offered an apology. Was told this was the Spanish way to
Keep the flavour in and to take it back if I wanted it cooked more. Found this hotel worker rude. Glad the kids hadn't eaten any. After this we ate out every night. Betty's kitchen was open when we was there, don't be fooled this serves the same food as the main restaurant. Hotel kept very clean, staff all mainly helpful n friendly. Good location, beach n sea beautiful. Son bou resort very chilled out. Did find the menus in the restaurants to be all the same.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jimmyw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Jimmyw79,

First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback, which we consider of high importance. Particularly the fact that your stay was not as you expected brings us to some reflections, since our highest commitment is the satisfaction of our guests and in this case we could not meet your expectations.
On the other hand, we are glad to read that at least you could enjoy our stunning location.

We invite you to visit our web melia. com in order to discover all the options we have to offer you for your next holidays.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just returned from a 14 night stay in this Hotel on a HB basis.
Hotel- We stayed in the Pinguinos staff were exceptionally friendly. Hotel and rooms very clean and tidy with very friendly and efficient housekeeper on 11th floor. The views were stunning from the room balcony. All the hotel staff were very friendly helpful and courteous from the moment we arrived to our departure. Each room had a fridge. Rooms were adequate for the length of time you spend in them there is so much else available to attend in the hotel.
KIDS CLUB & ENTERTAINMENT - This was second to none the kids club staff were outstanding caring people who made each child feel very special at all the activities my 10year old was heart broken at the end of our holiday leaving the kids club. The same staff then did some of the evening shows as well as all the adult fitness and sports activities. I could not compliment this very hard working and friendly group of people enough - long may they remain at the hotel!
DINING - Could not fault this in any way large selection of food available in both the main dining area and Bettys kitchen and the staff again exceptionally friendly and helpful.
LOCATION - With direct access onto a long sandy beach what better location.
POOL Area - Always sunbeds available as people were moving in and out all the time, again area very clean and tidy and manned by a very vigilant life-guard.
CONCLUSION - An excellent holiday location that i have every intention of returning to on an annual basis. Thank you Los Milanos Pinguinos for a perfect 2 week holiday!

Room Tip: Higher floors have excellant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Shgrant,

Thank you for sharing such a nice and detailed comment about your recent holidays in Sol Milanos Pingüinos with all Tripadvisor users!

It is great to read that your stay with us was a perfect one and that the hotel facilities, our buffet, kids club, entertainment, our location, the stunning views from your room, exceed your expectations. But also, we are proud to receive such a good feedback of our staff as we consider them as our most available asset. Your comments will encourage our team keep working in order to obtain highest level of satisfaction and service to every guest, every time.

Contact the Guest Experience Department who will be delighted of taking care of your next
booking with us! It will be a pleasure for the whole the team of Sol Milanos Pingüinos to welcome you and your family back on your next holidays!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My partner and I stayed for two weeks in June 2014. Two large sister hotels, side by side, very pleasant in reception and function areas, bedrooms basic but clean and tidy and sufficiently sized for our needs.
The resort of Son Bou is really nice and tidy and well looked after and the Sol Milanos Pinguinos hotels really dominate the beach front giving fantastic views. We stayed on the 5th floor (11 floors in total) of 'Milanos' and we had the sun in the afternoon on the balcony, nice room, light and airy, it had a large wardrobe, bath and shower in the en-suite, a smallish balcony but good for the two of us.
Choose your meal times carefully, it is a family orientated hotel with an exceptionally large 2 level restaurant, however, meal times tended to get manic at certain times. If possible try getting to breakfast early (times 8am - 10am) and evening dinner at least before 7:30pm or after 8:30pm (times 6pm - 10pm) if you want to get a table during high season.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and staff were helpful and polite. Plenty of restaurants and bars close to the hotels and a supermarket just literally across the road.
There is a nudist beach nearby - as you walk towards Sant Tomas resort, but we found that some beach goers were naked at any point along the stretch of beach, we did not mind this and nobody else seemed to be too bothered either.
Choice of food from the buffet restaurant was more than sufficient and the chefs do very well to keep it stocked up during the really busy periods. We had 3 courses per sitting and found the daily choices quite good and cooked well.
We hired the room safe but had difficulty using the code which wouldn't unlock it, we rang down to reception and the engineer was at our door a few minutes later, fixed it then left. Good, quick maintenance service.
There is a nightclub which opens twice a week 8pm til 4am. Good for the young at heart.
Would definitely stay here again, the location is fantastic, Menorca is a beautiful island and everyone is so very friendly.

Room Tip: From middle to upper floors there is very little/no street noise. The rooms on the east side get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank JDC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear JDC68,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review regarding your recent stay with us!
Moreover, we are delighted that you had such a good experience of the hotel and it is always great to hear that our guests have fully embraced the facilities which we offer, which it certainly sounds like you have!
Do not forget that the next time you decide to come back to Menorca, we will be waiting for you in Sol Milanos Pingüinos.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for a 10 days in June after finding out 2 weeks before we travelled there was building work at our original hotel. Hotel is clean, room size is small but adequate. Who goes on holiday to stay in room?? Fabulous views from our room on the 6th floor. One problem was for 2 days there was only 2 lifts working which resulted in long waits for lifts or walking up the stairs - felt for people on higher floors as you could wait up to 20 minutes around meal times. I am glad the hotel wasn't full either. A little noise at night but that was really due to inconsiderate guests which is no fault of the hotel.

The food was ok - it seemed to get better as the holiday went on. 2 nights I struggled to find a hot main course that I enjoyed. I have had better food on other holidays but I didn't go hungry. The food could have been hotter and labelled better other than just lamb, beef etc. The lamb one night was a curry and not to my taste so if it had been labelled better it would have made choosing easier and better suited to taste. Dishes at times took a long time to replenish and as the plates were cold anything else you had already got on your plate would go cold while you waited so most times got fed up of waiting so didn't always get to try some dishes or have the meal I wanted to. I didnt go hungry but I would hope it is more efficient when the hotel is full else it may take ages to get a full meal. It may be good if parents were advised not the let children run around the restaurant too. Sometimes it was hard to find a clean table and the hotel wasn't full - got a idea they may have been short of staff. A couple of mornings there was only one coffee machine working in the one part of the restaurant and nobody bothered to fill up in the time we were in there - again not good but would be worse if the hotel was really busy.

We only stayed half board and if you went into the only open bar at night you had to queue even though we were paying and also get some drinks in plastic glasses. I do not expect to be served at night in a plastic glass when I am paying for a drink. We used to go out most nights after this experience as not happy queueing for expensive drinks.

The onsite supermarket is one of the cheapest with friendly staff.

Changed money at reception and got a better rate than the supposed "best deal" across the road though one receptionist didn't give me the odd cents.

On the whole though had a great holiday - Son bou is a lovely resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank lizwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Lizwm

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments in Tripadvisor.
We are glad to know that you had a really nice overall experience with us in Sol Milanos Pingüinos. Particularly that you could enjoy the views from your room, our facilities, but also the food.
In addition, we are pleased to read that you find our location convenient and you could enjoy the wonderful beach of Son Bou, and we will take all your comments on board as we are always trying to meet our guests’ expectations and provide the best possible service.
Thank you again, for your comments and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We travelled here for 10 nights all inclusive the last two weeks of June 2014. We'd read the reports on here and were a little concerned about the food but I'm glad to say these worries were completely unfounded.
The food the choice of food very good usually 3 or types of meat and fish as well as the usual burgers hot dog and chips. The salad bar was to die for and loads of choice with breads. It's not that often you get lobster, sushi, Chinese, chilly on an all inclusive deal. Excellent! But with going to the same restaurant every day you do feel like you've seen it all before and that's that same at any restaurant or even eating at home. Occasionally you did have to wait for the food to be cooked by that's because it's cooked fresh and everyone wants to eat at the same time. Don't be surprised if you have to wait 2 minutes for a table at peak time. It's not too much to ask as I guess they are catering for 1000 guests. The restaurant and kitchen staff work really hard and a please and thank you go a very long way.
Talking about staff they all work really hard and want to do all they can to make your stay enjoyable.
The entertainments team are excellent and put on loads of shows after organising the kids clubs and activities for the adults that want to take part. The shows included mamma Mia grease lion king which they put on and other entertainers such as the Motown night - guaranteed to get you up for the love train conga line, the circus acts and the world party.
Please don't complain that most of the shows are in Spanish because guess where you are? Spain. The guys and girls all speak 3 or 4 language but speak quickly so you might miss it.
The resort itself is quite small and if you were self catering you'd do all the restaurants easily in a week also for us with a child all inclusive works best. Proof enough when the beer is €4.40 and a soft drink €2.2 in the hotel. We did venture out one night to compostian near the British bar. Lovely food.
The short walk from the hotel is nonexistent as you are on the beach pretty much as soon as you leave the hotel via the pool you're on the beach. There's a lovely board walk to go on too. Go right up the beach too far and you will meet the naturists.
The pools are great gentle slope. The kids club too a bit of total whip out in one and the adults water polo. There's plenty of sun beds but worth putting your towel on one before breakfast to ensure a good spot. The sun beds at the beach are run independently and are costly.
We'd com back again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sykco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Sykco,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a detailed review about your recent stay in Sol Milanos Pingüinos.
It is a pleasure for the whole team to read your comments about your experience at the hotel along with your family. Thank you again for all your comments about our buffet and also about staff members. Your comments will encourage our team to bring forth the highest level of service to every guest, every time.
Just remember that here in Sol Milanos Pinguinos, you have a place to stay if you ever decide to come back to Menorca. We will be waiting for you and your family!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Third visit to this hotel. Majority of staff are friendly and very helpful especially Bruno on reception (top man) and Hugo on the bar. Food was fine, very good selection for a 3 star hotel. Areas for improvement are the elevators in the Pinguinos which are not efficient and many people use the stairs instead, but good exercise I guess.A few more themed dishes would be welcome on the themed menu nights. Also free access to coffee machines would be nice in the evenings and would reduce drink queues. Highly likely to return again as Son Bou is such a great location and the Sol Milanos is a pleasant hotel to spend it in.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Chris C,

Thank you very much for posting your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are very glad to read that you have come to our hotel three times and really grateful for your loyalty to Sol Milanos Pingüinos and Melia Hotels International. We are proud to receive such a good feedback for our staff as we consider them as our most available asset. Your comments will encourage our team keep working in order to obtaing highest level of satisfaction and service to every guest, every time.
We take into considerations your comments and we will study them for future improvements.
We always look forward to welcome you back at the Sol Milanos Pingüinos!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Bou
1.0 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,568 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,368 reviews
12.6 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Sol Falco by Melia -All Inclusive
12.0 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Milanos Pinguinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Milanos Pinguinos

Address: Playa de Son Bou, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Menorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Price Range: £51 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Milanos Pinguinos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents SOL MILANOS PINGUINOS, resort located on one of the most famous and longest beaches in Minorca Son Bou Beach. Rooms with stunning views of Son Bou Beach. Ideal for vacations with your family full activity programme, parties, shows, musicals and live music. For Children: Katmandu Adventures Clubs. One lagoon-style pool and the other a sports pool. Enjoy our magnificent international theme buffet and local specialties. Enjoy Holidays with your Family!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Milanos Pinguinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Milanos Pinguinos Hotel Son Bou
Sol Melia Son Bou
Son Bou Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing