We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This was the third time that we have visited the hotel. Each time has been fantastic. The staff have always been helpful and friendly. The activities staff in particular are amazing and make the hotel a wonderful place to holiday. We have three children who all enjoyed the kids clubs. I would point out that the is a fee for the kids club in the afternoon but it's free in the morning and in the afternoons the children normally make something to take away...printing tee shirts...kite making etc. The food was good there is always a wide range and some variety across our stay. We will return and know we will have a great holiday.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Suart J,

Thank you for posting such a nice review about your stay in our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are really pleased to read that your third time with us has been as fantastic as the two previous ones but also that you enjoyed all the facilities that we offer, such our kids club, buffet and our most precious value, our staff.
We will be delight to welcome youand your family back in Sol Milanos Pingüinos as many times as you wish!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 2,454 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

1 There are NO coffee/tea making facilities in your room, even though the web site shows pictures of these items, you have to rent a (very dusty old kettle) More costs.
2 The pool bar, the sports bar, and the piano bar were not open in August 2014, only open in the high season. Not sure when this is but it is NOT August.
3 WiFi internet connection is only available in the receptions at a additional cost. Any internet connection is not available ANYWHERE in Pingüinos building, therefore cannot be accessed in your room.
4 No facilities on the beach so payment of €17 per day for a sun bed on the beach.
5 The food arrears are vast, but they would be better off have less selection and what is served is served HOT. All the "hot" foods was cold or at best luke warm.
6 The entertainment was OK for kids, nothing for adults, not sure what they were showing was even legal.
7 The entertainment (above) for the kids was too late, starting at 22:00 until 23:00.
8 There were beach beds by the pool, but unless you "secured" your bed with your towel pre 08:00 then you were around the pool with a small child with no umbrella shade. 300 beach beds 30 umbrellas !! (I gave up complaining to the staff about the towels being put on the beds.
9 IF you purchased drinks after the 23:00 cut off then they were VERY expensive.

The hotel overall is about a ONE star at best, and this would be half for the dining staff who were HELPFULL, and half for the kids entertainment for the over fives.

Room Tip: not an option I was able to use, even though I had requested two suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ruthinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Ruthinlondon,

thank you for the time taken to share your comments in Tripadvisor.

We are deeply sorry to read that your stay with us didnt meet your expectations. However we would like to kindly discuss some of the points you highlighted. The tea/coffee facilities are available in the Son Bou Beach view room, that are our superior rooms and is the picture of this type of room that shows and describes these facilities. Moreover the entertainment of the children takes place from 10-1pm, then from 3-5pm and in the evening we count with a daily mini-disco that starts at 8.40pm. About the facilities on the beach, even if we are located in the stunning beach of Son Bou, the beach is a public beach so the space of the sunbeds are depending on the Public Governement and unfortunately the Hotel is not able to manage them.

We would like to thank you again for your review and rest assured that all the points have been shared with the rest of Departments Manager, as we will take into consideration for our future improvement plans the comments and suggestions of our guests.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I took my two year old here for her first holiday, located on the beach and surrounded by the flintstones characters and decor it was a dream.
Hotel was rated 3 stars however it's very under rated.
Immaculate hotel gorgeous mannered staff and maids regularly clean.
The only downside was the limited shops and very windy weather but that is nothing to do with the holiday and apparently unlike the usual weather for Son Bou.

Room Tip: Sea view high floor as it has four lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jo-Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Jo-Jo M,

Many thanks for leaving such a wonderful review of your recent stay at Sol Milanos Pingüinos.

We are glad to see that you appreciated our practical location and to read that the Room Experience have met your expectations.
Moreover, we are pleased to know that you really appreciated the service providen by our Staff.
It is a real honour for us being the first hotel choosen for first holidays of your daughter and we really hope having a new opportunity to welcome you back in Sol Milanos Pingüinos.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

this hotel well located in the beautiful beach of Son Bou has to offer plenty of entertainment for families with children.
Too many people in the hotel!. the Hotel is served by two huge towers with 11 floors, beautiful view from our room located on the 7th floor.
The catering service is poor, lots of choice but more than half of the dishes are bad, I've been in other chains Hotels like NH Hotels - Ibiza - 3 Stars, which I could provide better service for the same price.
Competent employees ,but we are in Spain and this is what we expect.
Some occasional failures to register. In one week stay they failed to clean the room once.
The entertainment at night in the hotel is up to the team entertainers and is acceptable at least children enjoy them.
I rented a car for 4 days and had the opportunity to visit the island, beautiful beaches to discover!
after knowing the Island I do not know if I would stay here, maybe yes maybe no, if yes tried to avoid this hotel, too much noise, too many people!
I Traveled in August but if you decide to come to visit Menorca do it in June is much quieter!

Room Tip: depende do gosto de cada um! Andares altos e com vista lateral, tem vista Mar e são para mim os melh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filipe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Filipe P,

First of all, thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to read your comments about our staff and about our entertainment, but we are sorry to read that not everything was to your satisfaction and our buffet didn´t exceed your expectations.
We invite you to visit our web melia. com to discover all the options we have to offer you.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I am used to either boutique or luxury hotels. I don't have children and typically prefer to stay away from them. But OMG this place won my heart. This is a Flintstones theme resort for families - they offer many activities to entertain and tire out the kids. TONS of people from the UK - my husband and I were probably the only Americans not only in the hotel but the entire island of Menorca it seemed like. But despite the outdated rooms, the cold pool and cold ocean with less than friendly late Spring temperatures, the Miami-Vice/maternity ward pastel green/salmon color of the walls, the weird tiny bugs I found in the closet, and the humidity in the room, my husband and I actually LOVED our stay. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, the breakfast is superb, and the location is just great.

One thing to remember if you have never been to Menorca is that the beaches are not separated into nude and non-nude. People can just be nude anywhere, so if that offends you don't go. The water temperature is very cold and the weather is never all that warm - I was cold the whole time and never went in despite the clear blue waters calling my name. It is easy and inexpensive to rent and car and you should do it to explore the island. There are many other great beaches and the towns of Mao and Cuitadella nearby and they are very worthwhile seeing. There is tons of ancient ruins nearby, some right by the hotel, others a short driving distance away. You should visit them. And the village of Son Bou has great restaurants and great bars as well as carousels, supermarkets, and tons to do for kids.

Even though in the first hour we may have felt like fish out of water, the hotel grew on us and so did the Flintstones theme. Great value.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view. Most rooms have that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Camila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Camila M,

Many thanks for taking the time to post such an honest and nice review about your recent stay in Sol Milanos Pingüinos.

It has been a pleasure for us to see how you loved our Flintstones Theme, our location, but also the island, even though you are not used to stay in family hotels. On the other hand, we are sorry to read some service shortfalls you have experienced but please rest assured that we will be doing our utmost to maintain our usual high standards and your feedback is of extreme value to us towards this direction.

Many thanks as well for recommending this experience and highlighting our friendly staff attitude and the diversity our breakfast buffet restaurant

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back personnally at the Sol Milanos Pingüinos!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have only just returned home after a weeks stay and I am already looking at booking to return next year. The hotel is lovely and clean and in a fantastic location. The food was excellent with a variety of meat, veg, fruit and amazing cakes. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The evening entertainment was fabulous, lots of shows magician, acrobats etc. I would recommend this hotel to any families looking for a relaxing holiday. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Nicola W,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your holidays in Sol Milanos Pingüinos with all Tripadvisor users!
It has been a real pleasure for the whole team to read how fantastic your experience was with us and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our buffet, our location, the cleaning of our hotel and our shows.
We look forward to welcoming you back in Sol Milanos Pingüinos for your next holidays!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a fab time at the sol milanos. hotel very clean, rooms very small but again very clean. The hotel location is what makes the holiday, beach is beautiful. The only complaint with this hotel are the extras, ie the 10 euros per day for kids club, having to pay for a safe and also the food can be Luke warm and a bit of the same things everyday. Staff are fantastic but bar staff and restaurant staff I felt were a little unfriendly at times. All in all though a fab holiday and we would return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Kerry B,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay in Sol Milanos Pingüinos.

Reading your experience at our hotel, make us really happy, because we can feel how much you have enjoyed with your family in our hotel, located in the amazing beach of Son Bou.
We also want to say a big thank you regarding your comments about our fantastic staff who work really hard to reach our guest ´s satisfaction, and we feel sorry if you felt a bit dissapointed with some of our them, as we consider it as one of our most valuable asset.

We will be delighted to welcome you back in Sol Milanos Pingüinos!
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Bou
1 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,570 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,370 reviews
12.6 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
12.6 mi away
Sol Falco by Melia -All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Milanos Pinguinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Milanos Pinguinos

Address: Playa de Son Bou, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Menorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Price Range: £50 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Milanos Pinguinos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 592
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents SOL MILANOS PINGUINOS, resort located on one of the most famous and longest beaches in Minorca Son Bou Beach. Rooms with stunning views of Son Bou Beach. Ideal for vacations with your family full activity programme, parties, shows, musicals and live music. For Children: Katmandu Adventures Clubs. One lagoon-style pool and the other a sports pool. Enjoy our magnificent international theme buffet and local specialties. Enjoy Holidays with your Family!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Melia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Milanos Pinguinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Milanos Pinguinos Hotel Son Bou
Sol Melia Son Bou
Son Bou Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing