We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like the curate's egg..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Milanos Pinguinos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like the curate's egg..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Whilst the location was superb, only 20 minutes from the airport and right on the beach, there were elements of the stay that were less than acceptable.

In 2014 we would have expected a shower that had the ability to distinguish between rocket burner hot and arctic frozen. Unfortunately most days were spent trying to establish a consistent temperature long enough to have a decent shower without it resulting in third degree burns or hypothermia.

The poolside entertainment was excellent with a very enthusiastic aqua aerobics teacher who motivated large numbers to participate in the exercise session.

Sea was wonderful; warm and shallow and perfectly clear, allowing for safe swimming and lilo entertainment.

The well kept rooms were maintained daily by cleaners who were eager to begin their work before 9.00am, reception were always helpful but no internet connection and lifts that stopped randomly at every floor! plus €17 charge for sun-beds coloured the stay.

Overall an enjoyable stay though modern 21 century plumbing systems rather than Prehistoric water management controls would have improved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor to avoid dated plumbing problems? Ask for a "double" room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjs_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear cjs_7,

We appreciate a lot that you used part of your precious time to share your experience in Sol Milanos Pingüinos with the rest of users of Tripadvisor. We are always grateful to our guests for giving their feedback to us, since it can help us to improve our service.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our strategic location, in the stunning beach of Son Bou. However, we regret to read that you experienced some maintenance issues in your room. We always aim to offer a high level of service to all our guests and we are sorry for the occurred inconveniences.

If your plans bring you back to Menora, it will be a pleasure to welcome you back in sol Milanos Pingüinos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    833
    460
    153
    86
See reviews for
1,134
489
84
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent a week here, as a family of 5 sharing 2 twin rooms. We booked it last minute & I was a bit apprehensive about the size of the hotel as normally I don't like large hotels. I was pleasantly surprised though, the hotel has a fantastic location next to Son Bou beach. The rooms were clean & comfortable, & the food was tasty and varied. We only ate in the restaurant, as the snack bar food looked less appealing. The entertainment was fantastic - the team of enthusiastic, energetic entertainers put on a good range of activities for adults & kids. We didn't want to come home at the end of our stay!

Room Tip: The hotel has 11 floors, ask for a lower floor if you are nervous about young children on the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeeBee147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear FeeBee147

thank you for the time taken yo leave your post in regards your experience in Sol Milanos Pingüinos.

We are pleased to that you had such a good experience in the hotel and it is always great to hear that our guests have fully embraced the facilities which we offer, which it certainly sounds like you have!

We look forward to welcoming you back in Sol Milanos Pingüinos.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Returned from here on 11/08/2014 with my wife and two children, will give a fair and honest review.

We arrived from Bristol, 1st glance the hotel was very nice.

Arrived in reception, seemed to take ages to check in despite there being 3 people on, was only basic english spoken by most of reception staff we encountered. Taking so long we also missed breakfast.

Our room was on the third floor, we had a lovely sea view. The room was very basic, there were no tea/coffee facilities either. There was certainly no flintsone theme either although some of the furniture may well have come from this era. They put a bed bar on the top bunk although not sure why anyone would put a 3yr old on top bunk.

The food was pretty good, generally plenty of meat, fish and potato choices although very little in the way of vegetables, plenty of salads though. Despite what websites say we never saw any of the 'themed nights" either.

The snack bar during the day is a very good feature and certainly isn't something you find very often. The pool bar wasn't open at any time during our stay either. The all inclusive isn't quite "all" either if you like a variety of cocktails on your holiday then unless you want to pay for them then this isn't for you.

The pools were very nice and clean but as the week went on they didn't seemed to get cleaned and after our 6days there they became very dirty and we didnt bother using them. You need to get up nice and early to reserve sun beds and another thing it seems lots of the locals seem to come in and help them selves to the facilities. There was lots of pool aerobics and water polo and water bikes each day.

We chose this hotel as it seemed very good for children with all ages catered for. Our children are 11 and 3. We put our eldest in kids club at a cost of €10.50, he lasted just over an hour, everything was done in Spanish and when it came to offering drinks again this was done in Spanish and it felt like English children weren't wanted there, other English families echoed these thoughts aswel. The club for younger children was free between 10-13:00, a maximum of 20 children with 2 members off staff which surely that ratio is illegal ?? There's an outside terrace to the nursery (which happens to be on the 1st floor) the fence around is about 3ft high and should the 2 members of staff become distracted children could easily climb over and fall.

The facilities for children outside weren't much better either, the tour operators show you pictures of big inflatable slides, shooting, super jumpers and climbing we're non-existent the slide was out Tuesday, my eldest had 1 go and go moaned at as he wasn't "allowed" on it.

Most of the staff were very friendly but again very little english was spoken. The entertainment was ok but would of been much better had the staff sung instead of miming every song.

No wifi unless you want to pay extortionate prices.

The location is very good, the resort is quiet enough but has enough to keep you busy most evenings should you want to go out of the hotel.

All said and done we had a nice holiday and enjoyed our break, would recommend should you want a nice quiet holiday but should you have kids then maybe look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Matthew C

first of all, thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay in our Hotel.

We are really sorry to read that your experience in Sol Milanos Pingüinos was not always to your expectations and satisfaction. We simply want to be perfect for all of our guests and very keen when guests leave the hotel with warm memories and in your case we failed to achieve this.

Rest assured that we take always the comments of our guest as an opportunity to improve our services.

We truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in Sol Milanos Pingüinos if you decide to visit back Menorca.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This was the third time that we have visited the hotel. Each time has been fantastic. The staff have always been helpful and friendly. The activities staff in particular are amazing and make the hotel a wonderful place to holiday. We have three children who all enjoyed the kids clubs. I would point out that the is a fee for the kids club in the afternoon but it's free in the morning and in the afternoons the children normally make something to take away...printing tee shirts...kite making etc. The food was good there is always a wide range and some variety across our stay. We will return and know we will have a great holiday.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Suart J,

Thank you for posting such a nice review about your stay in our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are really pleased to read that your third time with us has been as fantastic as the two previous ones but also that you enjoyed all the facilities that we offer, such our kids club, buffet and our most precious value, our staff.
We will be delight to welcome youand your family back in Sol Milanos Pingüinos as many times as you wish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

1 There are NO coffee/tea making facilities in your room, even though the web site shows pictures of these items, you have to rent a (very dusty old kettle) More costs.
2 The pool bar, the sports bar, and the piano bar were not open in August 2014, only open in the high season. Not sure when this is but it is NOT August.
3 WiFi internet connection is only available in the receptions at a additional cost. Any internet connection is not available ANYWHERE in Pingüinos building, therefore cannot be accessed in your room.
4 No facilities on the beach so payment of €17 per day for a sun bed on the beach.
5 The food arrears are vast, but they would be better off have less selection and what is served is served HOT. All the "hot" foods was cold or at best luke warm.
6 The entertainment was OK for kids, nothing for adults, not sure what they were showing was even legal.
7 The entertainment (above) for the kids was too late, starting at 22:00 until 23:00.
8 There were beach beds by the pool, but unless you "secured" your bed with your towel pre 08:00 then you were around the pool with a small child with no umbrella shade. 300 beach beds 30 umbrellas !! (I gave up complaining to the staff about the towels being put on the beds.
9 IF you purchased drinks after the 23:00 cut off then they were VERY expensive.

The hotel overall is about a ONE star at best, and this would be half for the dining staff who were HELPFULL, and half for the kids entertainment for the over fives.

Room Tip: not an option I was able to use, even though I had requested two suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ruthinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Ruthinlondon,

thank you for the time taken to share your comments in Tripadvisor.

We are deeply sorry to read that your stay with us didnt meet your expectations. However we would like to kindly discuss some of the points you highlighted. The tea/coffee facilities are available in the Son Bou Beach view room, that are our superior rooms and is the picture of this type of room that shows and describes these facilities. Moreover the entertainment of the children takes place from 10-1pm, then from 3-5pm and in the evening we count with a daily mini-disco that starts at 8.40pm. About the facilities on the beach, even if we are located in the stunning beach of Son Bou, the beach is a public beach so the space of the sunbeds are depending on the Public Governement and unfortunately the Hotel is not able to manage them.

We would like to thank you again for your review and rest assured that all the points have been shared with the rest of Departments Manager, as we will take into consideration for our future improvement plans the comments and suggestions of our guests.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Son Bou hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I took my two year old here for her first holiday, located on the beach and surrounded by the flintstones characters and decor it was a dream.
Hotel was rated 3 stars however it's very under rated.
Immaculate hotel gorgeous mannered staff and maids regularly clean.
The only downside was the limited shops and very windy weather but that is nothing to do with the holiday and apparently unlike the usual weather for Son Bou.

Room Tip: Sea view high floor as it has four lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Jo-Jo M,

Many thanks for leaving such a wonderful review of your recent stay at Sol Milanos Pingüinos.

We are glad to see that you appreciated our practical location and to read that the Room Experience have met your expectations.
Moreover, we are pleased to know that you really appreciated the service providen by our Staff.
It is a real honour for us being the first hotel choosen for first holidays of your daughter and we really hope having a new opportunity to welcome you back in Sol Milanos Pingüinos.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

this hotel well located in the beautiful beach of Son Bou has to offer plenty of entertainment for families with children.
Too many people in the hotel!. the Hotel is served by two huge towers with 11 floors, beautiful view from our room located on the 7th floor.
The catering service is poor, lots of choice but more than half of the dishes are bad, I've been in other chains Hotels like NH Hotels - Ibiza - 3 Stars, which I could provide better service for the same price.
Competent employees ,but we are in Spain and this is what we expect.
Some occasional failures to register. In one week stay they failed to clean the room once.
The entertainment at night in the hotel is up to the team entertainers and is acceptable at least children enjoy them.
I rented a car for 4 days and had the opportunity to visit the island, beautiful beaches to discover!
after knowing the Island I do not know if I would stay here, maybe yes maybe no, if yes tried to avoid this hotel, too much noise, too many people!
I Traveled in August but if you decide to come to visit Menorca do it in June is much quieter!

Room Tip: depende do gosto de cada um! Andares altos e com vista lateral, tem vista Mar e são para mim os melh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noelia_Castillo, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Milanos Pinguinos, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Filipe P,

First of all, thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to read your comments about our staff and about our entertainment, but we are sorry to read that not everything was to your satisfaction and our buffet didn´t exceed your expectations.
We invite you to visit our web melia. com to discover all the options we have to offer you.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Bou
6.7 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
10.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Milanos Pinguinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Milanos Pinguinos

Property: Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Address: Playa de Son Bou, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Minorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Milanos Pinguinos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 592
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Melia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sol Milanos Pinguinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Milanos Pinguinos Hotel Son Bou
Sol Melia Son Bou
Son Bou Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing