We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas Mar Blau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villas Mar Blau
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Certificate of Excellence
Milan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I spent one week here at the end of August with my husband and baby and we were very satisfied. The villa we were given was incredibly big, the furniture quite modern, and the kitchen had everything we needed. We simply loved the big garden surrounding the villa, and the swimming pool is lovely. The cleanness is good and the staff friendly. There is free wi-fi but only near the reception, which was a bit of nuisance as we had to walk there every time just to browse the Web. We did not try the bar near the pool but the view is definitely beautiful from there, especially at sunset. Driving to the beach (which is WONDERFUL) only takes a few minutes, you can also rent a bike from Mar Blau but the rates are very high. There are a couple of supermarkets nearby but they are said to be quite expensive, so we went to Mercadona near Mao, as it is very big and cheap. All in all, I would definitely recommend the Mar Blau villas to anyone wishing to stay in Son Bou.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manu1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    42
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
59
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rainford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

What a lovely place. Lovely clean apartments in beautifully maintained grounds.
The apartments are bright and airy, not massive, but perfectly adequate. Outside each is a garden with sun loungers.
The pool area has beautiful views, and is never overcrowded. Most people we spoke to had been returning for years. I had worried that our kids of 12 and 9 would be bored with the lack of activities. But they made Spanish, German and English friends on the first day, and it was difficult to drag them away!
It's a pleasant 20 minute walk to the resort centre and main beach, but we found the beach very crowded. So we walked 20 minutes down a nearby footpath, through beautiful countryside to Atalis beach. You can also continue on the coastal path to Santo Thomas.
I think it's safe to say we will be returning to Mar Blau again.

Room Tip: You could request a room on the upper level, as these have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for two weeks, an extended family team of ten people divided in three apartments.
Very nice and adequately wide rooms with sea view, brand new furniture, with periodic , accurate and frequent room cleaning.Well equipped kitchenette.
Quiet place, kind management, swimming pool with basic bar service.Wifi not working sometimes and with limited range from reception.Wide parking area,free,just outside.
Location is 15 min walk to the little center of the village, with several choices of restaurants and shops.
Son bou beach is reacheable in 20 min walk.Additional hiking opportunities on dedicated tracks nearby, you can also rent bikes and explore the surroundings.
Closest market for food is in 5 min walking distance.
Overall not very cheap, but money is well spent.I wuold recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Markbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Mar Blau apartments are lovely in a peaceful location approximately 20 minutes amble from the restaurants and bars of Son Bou. They are beautifully clean, air conditioned and well furnished with a great shower, free Wi-Fi, well equipped kitchen and a little area behind to hang out washing and dry towels etc. The apartments are all single story with a roomy patio with table and chairs and two sun loungers, which can be shaded by an awning if preferred. The gardens are beautiful and there is a lovely pool area with plenty of comfy sun beds and a pool bar serving drinks, ice cream and reasonably priced, tasty food from noon until late evening. There is a bus stop right outside with regular buses to Mahon and also a little tourist train stops here and calls at the beach and the town centre. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Mar Blau is a really lovely place to spend a self catering, and peaceful holiday in Menorca.
The single storey, one bedroom, modern 'villas' are set in beautiful and well maintained gardens. We have had many happy holidays at Mar Blau over the years, but it was especially nice this year as the apartments have all been refurbished and have brand new kitchens, bathrooms, beds and white furniture inside. New sofa bed in the lounge and nice bed linen too. There is a wall mounted flat screen TV with BBC1 and 2. There are two sun loungers and a table and chairs provided for the terrace area. There is air conditioning, and a small outside private area with a sink and washing line. Free wi-fi everywhere.

The apartments on the higher level either overlook the pool or the gardens, where there is a small play area for children at one end too, and all have a sea view. The apartments on the lower level don't have a sea view, but they do have the benefit of a nice private garden area. The sunsets from the terrace on the upper level are spectacular.

The swimming pool, just like the gardens, is very well maintained and it is possible to either swim properly or to enjoy the safe area in the shallow end if you have young children. There are plenty of loungers to go around.

There is also a very good snack bar, where Juan provides nicely presented drinks and freshly cooked meals to order.

It is probably a good idea to hire a car to get about, as it is a 20 minute walk to the shops, restaurants, bars and the beach at Son Bou. However, I enjoyed the walk and the bus to Mahon stops right outside the complex and calls at the beach too, but of course you have to consider the timetables and the cost of fares etc. We have used Poppy Cars for car hire in the past and I would recommend them for their efficient, professional and friendly service.

The Manager and staff at Mar Blau reception are extremely helpful and friendly. It is a beautiful tranquil spot and I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: All apartments face south. The ones on the higher levels have better views, but the ones on the low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Menorcafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Just returned from a short break at Mar Blau. I have stayed here a few times over the past ten years and it still lives up to a great experience. The apartments have had a refurb during the winter, so all very modern, new kitchens, microwave wardrobes and tv with bbc 1 and 2. The pool area and gardens are always perfectly spotless, clean and tidy. There is a pool side bar open from noon u til late serving drinks, snack and hot food. Very reasonably priced too. The apartments are located about a fifteen minute walk to the centre of son bou and a further five minutes to the beach. At this time of year everything was fairly quiet with many restaurants closed. It's was a little disappointing however I'm sure they will open more when the main season picks up, all in all a beautiful set of apartments, very quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Pool view is handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emaliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Staffs.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed here a couple of years ago when we found it advertised last minute as a cheap holiday. Have wanted to go back but the prices have always been 3 times as much so have opted to go elsewhere unfortunatley.It was quite and very well kept. The apartments were nice and very clean. Pool area was spotless and had a nice little bar that also supplied basic snacks and meals. There was new apartments being built in front of ours, across the road, at the time so that's probably why it was being offered cheaper. Would definatley go back again if it comes up a little cheaper again. Would probably downgrade our value mark to 4 stars if we had to pay full price for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frostbite3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Bou
1.8 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
1,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,380 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
6.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Mar Blau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Mar Blau

Property: Villas Mar Blau
Address: C/ Los Delfines s/n, Torre Soli Nou, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Mar Blau 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas Mar Blau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Mar Blau Hotel Son Bou
Hotel Mar Blau
Resort Mar Blau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing