We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family hotel for kids!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Son Bou Family Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Son Bou Family Club
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great family hotel for kids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I went to the Royal Son Bou Family Club hotel in Aug 2013 with my 3 kids, 8 years, 6 years & 2 years. My 2 girls (8 years & 6 years) loved it. They went to Kikoland everyday, loved watching the shows every night and really did enjoy themselves

The staff at Kikoland where fantastic and all very friendly and made all the kids comfortable from the start.

The apartment didn't have any locks which my toddler really enjoyed...opening the front door and going into all the rooms whenever he wanted, which wasn't very amusing for us...especially when we were using the bathroom.

The only thing that I would say that wasn't up to standard on this trip was that there wasn't any english tv channels for kids...i.e. cbeebies...My kids had to watch disney channel in spanish or BBC2 or sky news which wasn't appropriate for kids.
I am aware they only have a licence for 4 english channels, but they definitely need to change 1 of them to a kids channel.

The rooms were cleaned well and the pool was lovely. The beach was very close too which was handy.

Apart from that, we did enjoy ourselves...my girls would love to go back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cowie2688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. It is a pleasure you to value so good our Kikoland services and team and the apartment and it cleanliness.

According to your comment on this survey about the English channels, we inform you that we do not have more English channels, because we cannot. It is not a limit of us, it is a limit of the satellite signal from UK. This satellite signal, which provides the English channels to the rest of the world, has some limits to reach all the European countries. Unfortunately, we are between these countries. That is the reason why we cannot offer you more English channels.

Sorry about the inconvenience this may caused you during your holidays. We kindly ask for your understanding.

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    284
    51
    8
    3
See reviews for
946
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed for one week in August. Can't fault the hotel for cleanliness as rooms were spotless,best we have stayed in. Food was good. Pool lovely, with plenty of sunbeds and easy access to lovely sandy beach. Good location and not too 'touristy'. Only negative would be not catering for older kids much, mine are 10 and 12 and were a little bored but great if you have younger kids. Overall a great family hotel although a little quiet for those looking for an action packed noisy holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon1g1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you for valuing so good our cleanliness, food, pool and location.

We do take note of your comment about the activities for 10-12 years old children. With your suggestion help us to improve our services. Thank you so much! :-)

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a great 16 night stay at royal son bou with 2 children 8 & 10. No where ever felt busy or crowded here and you cld get a sun bed anytime of day which made for a relaxing time. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Activities for adults and children were available all day if you wanted to join in. We stayed half board and found prices locally very reasonable and 2 supermarkets across the road were very handy. Food was good but after a couple of weeks becomes a bit repetitive but wld expect this at most places. The staff are a credit to this hotel from restaurant staff, bar staff and kikoland team all made us feel very welcome and were always professional and polite. Our children had the best holiday and described kikoland as the best kids club they had ever experienced, the came and go as they pleased and took part in so many different activities, they really didn't want to come home. This resort caters for many nationalities and does a great job in including all. Thank you RSB for a great holiday, please pass our thanks to Christina, Ricardo and all in kikoland, we wld love to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.


We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you for valuing us so good!

We would like also to thank you for your compliment about our staff! They will be very happy to know about your review. We personally pass your thanks to Christina and Ricardo. That is so nice...! Thank you! :-)

PS: We really apologize for the delay. We don't know why, but we hadn't seen your review. We kindly ask for your understanding! :-)

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just arrived back today from this hotel and we all absolutely loved it!! We went for 10 nights with our two young boys aged 3 and 7 and we found it to be a great place for kids and adults. Lots of activities to do for both the kids and also adults with water polo, water aerobics etc going on each day. Our kids loved the kids entertainers from Kikoland but we never left them there which is an option (only because we were doing things together) Jose and his brilliant team who work at Kikoland really are great and then work really hard all day long to entertain the kids and then start all over again in the evening to put on shows for the kids. Food was great (we were all inclusive), pool is amazing plus the small childrens pool which my 3 year old loved. You can always get a sun lounger even though it was high season. View from our apartment was great, sea view across the beach and even though we were in one of the unmodernised apartments which are a little bit dated we found the apartment had everything we needed and that it was nice and quiet.

We didnt do much out and about travelling (apart from the Aqua Park across the other side of the island) as the kids loved the pools and beaches.

This was our first Summer abroad holiday abroad with the kids and we were really happy that we did pay a bit extra and go for this hotel. I saw the reviews on this website and knew it was the only one for us.

Room Tip: The entertainment area backs on to the pool so if you arent going to stay and watch (if you have bab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceecee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. We are loving your "We absolutely loved it"! ;-)

It is great you and also your children enjoyed our animation activities. Thank you for valuing so good our animation team. They will be very happy to know about your review.

We are very happy to know you and your family found "great" our foood and AI services. It also very nice you liked your apartment and its views.

Kiko, Cuqui & Hooky send a big hug to your kids!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

The cleanest rooms you could ever wish for. Fantastic food, great selection. And the staff are so hard working it is unreal - particularly the entertainments team. Close to the beach - the best place in Menorca by a long shot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you for valuing so good our cleanness and the food variaty.

We would like also to thank you for your compliment about our staff! They will be very happy to know about your review.


We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just returned from a week in Royal Family Son Bou, had a brilliant week. We went with our daughter (12yrs) son (7yrs) and our twin boys 8 months old. This hotel had everything we could have wished for. All the children were entertained and kept happy, the pool was large with two shallow parts. Never struggled to get sunbeds plenty to go around. Twins had a play in Kikoland baby section every day, the staff were amazing with them. Our son also enjoyed Kikoland and took part in something every day. Our daughter made friends and spent most of her day in the swimming pool or playing pool in the games area.
We requested a ground floor apartment which we got (thank you), apartment was lovely we had a one bed with two Travel cots and two high chairs and still had enough room. There was a small kitchen area with a kettle and microwave so I managed to do all the bottle sterilising.
The restaurant was lovely we ate most meals in the main restaurant which was never overcrowded.
Overall we had a brilliant holiday and could not fault anything at the hotel it had everything you could want for a family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roxybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel.

It is great to know all your children had fun with us and found always something interesting to do! :-) We are also very happy that your request was filled and you liked so much the apartment.

Thank you for your support!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Arrived on 19th- worried we had missed dinner but main buffet restaurant was open till 10pm... No idea why some moan at the food being repetitive as it was fab! Plenty of dishes to choose from every night. Rooms were basic- double bed needed rather than 2 singles pushed together-this is my only moan. Beach location was great- a safe walk thru tiny tunnel and path to the most beautiful beach, turquoise sea greets you... Waters are so clear and warm. Looks as good as cancun!! Main pool was great size , have to edge in slowly and get used to temperature as not heated but once your body adjusts its fine. Plenty of loungers free as others have said. The infant pool by Kikoland is great, waters warmer and the pirate ship is a fave and my 3 yr old loved it... He turned into a right water baby and even my 8 yr old was happy to play in it . Everything's very clean and staff are attentive... Only had to sit in the lounge/outside seating under the sails for few seconds and bar staff would ask what you would like to drink. We stayed all
inclusive and it was worth it. Drinks option was good with regards to spirits - cocktails etc... Try the "son bou"cocktail as it was my favourite. Games room has few things in to keep the kids entertained- and my two spent the evenings in there and playing around the area with other kids and watching the shows. We booked via travel republic and so found there wasn't any option for day trips to take . No rep like we've had on other holidays. Outside the hotel u can hear "choo choo" and its a Thomas the tank lookalike train vehicle that goes around son bou every 45mimutes and 10am-11pm I think... We did this on the last day and was nice 30 min ride around. Kids love it. Was 6euros each. We had an app with view of the beach A-12-12 with little view of the beach and the hotel sol milanos pinguinos was directly opposite and glad never picked it as its very hi rise and not ideal for little kids with rooms with balconies. Our overall stay here will be remembered fondly and we would defo visit again in a few years . Thank you all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titaniu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefania A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you for valuing so good all of our services.

It is great your kids enjoyed our new pirate ship and you liked so much our Son Bou cocktail! :-)

We would like to thank you also for the beautiful pictures.

Kiko, Cuqui & Hooky send a big hug to your kids!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Bou
6.8 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
13.5 mi away
Viva Menorca
Viva Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Son Bou Family Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Son Bou Family Club

Property: Royal Son Bou Family Club
Address: Playa Son Bou s/n, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Son Bou Family Club 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Royal Son Bou Family Club is a family hotel which makes you aware of the environment and children's protection. The hotel is situated just 100 m away from the fantastic Son Bou beach (Minorca, Spain). Mascots play with the kids at Club Kikoland (from 0 years), while the parents relax and enjoy an unforgettable family holiday. The Club Kikoland is undoubtedly the heart of the hotel, a paradise full of joy for the little guests: the children. Babyclub (0 - 2 years), Miniclub (3-4 years), Maxiclub (5-6 years), Kidsclub (7 - 9 years), Juniorclub (10 - 12 years) and Teenyclub (13 - 16 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Son Bou Family Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Son Bou Family Club Hotel Son Bou
Royal Son Bou Alaior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing