We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“still got it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Son Bou Family Club
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“still got it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just a quickie to review our 3rd visit to Royal Son Bou Family Club. It's all still good. Many of the staff are the same people we met on our first visit 3 years ago and provided us with the same excellent service as always. Put simply, this is an excellent place to visit if you have children. See my previous reviews of this hotel for more specific details - they are all still relevant. Enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craiglatham71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting again our hotel during your holidays. Already your third time! Wooow...! :-)

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you so much for writing everytime about us! We are very proud of you!

All the staff will be really happy to know about your nice review!

A big hug for the whole family :-)

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    285
    51
    8
    3
See reviews for
949
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lovendegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Ok, if you don't like children playing, just stay away.
This hotel aims on the kids wich they do perfectly: very nice pool for the kids with big pirat ship in it... Wonderfull restaurant with care for children... Lovely multilangual animation... A lot (and i really mean a LOT) of toys and playgrounds... Even goats, rabbits, chickens and horses (with free horse back riding).
Our son (2,5 years) was thrilled.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The adult pool was great (a little cold in the month of may). The food was varianted and warm (mostly not the case in suchs hotels)

What we specially liked, was the friendliness of the staff. Really everyone was nice to the customer and had special care for the kids.

We will come back!

If we have to mention one negative point: there is nothing to do outside the hotel, but yet why would you leave the hotel :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phi-ke22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Regarding the beginning of your review, we had to say "that's it: If you don't like the kids... ;-)

We would like also to thank you for valuing so good our intallations, pools, apartments and food. It's great your little boy enjoyed at Club Kikoland and participated in our activities and excursions.

Our staff will be very happy to know about your review! Thank you so much! :-)

Kiko, Cuqui & Hooky send a big hug for your little boy!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from our holiday in Royal Son Bou (end of May). Overall it was a great holiday. Our 3 year old had so much fun! The Kikoland and the animation team are brilliant. There is so much for children to do - daily activities, bouncy castle, baking, pony ride, climbing, etc., too much to mention everything. A child would never get bored there. Free ice creams in Kikoland are a bonus.

The beach is very near, about 5-7 min walk, very clean and the water is very clean. It was a bit cold for swimming though. We did feel that it would be great for the hotel to reserve an area with sunbeds for the hotel guests as you have to hire sunbeds there for about 11 euros per day.

The pool was nice and clean but again it was too cold for swimming. Only very brave swimmers were using it. Although it said the children's pool was heated it was still too cold for my daughter. I did not really feel it was heated but maybe it gets heated further into the season.

The food, I must say, was average. There are two buffet restaurants, one seems to be better for breakfast while the other one is better for dinner. La Basilica, the restaurant with the sea view, seemed to have better choice for dinner although we still felt there could have been more variety. There is a lot of fish on offer but chicken, for example, was there only once out of 7 nights we stayed. Sometimes there were undercooked or weird things but generally we did find something to eat every night. We stayed on half board which is more than enough food but for some reason the drinks (even water) were not included with our dinner so we had to buy them. I personally think that if dinner is included it should include drinks that come with dinner, at least soft drinks. There was always a good choice of ice creams and puddings. Fresh bread was also on offer every night. The staff at the restaurants were quite friendly. The pasta cooking seemed popular but there was always a long queue for it.

Another thing that could be introduced is room service. It would be nice to be able to order snacks or drinks to be delivered into the rooms. There are no snacks apart from ice cream for sale in the bar either so for those on half board there is nothing to buy at the hotel. There are a few nice places around though where you can get a lunch, we tried a few of them and they were mostly good. The area was generally very quiet, with not many people going out to eat. It probably gets very crowded in the summer. There are a few little shops around as well, some a quite nice, most selling beach things and souvenirs. The supermarket is just outside the hotel where you can buy food, snacks, drinks etc.

We had the biggest (and the best) apartment which was a 2 bedroom apartment. Generally it was good, it was useful to have our little one sleeping in a separate room. We did expect more comfortable bed, as although it was very big it was very hard and felt like it was going to fall apart. The pillows were also very hard and although we requested softer pillows they were just the same. It would be a great improvement to provide more comfortable bedding. The rooms were nice and clean (cleaned daily apart from the washing up). The wi if worked in the lounge area but not in the bedroom. The beach towels provided were a bit thin and small so we used our own. The sea view was not direct, we were looking over the other apartment buildings but you could hear the sea in the evening from the balcony which was nice.

The biggest disappointment of the holiday was that the air conditioning in our room did not work. It was just about ok with the window open but still we did not get comfortable sleep as we were hot. We informed the reception at least twice of the problem but it never got sorted out. The layout of the apartment was not great as there was only a small window in the bedroom which was overlooking the stairs, which meant that if you have the curtains open people walking on the stairs can see into the room. It was ok though as we did not spend that much time in the room anyway. It was also a bit noisy in the night with babies crying in other rooms (particularly noisy for us as we had the window open as the air con did not work!). I hope this gets sorted out for the next guests as the weather will be getting hotter and for an expensive apartment like this guests should expect to have a comfortable stay.

The kids show was very nice, our little one was looking forward to it every night. I must mention how talented the entertainers are, they are working very hard and they are a real asset to the hotel. If the owners could find the same dedicated people to run the restaurants and the other sides of the hotel management, I am sure it would easily get to 4 stars or maybe even 5.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank WooHooTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you so much for your "Fab holiday" :-) We would like also to thank you for valuing so good our intallations, pool, apartments and food.

According to your comment on this survey about the English channels, we inform you that we do not have more English channels, because we cannot. It is not a limit of us, it is a limit of the satellite signal from UK. This satellite signal, which provides the English channels to the rest of the world, has some limits to reach all the European countries. Unfortunately, we are between these countries. That is the reason why we cannot offer you more English channels.

We are very sorry about the inconvenience this may caused you during your holidays. We kindly ask for your understanding.


Our staff will be very happy to know about your review! Thank you so much! :-)

A big hug for the whole family!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

we have just returned from the royal son bou with our two daughters aged 5 and 3. we have all had a fantastic week we could not fault this hotel at all. the place is spotless with family facilities cleaned several times a day all staff are very good at there jobs lidia, melanie and ethen were very good with our children. the childrens entertainment was brilliant and all staff spoke very good English. the food was lovely and Allways fresh. we will definatly be back next year

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel.

Thank you for valuing so good our restaurant staff (Lidia, Melanie and Ethan). They will be very happy to know about your review!


Kiko, Cuqui & Hooky send a big hug to your little ladais! :-)

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Me and my husband and two children aged 2 and 5 came to this hotel for the first two weeks of the season and returned only 2 days ago.I have to say i cant think of any negatives at all - the rooms were spotless the poolside was spotless,and the food was varied & gorgeous,Had a wonderful time.
The Animation team take great care & attention to the kids,always keeping them busy with games & activities in Kikoland.
Hoping to return again next year

Rachel & Paul

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you for the great review!

We would like to thank you also for the pics you have loaded. They are so nice...! :-)

Thank you so much for your support!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Went here with my 3 children for 7 days untill 19th may, therefore at the beginning of the season for this resort.
Our apartment was very clean, all amenities provided and the maid who came daily was friendly.
The kids club staff were great. The waiters/waitresses pretty on the ball ensuing all tables clean and friendly. As for previous comments as to the food being repetitive...well if you wish to eat chips every day you can. We ate from the grill so every day was something different ranging from roasts, various seafood, fish and meats.
The pool was cleaned every day wuth the lifeguard always present.
We did not use many of the services as we were out a lot of the time however I the site looked like a choice was avaialable. Just note if you go during the quiet time a few things will be closed. Note to the sort if needs to be made clear that an excursion to trogoland wasmt available-somethingy children were looking forward to.
Overall Hopefully another visit next year, recommend the quiter season as even when we came back it was on the busy side

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Felicity W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. It is great to know you value so good your apartment (cleaness, amenities and cleaning woman), the food variety and the pool.

We are very thankful for valuing our staff so good. They will be very happy to know about your review.


We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from a week in May at this hotel. We have children aged 4 and 2 who had everything they could ever want from a holiday here. Great entertainment and kid's club (including a kiosk where they can get a free ice lolly) and really friendly staff who always say hello and try and make the kids laugh. Kids pool is brilliant because it's solar heated, had artificial grass at the edge and is shallow throughout.

Food is fine. It's not Michelin-Starred but it's varied enough for a week or two and we always looked forward to it. The rooms are comfortable and (like the resort in general) incredibly clean. Housekeeping work really hard!

Less for adults to do, but with young children in tow that wasn't an issue for us at all. at the end of the day, there is a nice bar, decent beach and plenty of sun loungers! Lots of cheap hire car places nearby too.

If you don't like or have kids, then I wouldn't stay here! because we do, I think we'll go back next year.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. It's great you have a brilliant value about us: great entertainment, brilliant children's pool, food variety, comfortable apartment, cleaness and really friendly staff. We are very thankful for valuing our staff so good. They will be very happy to know about your review.

We take note a of your comment about the adult's entertainiment programe. Thank you for helping us to improve!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,

Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Bou
6.8 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
2.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
13.5 mi away
Viva Menorca
Viva Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Son Bou Family Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Son Bou Family Club

Property: Royal Son Bou Family Club
Address: Playa Son Bou s/n, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Son Bou Family Club 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Royal Son Bou Family Club is a family hotel which makes you aware of the environment and children's protection. The hotel is situated just 100 m away from the fantastic Son Bou beach (Minorca, Spain). Mascots play with the kids at Club Kikoland (from 0 years), while the parents relax and enjoy an unforgettable family holiday. The Club Kikoland is undoubtedly the heart of the hotel, a paradise full of joy for the little guests: the children. Babyclub (0 - 2 years), Miniclub (3-4 years), Maxiclub (5-6 years), Kidsclub (7 - 9 years), Juniorclub (10 - 12 years) and Teenyclub (13 - 16 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Son Bou Family Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Son Bou Family Club Hotel Son Bou
Royal Son Bou Alaior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing