We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most successful family holiday yet. !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Son Bou Family Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Son Bou Family Club
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most successful family holiday yet. !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Came back 3 days ago from our most successful family holiday yet !
We have taken our little boy (age 5) abroad for the past 2 years to All Inclusive hotels on other Spanish Islands , and neither hotels were anywhere near as good.
We had a sea view room in a quiet location ( C1 -32) and never tired of looking out at the beautiful turquoise sea and golden sandy beach.The room was a little bit basic ( and very bright blue and yellow !!) and the beds were rather hard but everything was extremely clean, functional and in good working order. We didn't need to spend much time in it anyway so we were quite happy. We chose to put our son in the bedroom, and use the sofa beds (2x single) in the lounge/ diner for ourselves ....... So that we could stay up later on the balcony, use the bathroom, kitchen , etc without waking him........ Not ideal but again it was only for a week. Think a few families have done this. One concern was that there wasn't a lock on the door to the balcony in his room.
The food in the restaurants and quality of drinks, snacks and ice creams available were so much fresher, varied and plentiful than we had experienced before.
Staff were all very smiley, helpful and patient. None of this ' oh my god our job would be so much easier if these holidaymakers would leave us alone ' type attitude we've seen before !!
The hotel is SO child friendly ....from the brilliant childrens pool ( warm, fully enclosed, non slip surround, pirate ship with slides) , to the fun mirrors and lights outside the restaurant, the facilities at Kikoland ( bouncy castle, loads and loads of shade, park, play chalets) , child height servery in the restaurant with plastic plates and cutlery ......... The list goes on and on !!! Our little boy wasn't interested in going to any of the organised activities but was made very welcome into the play area and it was something else to do for a change from the pool or beach.
..... Unfortunately the hotel is SO child friendly that it is PACKED with little people ( cannot fault anyone for that !! ) so be prepared for lots of over-tired and noisy kiddiwinks EVERYWHERE !! But if you want to see your little ones having the time of their life , then I'm quite sure this hotel won't disappoint.
Hubby has just said to mention that he thought it was brilliant that they will give you big bottles of water at the bar to take to the beach, and the beach is ideal for children and only 2 mins away ! Xx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Heartily thank you for your beautiful complete description :-)

We are loving the beginning of your review: "Came back 3 days ago from our most successful family holiday yet ! We have taken our little boy (age 5) abroad for the past 2 years to All Inclusive hotels on other Spanish Islands , and neither hotels were anywhere near as good". Thank you so much!


Kiko, Cuqui & Hooky send a big hug for your little one!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    284
    51
    8
    3
See reviews for
946
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The royal son bou is one of the cleanest complexes I gave ever stayed in. The rooms have excellent facilities and the complex has everything you need for the perfect family holiday. Wonderful accessible beach , Kids club min disco and pools . The food is good quality and snacks always available . I would recommend this venue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Heartily thank you for your beautiful complete description :-)

We are loving the beginning of your review: "Came back 3 days ago from our most successful family holiday yet ! We have taken our little boy (age 5) abroad for the past 2 years to All Inclusive hotels on other Spanish Islands , and neither hotels were anywhere near as good". Thank you so much!


Kiko, Cuqui & Hooky send a big hug for your little one!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Just spent a week in June with my 5 yr old twins and 7 yr old. What a great place, totally geared for kids, wonderful mixture of nationalities, and a chance for me to have a break too! I even did water aerobics....
Animation team outstanding, and staff in general very customer focused. Accommodation more than adequate for us all, local beach is unspoilt and waters are so clear. We will definitely be going again. My children gave it a 10/10, and so did I.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annalisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you for your complete description.

Kiko, Cuqui & Hooky send a big hug for your little ones!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just got back from a week at Royal Son Bou. This was our third visit although the first for our twins who are one and a half. The biggest plus at this hotel is the staff, nothing is ever too much trouble. The baby club at Kikoland was brilliant for us, safe place for younger children play, staff are excellent with the children. Would like to say a really big thank you to Tere, Sara, Sandra and Swenja, especially for being so patient with our son who kept going in and out of the play area outside the restaurant. Our older daughter who is 4 also had an excellent time, she really enjoyed the evening entertainment.

The baby pool is excellent with fake grass around which makes it safe to run around on. I saw the pool being tested every day. The big pool is also excellent, it has a shallow area at one end, so suitable for whole family. Our little ones preferred the small one as it was warmer.

The hotel is very clean, we witnessed why on our last morning as we had an early flight lots of cleaning staff around. We were allowed into the restaurant at 6:30 when it does not open until 8am to allow us to eat before leaving. As I mentioned earlier nothing seems too much trouble. Thank you to our cleaner Marie, she did a great job on our apartment.

The restaurant serves large variety of dishes, at least one fish and meat dish cooked freshly in front of you, lots of other choices too including paella, pizza, stews, salads, pasta, cold meats, cheese, loads of fruit available. Small buffet area for children. All waiters / waitresses, chefs very friendly.

Bar staff excellent, good range included on the all inclusive, includes some named brands, Smirnoff,Bacardi. We drank red wine, which was very reasonable. Our daughter enjoyed the range of ice creams and lollies that were available.

Fab holiday, just hope we can afford to go back as will have to pay school holiday prices next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. We would like to thank you for your complete and beautiful descriptoin.

Our staff will be very happy to know about your opinion about them! Especially, Tere, Sara, Sandra, Swenja and your cleaning lady Maria. We are very proud! Thank you!

Heartily thank you for you " Nothing seens to mch trouble".

Kiko, Cuqui & Hooky send a big hug for your twins and your little princess!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Excellent from start to finish, from the reception staff to the restaurant staff, the complex is extremely clean and well kept, the large pool is excellent (although not heated), an early June visit was great as the weather was fantastic all week, but the resort was not packed right out. The Kikoland team are great fun and very efficient with their duty of care for children. A different entertainment programme per evening provides something for everyone. Any queries were always sorted at the reception desk with ease. The food is of a very good standrard with a wide range available at each meal time. We had a room with a sea view, away from the evening entertainment area so nice and peaceful. Beach is 100yds away, lovely and flat, calm and clean, excellent for swimming. Ive slept in comfier beds, but that's just preference. A few English establishments could learn some lessons from this place. Will return......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PilgrimFather2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a great review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank your for your fantastic valoration:cleanliness, pool, Kikoland, reception... :-)

We are also very thankful for valuing our staff so good. They will be very happy to know about your review.



We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just had our first family holiday abroad with our four year old son in the most fantastic place. I cannot praise the Royal Son Bou Family Club enough. On arrival we were upgraded to a fantastic apartment without even requesting it. Unfortunately our apartment was not yet ready as we had an early morning flight but it was no problem as the hotel treated us to drinks in the bar whilst we waited. The accommodation, the food and the facilities were all fantastic. I would recommend this place to anyone with children. You will have a great time. My son absolutely loved Kikoland and cannot stop telling everyone about it. The childrens shows in the evening are great and you cannot fault the enthusiasm of all the staff involved. We bought a dvd of the show in the hotel shop as we thought it would remind our son of his holidays - he asks to watch it every day and sings along to all the songs even though they are in different languages which is great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club. We would like also to apologize for the delay!

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your first holiday abroad at our hotel. We are loving your "Wonderful, magical place for children"! ;-)

It is great to know your arrival at the hotel was so good, even though you had to wait for the apartment.

We would like to thank you for vvery good value of your accommodation, our food and facilities and our Club Kikoland.

Heartily thank you for your recommendation!

Kiko, Cuqui & Hooky send a big hug to your son!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here 2 weeks ago with my daughter and 4 year old grandson. We chose the resort specifically because it is for children and in that respect were not disappointed. My grandson had a wonderful time in Kikoland, in the pool and on the beach. The staff were lovely and the food was good. The restaurant staff were very helpful in providing gluten free bread for me every morning at breakfast.
We booked direct and stayed half board in a 2 bed apartment which overlooked Kikoland and beyond to the sea. The apartment was spacious and well designed. However it was a bit dated and the beds were really hard. The design of the complex means that you get a fair bit of noise from the other apartments depending on your neighbours of course.
Our first problem was that we could not open the patio doors on to the balcony. I reported this to reception and maintenance staff came very quickly and changed the fitting which they said was old.
So off we went to the large swimming pool but made a swift exit as it was icy cold. we decided to use the childrens pool the next day as it is solar heated.
Wifi was advertised as available on the whole complex and was working well in our apartment until the 2nd day when it stopped working. I reported this to reception and was told it was probably the weather as we had had a storm overnight.
On the third day I asked reception again and was told they had a note of it.
The next day I spoke to the lady on the Customer Services desk who said she was aware of the problem. Later that evening a letter from management was pushed under our door to say that a technician would be coming the next morning to fix the antenna. Sure enough he arrived and the problem was fixed.
However the main complaint I have (which stops me giving this place a much higher rating was an incident on the third day- as follows.
It was raining slightly so as we came back from the beach we decided to use the childrens swimming pool as there was no one using it. My grandson was having a wonderful time having the place to himself when after about 5 or 10 minutes a man arrived with a net and started fishing things out of the pool - the things were faeces- someone had allowed their child in without a nappy ! The pool should have been closed in these circumstances but there was nothing to indicate there was a problem. My daughter immediately complained to Reception and I also mentioned it to the Customer Services lady (along with the wifi) and although both were apologetic neither seemed to grasp the health and safety implications. Management should put procedures in place to deal with incidents like this.
My final gripe is that on the fifth day we found our key cards did not work and we had to get them reset at reception.
All in all I think we were unlucky and most of the problems were minor but I cannot forget the swimming pool incident.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsymarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel although you had some inconveniences.

We are very thankful for valuing our food and our staff so good. They will be very happy to know about your review. It’s great to know you felt well attended in the restaurant with the gluten free bread. With this kind of services we try to make easier your stay. That’s why it is a pleasure to know you enjoyed that service.

We take note of your comments about the hard bed. Thank you for tell us your suggestion. In this why, you help us to improve.

We are very sorry about the inconvenience with the balcony door and apartment key. At the same time, we inform you the main pool water temperature is not so warm in that dates, because we are not in summer. As we know about it, our children’s pool is heated by solar energy.

Regarding the wifi difficulty, as you know, the antenna was broken by the storm. That is the reason why it took some days to receive the new one. As soon as we got it, we installed it in order you could use our wifi service as soon as possible.

According the children’s pool, would like to apologize for the inconvenience. You are really right when you say we should have indicated it, but the pool was cleaned as soon as we were informed. Then, the water was tested and the results are in order. Everything was under control. That is why we think we took the necessary actions.

We are very sorry about the inconveniences everything may cause you during those days.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Bou
6.8 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
2.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
13.5 mi away
Viva Menorca
Viva Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Son Bou Family Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Son Bou Family Club

Property: Royal Son Bou Family Club
Address: Playa Son Bou s/n, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Son Bou Family Club 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Royal Son Bou Family Club is a family hotel which makes you aware of the environment and children's protection. The hotel is situated just 100 m away from the fantastic Son Bou beach (Minorca, Spain). Mascots play with the kids at Club Kikoland (from 0 years), while the parents relax and enjoy an unforgettable family holiday. The Club Kikoland is undoubtedly the heart of the hotel, a paradise full of joy for the little guests: the children. Babyclub (0 - 2 years), Miniclub (3-4 years), Maxiclub (5-6 years), Kidsclub (7 - 9 years), Juniorclub (10 - 12 years) and Teenyclub (13 - 16 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Son Bou Family Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Son Bou Family Club Hotel Son Bou
Royal Son Bou Alaior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing