We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic holiday experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Son Bou Family Club
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another fantastic holiday experience!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just returned from our second trip to The Royal Son Bou. We decided to return there after such a wonderful time there last year. This year's experience was just as good...if not better. Thanks to all of the hardworking and dedicated staff who make the whole holiday experience here, so fantastic! Would highly recommend this hotel to any family with young children.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shinpad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed again your holiday at our hotel. It's great to know you was with us for second time. Thank you for your support!

In name of all our Family People (our staff): HEARTILY THANK YOU! They will be very happy to know about your review.

We hope to see you and your family for third time,

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    286
    53
    8
    3
See reviews for
966
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Have just returned from an amazing family holiday at the Royal Son Bou. Apartment was spotless and a real bonus overlooking the pool and the sea. The staff were always available if you needed to ask anything from bus timetables to information of a nearby town. The food was outstanding and having been on various European holidays we have never experienced such amazing choice and extremely high standard of food. All members of staff were friendly and helpful which all contributed towards a brilliant holiday.The pool area was clean and always plenty of sunbeds available and the 5 min away from the beach was perfect. Thank-you to all the staff and well done to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. We are really happy to know you found your apartment beautiful and spotless. Thank you for valuing our food as outstanding and with amazing choice. It's very important for us!

In name of all our Family People (our staff): HEARTILY THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT! :-)

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyde,cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Have just spent 10 amazing days with myself husband and 3 children; 17,10 and 8. Food was unbelievable, spoilt for choice. Apartments and whole complex was spotless, everywhere you looked someone was cleaning! Cannot express how friendly and helpful every member of staff was from bar staff to catering persons but have to especially mention Jose on the entertainment team. His attitude to everyone from children to adults was fantastic and he certainly added to our fantastic holiday. We were talking to guest that have been returning for 10 years plus and we certainly know why. We will most definitely be returning. Well done and many thanks!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angie67Hyde_cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. We love your sweet review! Sincerely, it has touched our heart. Thank you in name of all the staff. Especially, of Jose.

Thank you so much for your support!

We send you a big hug for your whole family :-)

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have just returned from our first trip abroad with the two kids 9 - 5.. Kids Club was great and the 5 year old loved it being able to join in all the dancing at night and she loved the little parade even if we missed some of our food!! The food is of a good standard but after a week I think it got a bit samey.
The pool is just about the right size for the amount of kids that are there.
One thing I would like to see is in the restaurant is a place to get new knifes and forks so you are not using the same ones for the same meal..
The all inclusive option was great for the kids to go and get ice creams and drinks.
I would give the hotel a 4 star rating and all in all we had a great time..

THANKS

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you for valuing so good our children facilities and activities. It's great to know your daughter loved our Majorette & Music Parade.

Regarding your comment about the knifes and forks, we inform your that at the breakfast you have knifes and spoons near the fruit. Another option could have been to order the waitress new ones. It had been no problem! :-) However, we take note of your comment. Thank you for the suggestion!

Kiko, Cuqui and Hooky send a big hug to your little ones! :-)

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Currently here at Royal Son Bou family club hotel. We're a returning visitor so knew what to expect - a very clean and pleasant family orientated hotel with great entertainment and nice food.

The only disappointment for us is that we emailed Royal Son Bou several weeks ahead of our visit, requesting a room on the top floor overlooking the pool in any of block E, F or G. They replied saying they would try their best. We emailed again to remind them a few days before travel but they didn't reply.

On arrival they were unable to meet our request because all the rooms we wanted were already occupied.

Instead we have been given a Ground floor room which is noisy at night due to people walking past the door and our children are woken up early every morning by the noisy family upstairs. Our balcony is in shade most of the time due to being on the Ground floor and having big palm trees above it.

Given we are repeat customers and made the effort to ask for specific rooms well in advance, it seems reasonable to expect them to be able to plan their room allocation to accommodate out request.

Whenever I have been a return customer in other hotels, I have never had a problem - and that is why I like to return to places because you can 'fine tune' your stay.

They did promise to get back to us within a day or so to move us to a better room - but it is now day 6 and nobody has bothered to get in touch. They have either forgotten - or they are hoping that we have forgotten!

Shame really because it is the little things like this that mean a lot to repeat visitors and encourage them to keep coming back.

This would otherwise have been a 4 or 5 star review because the rest of the hotel is rather good!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting again our hotel during your family holidays and for writing a review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family are enjoying your holiday at our hotel even though you had some difficulties. Thank your for valuing so good our cleanliness, entertainment and food.

After our conversation yesterday, as we said, we would like to apologize for your non answered email and for the apartment change request at your arrival. On one hand, we are very sorry for no answering your second email. However, as we told you on the first email, we try always to do our best to fulfill our guest requests, but we cannot confirm them. Please, be assured we have tried to do our best! You requested us an apartment in block E, F or G on the top floor. Unfortunately, we couldn’t give you an apartment on the top floor, because we really didn’t have availability, but we gave you an apartment in block F as you also wished.

On the other hand, we have to apologize and recognize that we made a mistake, when you asked for a change apartment at your arrival. As we didn’t have availability on the top floor when you arrived, we took note of the request and we said to you that we will contact you during the following days, but we didn’t. That is why we want to APOLOGIZE FOR THE MISTAKE AND FOR THE INCONVENIENCES THIS MAY CAUSE YOU DURING THOSE DAYS!

Thank to your review on Tripadvisor, we could know about situation and have been able to get in touch with you to apologize personally and to offer an alternative for changing the apartment tomorrow to block G on a top floor. However, today you have confirmed us that you didn’t want to change the apartment. We understand and respect your decision.

We would like to apologize again for the inconveniences this may cause you during these days. Be assured we have tried to do our best.

Thank you so much for your understanding!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very good accommodation that was clean and well maintained. Nice pool but also very close to the beach. Staff attentive and friendly.
On the downside, the food was good but not special. A tendency to be quite samey. There was a bit of concern in the open restaurant that birds could hop over and peck at the food.
This has led me to a 4 point rating - still a very good experience.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the main building where the outside stage can be loud for the children - but by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mccrazylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. Thank you so much for the compliments about our installations, service and the staff.

According to your comment on this survey about the samey food, we would like to inform you that we offer a rotation of 10 menus in both restaurants. By the theme evenings we try to increase the food change. We apologize if you did not find the necessary food change in our restaurants.

Sorry about the inconvenience this may cause you during your holidays. We take note of your comments. On this way, youe help us to improve.

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

If you have young children I would highly recommend this hotel. Just a 20 min transfer time. Expected at check in and porter carried our cases to the room. Had emailed the hotel a couple of weeks before to ask for a top floor quiet room and this is what we got. Food plentiful and varied with different dishes every night. Kids buffet with plastic plates and cutlery a nice touch. Kikoland was great for kids. We never left our children there as I wanted to spend time with the kids but it was very well staffed and the staff were great and spoke very good English so would have felt comfortable leaving them. What we liked was the occasional activity to break up the days - t shirt painting, walk to feed the ducks, pony rides, walk to the caves (trogoland) etc. The play ground, bouncy castle etc was also good for a bit of shade. Kids enjoyed the early evening entertainment before bed. Recommend a trip to the capital Mahon on the local bus. Just 30 mins and 2.55 euro each or 25 euro taxi. Good mixture of tourist and clothes shops, port to look round and kids play ground in the market square. Tourist train was 6 euros each and just toured the hotels of son bou as there is nothing much to see in resort. Apartments cleaned spotless every day. Tunnel from hotel through to the beach was handy. Only thing I would say is that there is not that much to do in Son Bou with only a handful of shops, bars etc. However, for 7 nights for a family holiday this was perfect. We booked through Thomas Cook Flexible Trips.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estefanía A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Royal Son Bou Family Club, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear family,

First of all, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holidays and for writing a nice review of Royal Son Bou Family Club.

We are very pleased to know you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel. We are loving your "I would highly recommend this hotel"! Thank you :-)

It is great to know your children enjoyed our animation activities. Thank you for valuing so good our animation team. They will be very happy to know about your review!


Kiko, Cuqui & Hooky send a big hug to your kids!

We hope to see you and your family again.

Best regards from Minorca,
Estefanía Albar García
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Bou
6.8 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 8 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
2.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
13.5 mi away
Zafiro
Zafiro
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sol Falco All Inclusive
Sol Falco All Inclusive
#5 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Son Bou Family Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Son Bou Family Club

Property: Royal Son Bou Family Club
Address: Playa Son Bou s/n, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Son Bou Family Club 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Royal Son Bou Family Club is a family hotel which makes you aware of the environment and children's protection. The hotel is situated just 100 m away from the fantastic Son Bou beach (Minorca, Spain). Mascots play with the kids at Club Kikoland (from 0 years), while the parents relax and enjoy an unforgettable family holiday. The Club Kikoland is undoubtedly the heart of the hotel, a paradise full of joy for the little guests: the children. Babyclub (0 - 2 years), Miniclub (3-4 years), Maxiclub (5-6 years), Kidsclub (7 - 9 years), Juniorclub (10 - 12 years) and Teenyclub (13 - 16 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Son Bou Family Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Son Bou Family Club Hotel Son Bou
Royal Son Bou Alaior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing