We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for a 2 star resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartments San Jaime
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We stayed in Zone 5 with our 3 children (all under 5). The walk to the beach, which took anything between 20 and 25 minutes, soon got too much for our 3 year old twins. Zone 5 is certainly quieter than zone 3 but I would recommend that you request zone 3 if your children are under 7 years old. Zone 3 had a stage and offered more evening entertainment than zone 5 which had a mini disco that only lasted about 20 minutes (but the kids loved it). Kristina who organised the entertainment was wonderful and the children just adored her. Beware of the British abroad who queued from 8.30 for the sunbeds to be unlocked at 9.30 just so they could put their towels out and disappear again until lunchtime. There were only around 25 sunbeds available around the zone 5 pool to cover approx 300 guests hence why some people queued!!! Zone 3 had many more sunbeds available. Apartments were very clean although quite basic and towels were changed every other day and linen twice per week. If you are looking for budget accommodation then I don't think you'll get much better than this, but beware, eating and drinking in Son Bou is quite expensive so take plenty of cash.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2008

Myself, husband and 2 boys aged 7 & 4 stayed in these apartments for a week in June in Zone 5. After reading many reviews I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived at our apartment. Although the kitchen was a bit dated, the rest of it was really nice and we loved the lay-out, especially the fact that we had a separate kids bedroom (they have always had sofa beds before!). Although Zone 5 was further from the beach than we would have liked (about 15 mins), we thought that it was a lot prettier than other parts of the complex and it was lovely and quiet.

We had all the equipment we needed, plenty of cups, glasses and a kettle and toaster plus a good sized fridge with a small freezer. The shower was very good, however, the bath wasn't much more than a dribble - as my 4 yr old won't stand under a shower he had to have baths in a few centimetres of water, but no big deal! Rooms were cleaned every other day and clean towels and tea towel left outside our door every other day.

The whole place is huge, it was a good 5-6 mins just to walk to the Zone 5 reception from where we were and the same if you went in the other direction to the supermarket or kids club. The supermarket is probably more expensive than the ones in the centre but I think most people use it just for convenience. We did save money by making sandwiches for our lunch, it doesn't take long and it does save you a fair bit!

Eating out doesn't have to be expensive - if you go for things like steak then it will be, but we ate pizza, pasta, paella and these weren't really expensive. Agree with other reviews about chips coming with almost everything, especially the kids menus! Our favourite was Las Dunas, their veg paella for two is lovely and would actually feed 4 people! Arthurs was ok and Atalis was too although the staff weren't v friendly in there. Also it is worth visiting the restaurant next to the zone 5 reception called Il Gondoliere as this was one of our best meals. Our worst meal was the one time we ate out at lunchtime and it was at the restaurant by the pool and water slide in zone 5. It tasted horrible, was lukewarm and cost the same as our evening meals.

We went to the maze twice and although I don't like mazes, I have to admit this one is quite good. You have to look for different things while you're going round so it is more interesting than just going round in circles! And the people who run it are very enthusiastic and friendly. We didn't see the nightime entertainment but could hear it and it did sound good. They were mostly tribute bands eg Drifters, Abba, West Life plus acrobat shows.

We did use the little train that runs past the apartments once and it cost us 2 euros each; nice if you didn't feel like walking in the heat.

Although small, Son Bou is lovely - v clean, white buildings and palm trees and lovely little shops. The children's part is v popular with bouncy castles, trampolines etc and the beach is great. My eldest son who is 7 loved the fact he could walk so far out and it was still shallow - and it wasn't even that cold in the sea which meant that even I was in there swimming! Many people including us bought parasols (only cost about 6 euros) and airbeds etc were cheap - check at the kids club as people leave stuff like this behind for the next holidaymakers. Our two boys did use the kids club and loved it. They did go along to one session in the afternoon and it was full, so get there early especially if you are going in the peak season.

We hired a car for 2 days and went to the Aqua Park (v good) and visited the lovely little beach at Cala'n Porter. The tour operator pushes you to go to the car hire place on the complex (Europcar) but we found this expensive and went with a different one in the centre which cost us 40 euros less.

We would definitely go back to these apartments and to Son Bou and it's not often we feel like that about somewhere!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

We arrived at Apartment at San Jaime May 26th. Me, husband 2 children 7 and 9. First impression of apartment was good. We were in Zone 3. Was clean but basic. Glad no T.V. Girls take your hairdryer. Everything else there in the apartment. Do go to the Welcome speech from your tour operator very useful.

We were there for one week weather ok only one day of pouring rain and couple cloudy days. So found it hard to entertain kids.

Only one thing that really annoyed us that everything the spanish offer us in the line of food is chips, chips, and more chips. By the end of the week really fancied boiled potatoes or rice. So did go to the supermarket to try and eat more in the apartment. If I could work out how to use the oven. No instuctions.

Not that cheap eating in or out so be careful. One restaurant I would not recommend was Arthers. Absolute rubbish. But the Italian restaurant across the road (Sorry forgot name) much better. Go there.

Saying this. Our kids loved it here and we did have relaxing time. It felt very safe. VERY ENGLISH. Apartments clean. Not as cheap as you would have thought so watch your pennies. However, we did enjoy ourselves. Even playing "Bingo".

Please someone tell the spanish that not all Brits like chips with everything.

Music they played at the hotel Crazy frog and "I am the music man" etc not good either. I think we have moved on from that.

I don't think I would go back but maybe look at areas that actually feel like you are in Spain.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathleenChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

We (Mum and son - 8, Dad and son - 14) went there for a week in August 2007, our first holiday abroad since Mum and Dad got together 18 months previously. Dad and son had never been on holiday abroad before and, as Mum and son had been here a few years before, we decided to show them what it was like.

We arranged for a hire car before the holiday and were met by the British owner of the hire company at the airport and returned it the following week at the end of the holiday. It was definitely worth getting.

We stayed quite close to the precinct which included the German bakery and Kids Club. The apartment was neat and tidy and, although simply furnished, it was sufficient for our needs. We decided to go Self Catering so that we could cook dishes that the children were used to and went to the Supermarket in Alaior for our provisions (Mum remembered using this supermarket previously). As we arrived late in the afternoon and couldn't be bothered to cook we had a meal in the Tapas Bar opposite the supermarket in Alaior. They do a set menu, for a reasonable price, which we found to be delicious!

There are a few supermarkets in Son Bou, but to get more choice we would recommend the one in Alaior.

The children were thrilled with the pools in the complex and would have stayed there all week given the chance. Us parents thoroughly enjoyed the beach (the longest on Menorca). Be warned the further west you go on the beach will find you in the nudist section. You don't have to go naked if you want in this part, but many around you will be nude. If you want a quiet part of the beach and don't mind this it is definitely the best part of the beach to be on.

We took the car out most days to visit some of the most beautiful beaches on the island. Most are accessible by what can only be described as bumpy tracks! We went to Macarella (unfortunately it was raining, but it didn't stop us going in the sea), which is a lovely little beach. For the more adventurous you can make your way west following a rocky path and down into a smaller and even more beautiful Macaraletta.

We visited the 2 water parks at Cala'n Porter and Cala'n Bosch, both use sea water. These came highly recommended by the boys!

We went to Mahon and walked around the town for a couple of hours, which was quaint.

Fornells is a pretty marina where the rich and famous are supposed to go for lobster dishes, we went in the evening and it was a pleasant experience.

Binibecca is a purpose-built 'fishing village', not really functional but instead built for the tourists. The houses reminded us of Bedrock (Flintstones). It is very picturesque and you could quite easily fill your camera with pics of the narrow alleyways.

We did eat out a few times and found the local food to be fantastic. The best paella we had was in Fornells, far better than those in the close proximity to hotels and complexes.

ATMs are a bit temperamental, the connection seemed to be down quite often.

Dad and son certainly enjoyed their first trip abroad and we would certainly recommend this resort for families.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBnJANINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2008

we stayed at the san jaime appartments in son bou for 2 weeks in may 2007, it was the best family holiday we have ever had!
the appartments were very clean, spacious,welcoming and secure.
there was endless pools and entertainment for the kids( we have 3 young ones ) and the kids club was just fantastic, great for getting the little ones out of the sun for acouple of hours!
the beach was a short stroll along the road and was beutifull and safe for the kids
we had a very relaxing holiday, there was planty of restraunts to eat in all in the complex
we also visited the aquapark that was a fantastic day out, we all loved it!
overall the best holiday ever!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shellchrisb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2008

This was the first holiday i have taken alone with my 4 beautiful daughters, Emma 15, Becky 12, Abby 10 and Katie 8. On arrival to the San Jamie Complex after a pleasant flight and an hour transfer from the airport, we was welcomed by the receptionist who quickly see to it that we had our key to our 2 bedroom apartment facing the quiet side road over looking the mediterranean.
The rooms were spacious and brightly decorated. The pools to the complex were of good size although we mainly spent our days at the main pool in the complex where the sunbeds cost 2 euros a day hire. Next to the large pool was the aquaslides(extra cost) and a maze for the kids.
Nightly entertainment at the complex was outstanding with different acts on each night, mainly tribute bands that everyone enjoyed, especially the Take That tribute that my girls all got up and boogied to!
Leisurely walks of an evening took us into the main town of Son Bou, where you will find a wide range of shops open till 10pm and plenty of bars which welcome children, so fun for all if you grown ups want to enjoy a few drinks whilst the kids entertain themselves on the pool tables and arcade machines.
We took the opportunity of hiring a car for a couple of days which took us around the island and visited other beach resorts like Cala n Porter and visits to the capital of Menorca and also the aquapark that was enjoyed by all.
The beach in Son Bou was very clean and good for children, pedlos with slides and banana rides. The beach depending on your location of your apartment is a 5-10 minute walk away or better still if you fancy a ride on the mini train to the beach or town it regulary passes the apartments a few times an hour.
Our overall holiday was fantastic and very relaxng, very much a family resort. My girls made lots of english friends and to top it all the weather was absolutely fantastic!
Will be definately returning to this resort again very soon!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank angel-delights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

Went away with husband and two kids 7yrs + 4yrs. First ever holiday abroad and what a place to start. Had an amazing time. Thomson staff were great, very friendly. Cant comment on kids clubs as we didnt use them.Our apartment was very near to the town and beach. 5min walk to beach and likewise to shops. Rooms were very tidy, if a little dated but perfectly fine for our needs. Had breakfast on balcony every day. Would highly recommend Arthurs restaurant, especially the paella! If you dont want to spend a fortune, use the local bus to visit Mahon and then book yourself on a glass bottomed boat around the harbour. Fantastic trip and a quarter of the cost of the official excursion. (take plenty of sun cream!) Local buses were brilliant and it meant you could stay in Mahon much longer than the excursions allow. Beach was lovely and we were given buckets and spades by other guests who were flying home. Sea is crystal clear. Would recommend the maze and the water flumes, our kids loved them. Also the play area opposite the shops was ideal for our kids on an evening, with bouncy castles, trampolines and mini boat rides!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anttaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Bou
1.1 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
2.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#1 of 5 in Santo Tomas
411 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments San Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments San Jaime

Address: Playa de Son Bou, Alaior | Apdo de correos 8, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartments San Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments San Jaime Hotel Son Bou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing