We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apartments San Jaime
Nearby Hotels
Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca(Son Bou)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Valentin Son Bou(Son Bou)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$177
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$85
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Finca Atalis(Migjorn Gran)
US$246
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$139
Cancelon
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Veraclub Minorca(Santo Tomas)
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
19
18
2
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
18
2
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool facilitiesamazing beachyoung familyevening entertainmenttributesupermarketsonchildren
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We stayed in Zone 5 with our 3 children (all under 5). The walk to the beach, which took anything between 20 and 25 minutes, soon got too much for our 3 year old twins. Zone 5 is certainly quieter than zone 3 but I would recommend that you request zone 3 if your children are under 7 years old. Zone 3 had a stage and offered more evening entertainment than zone 5 which had a mini disco that only lasted about 20 minutes (but the kids loved it). Kristina who organised the entertainment was wonderful and the children just adored her. Beware of the British abroad who queued from 8.30 for the sunbeds to be unlocked at 9.30 just so they could put their towels out and disappear again until lunchtime. There were only around 25 sunbeds available around the zone 5 pool to cover approx 300 guests hence why some people queued!!! Zone 3 had many more sunbeds available. Apartments were very clean although quite basic and towels were changed every other day and linen twice per week. If you are looking for budget accommodation then I don't think you'll get much better than this, but beware, eating and drinking in Son Bou is quite expensive so take plenty of cash.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

Myself, husband and 2 boys aged 7 & 4 stayed in these apartments for a week in June in Zone 5. After reading many reviews I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived at our apartment. Although the kitchen was a bit dated, the rest of it was really nice and we loved the lay-out, especially the fact that we had a separate kids bedroom (they have always had sofa beds before!). Although Zone 5 was further from the beach than we would have liked (about 15 mins), we thought that it was a lot prettier than other parts of the complex and it was lovely and quiet.

We had all the equipment we needed, plenty of cups, glasses and a kettle and toaster plus a good sized fridge with a small freezer. The shower was very good, however, the bath wasn't much more than a dribble - as my 4 yr old won't stand under a shower he had to have baths in a few centimetres of water, but no big deal! Rooms were cleaned every other day and clean towels and tea towel left outside our door every other day.

The whole place is huge, it was a good 5-6 mins just to walk to the Zone 5 reception from where we were and the same if you went in the other direction to the supermarket or kids club. The supermarket is probably more expensive than the ones in the centre but I think most people use it just for convenience. We did save money by making sandwiches for our lunch, it doesn't take long and it does save you a fair bit!

Eating out doesn't have to be expensive - if you go for things like steak then it will be, but we ate pizza, pasta, paella and these weren't really expensive. Agree with other reviews about chips coming with almost everything, especially the kids menus! Our favourite was Las Dunas, their veg paella for two is lovely and would actually feed 4 people! Arthurs was ok and Atalis was too although the staff weren't v friendly in there. Also it is worth visiting the restaurant next to the zone 5 reception called Il Gondoliere as this was one of our best meals. Our worst meal was the one time we ate out at lunchtime and it was at the restaurant by the pool and water slide in zone 5. It tasted horrible, was lukewarm and cost the same as our evening meals.

We went to the maze twice and although I don't like mazes, I have to admit this one is quite good. You have to look for different things while you're going round so it is more interesting than just going round in circles! And the people who run it are very enthusiastic and friendly. We didn't see the nightime entertainment but could hear it and it did sound good. They were mostly tribute bands eg Drifters, Abba, West Life plus acrobat shows.

We did use the little train that runs past the apartments once and it cost us 2 euros each; nice if you didn't feel like walking in the heat.

Although small, Son Bou is lovely - v clean, white buildings and palm trees and lovely little shops. The children's part is v popular with bouncy castles, trampolines etc and the beach is great. My eldest son who is 7 loved the fact he could walk so far out and it was still shallow - and it wasn't even that cold in the sea which meant that even I was in there swimming! Many people including us bought parasols (only cost about 6 euros) and airbeds etc were cheap - check at the kids club as people leave stuff like this behind for the next holidaymakers. Our two boys did use the kids club and loved it. They did go along to one session in the afternoon and it was full, so get there early especially if you are going in the peak season.

We hired a car for 2 days and went to the Aqua Park (v good) and visited the lovely little beach at Cala'n Porter. The tour operator pushes you to go to the car hire place on the complex (Europcar) but we found this expensive and went with a different one in the centre which cost us 40 euros less.

We would definitely go back to these apartments and to Son Bou and it's not often we feel like that about somewhere!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

We arrived at Apartment at San Jaime May 26th. Me, husband 2 children 7 and 9. First impression of apartment was good. We were in Zone 3. Was clean but basic. Glad no T.V. Girls take your hairdryer. Everything else there in the apartment. Do go to the Welcome speech from your tour operator very useful.

We were there for one week weather ok only one day of pouring rain and couple cloudy days. So found it hard to entertain kids.

Only one thing that really annoyed us that everything the spanish offer us in the line of food is chips, chips, and more chips. By the end of the week really fancied boiled potatoes or rice. So did go to the supermarket to try and eat more in the apartment. If I could work out how to use the oven. No instuctions.

Not that cheap eating in or out so be careful. One restaurant I would not recommend was Arthers. Absolute rubbish. But the Italian restaurant across the road (Sorry forgot name) much better. Go there.

Saying this. Our kids loved it here and we did have relaxing time. It felt very safe. VERY ENGLISH. Apartments clean. Not as cheap as you would have thought so watch your pennies. However, we did enjoy ourselves. Even playing "Bingo".

Please someone tell the spanish that not all Brits like chips with everything.

Music they played at the hotel Crazy frog and "I am the music man" etc not good either. I think we have moved on from that.

I don't think I would go back but maybe look at areas that actually feel like you are in Spain.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathleenChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2008

We (Mum and son - 8, Dad and son - 14) went there for a week in August 2007, our first holiday abroad since Mum and Dad got together 18 months previously. Dad and son had never been on holiday abroad before and, as Mum and son had been here a few years before, we decided to show them what it was like.

We arranged for a hire car before the holiday and were met by the British owner of the hire company at the airport and returned it the following week at the end of the holiday. It was definitely worth getting.

We stayed quite close to the precinct which included the German bakery and Kids Club. The apartment was neat and tidy and, although simply furnished, it was sufficient for our needs. We decided to go Self Catering so that we could cook dishes that the children were used to and went to the Supermarket in Alaior for our provisions (Mum remembered using this supermarket previously). As we arrived late in the afternoon and couldn't be bothered to cook we had a meal in the Tapas Bar opposite the supermarket in Alaior. They do a set menu, for a reasonable price, which we found to be delicious!

There are a few supermarkets in Son Bou, but to get more choice we would recommend the one in Alaior.

The children were thrilled with the pools in the complex and would have stayed there all week given the chance. Us parents thoroughly enjoyed the beach (the longest on Menorca). Be warned the further west you go on the beach will find you in the nudist section. You don't have to go naked if you want in this part, but many around you will be nude. If you want a quiet part of the beach and don't mind this it is definitely the best part of the beach to be on.

We took the car out most days to visit some of the most beautiful beaches on the island. Most are accessible by what can only be described as bumpy tracks! We went to Macarella (unfortunately it was raining, but it didn't stop us going in the sea), which is a lovely little beach. For the more adventurous you can make your way west following a rocky path and down into a smaller and even more beautiful Macaraletta.

We visited the 2 water parks at Cala'n Porter and Cala'n Bosch, both use sea water. These came highly recommended by the boys!

We went to Mahon and walked around the town for a couple of hours, which was quaint.

Fornells is a pretty marina where the rich and famous are supposed to go for lobster dishes, we went in the evening and it was a pleasant experience.

Binibecca is a purpose-built 'fishing village', not really functional but instead built for the tourists. The houses reminded us of Bedrock (Flintstones). It is very picturesque and you could quite easily fill your camera with pics of the narrow alleyways.

We did eat out a few times and found the local food to be fantastic. The best paella we had was in Fornells, far better than those in the close proximity to hotels and complexes.

ATMs are a bit temperamental, the connection seemed to be down quite often.

Dad and son certainly enjoyed their first trip abroad and we would certainly recommend this resort for families.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBnJANINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2008

we stayed at the san jaime appartments in son bou for 2 weeks in may 2007, it was the best family holiday we have ever had!
the appartments were very clean, spacious,welcoming and secure.
there was endless pools and entertainment for the kids( we have 3 young ones ) and the kids club was just fantastic, great for getting the little ones out of the sun for acouple of hours!
the beach was a short stroll along the road and was beutifull and safe for the kids
we had a very relaxing holiday, there was planty of restraunts to eat in all in the complex
we also visited the aquapark that was a fantastic day out, we all loved it!
overall the best holiday ever!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shellchrisb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews