We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartments San Jaime
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a great family resort. Whilst the apartment was a little dated, it had everything we needed. The bakery was excellent and has lots of competitively priced freshly made products. The supermarket was well stocked and competitively priced, ideal for self catering meals in ! The pools were fantastic and a great beach as well. The kids had a superb time and this overall is a competitively priced, good value for money break. We ate out a couple of times and again these were good value. Try the pizzas in Allesandros - my kids thought they were awesome ! Don't expect 5 star quality from a 3 star resort and you won't be disappointed

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

We arrived at Club San Jaime for something to eat after being out all day, Club San Jaime is a holiday resort/complex from what I could see. We found a table that overlooked the swimming pool area while the sun was going down.

We ordered 2 large Estrella beers while looking at the menu. I had the mixed sea food which was a nice dish and I would have it again. My partner ordered the Romana Pizza which looked home made and she said it was fresh and tasted nice. We both decided to have a Dulce de leche ice cream, they were from the Carte D’Or range.

This resort plays live music, the night we were there they had on ‘Forever Whitney’, and they were really good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GrahamUK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We returned from these apartments in middle of June. First impression of the area was how spotless and clean it was! There was absolutely no rubbish left lying around. The apartments are spacious and I thought just right for a self catering laid back holiday. The complex is split into zones. We stayed in Zone 5 which was furthest from the beach (a good 15-20 min walk). If you want an early night then probably give Zone 3 a miss as this is where the nightly entertainment takes place but then it goes quiet from 11.30 -12 midnight. The beach is accessed at the end of the main road, near where the two large hotels are situated. There is a large nature reserve running parallel with the road which you cant access.....its a right ole chorus time at night with the sounds of the crickets! There are several pools scattered over the complex so they were never overcrowded, but then we arrived early June, so not sure what it will be like in the height of the holiday season. The beach was white sand and the sea lovely shades of blue. There was a café/bar situated right on the beach ..the Sunset Bar....I can see why it has got its name...lovely just sitting there watching the sunset with a good meal. Menorca is a lovely small island, peaceful and laid back so if that is what you want on holiday, I don't think you will be too disappointed.

Room Tip: avoid zone 3 if you want an early quiet night due to the entertainment club based there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank at_hodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

What fantastic apartments these are, clean, well equipped. Four pools, entertainment every night.
Five minutes from other bars, bowling alley, cabaret bar, and beach. Excellent value for money.
The beach is out standing and goes on for miles. Be carefull as some parts of the beach are nudist. Went sept 2011 weather very hot. Just got round to doing a review.

Room Tip: All rooms are well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GillBeveridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

These apartments are clean and spacious and close to the beach. The beach has beautiful white sand and shallow water which is great for kids. There is plenty to do as there are shops for the women, bars for the men and children's play areas for the kids so you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We have just returned from the Son Bou Playa which is part of the same complex as San Jaime. The apartment was ideal for us and the gardens are well kept ,but where it was situated left a bit to be desired as it was about a mile to walk to the bars and resturants for the evening and also to get to the beach. The area was delightful, and it was easy to get a bus any where you wanted to go on the island. Sadly the down side was the basic equiptment in the apartments, saucepans with wobbly handle , no kettle etc. The pool had very uncomfortable sunbeds and was very shallow making it dificult to swim in. The supermarkets locally were very overpriced and did not have a lot of choice. On the whole it was an enjoyable place to stay, but it would have been better to be prewarned about the amount of walking it would involve

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleGeniusHeathrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Our fourth visit to this great complex and I cannot believe some of the negative comments. We stayed in a privately owned apartment but have also stayed in others on the complex in the past. Yes it is a small town but then Menorca is a small island and I suggest most resorts are fairly small. There are at least a dozen restaurants serving decent food plus the excellent San Jaime club which does good food and nightly entertainment (mostly "tribute" acts) and the staff are great.
If you really must get away there is an hourly bus service to the capital which takes around 30 mins and costs 2.45 euro.
In our experience, the supermarket on the complex is probably the cheapest for most things (there are 3 others in the town). Yes, it is expensive if you want British goods but a large (often still warm) baguette is 1 euro, 8 litres of water 1.70 euro, litre of sangria 1.30 euro.
The charge for sunbeds round the pool at least discourages large families from taking over most of them for their kids who hardly use them.
Noise from the club? It's not Ibiza with boom boom boom till 6am. The latest it finished was 11.30 in our experience.
All this and only a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport, plus a beach to die for. What more do you want from a relaxing holiday?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Exburtonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Son Bou
0.1 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
1.1 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel HG Jardin de Menorca
13.5 mi away
Zafiro Menorca
Zafiro Menorca
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
1,234 reviews
10.3 mi away
Apartamentos Royal Life
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments San Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments San Jaime

Address: Playa de Son Bou, Alaior | Apdo de correos 8, 07730 Son Bou, Alaior, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Alaior > Son Bou
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Son Bou
Price Range: £44 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartments San Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments San Jaime Hotel Son Bou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing