We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be best large House in UK”
Review of Stowe House

Stowe House
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stowe House. Discover the hidden secrets inside...If you had power and riches, how would you use them?In the 18th century, the powerful Temple-Grenville family chose to create an idyllic landscape filled with temples. Amidst these enchanting gardens, they built the most lavish temple of all, Stowe House. This temple was so grand that even Queen Victoria was bewildered by its interiors. Filled with astonishing rooms imitating ancient worlds and classical ruins, the House reflects the flamboyant and colourful characters of its creators. Ceilings and walls decorated with hidden messages and mythology hint at the family’s former power and glory. But wealth and power do not last forever. Excessive spending led to bankruptcy. Extravagant parties, royal visits and Italian Grand Tours gave way to scandal, intrigue and eventually abandonment. The richest family in England became the greatest debtors in the world.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must be best large House in UK”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Last time I went to Stowe House, as a visitor, was 10 years ago,
what a change many more rooms have been refurbished, in such a way you think you have been transformed back to 1840s,
The Stowe House Trust have received a small Heritage Lottery Fund to build a New Visitors Centre, they are just starting, but have moved the reception Desk and shop (temporary), to the Top of the spectacular Steps at the South Front of the Main House.
Whilst much of the upper Floors are dedicated to the School, now school is closed, the opportunity to see so much is worth a visit.
A one off small payment (discounted if your National Trust ) comes with the opportunity for a free pass for a whole year.
The Volunteers and Staff were so helpful, kind and knowledgeable, The Guides ( tour included in admission) seem to be trained for the good of visitors, as opposed to some Museums who's guides just want to perform, as opposed to Educate and entertain.
The Rooms which have been renovated, are spectacular, those due for renovation. give you a feeling of History in the saving.
Must go back for the Twighlight Tours,
One of the Couples in the group I was in, were staying over in a local Camp Site and coming back
the following Day.
I highly recommend this attraction for young and old alike, am trying to book time in my busy grandchildren's schedule to take them along.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John-CruiseSpeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoweHouse, Manager at Stowe House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
John-CruiseSpeaker,

Thank you for your kind review of Stowe House. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and feel able to recommend the property to others.

We are very lucky to have a dedicated and passionate group of volunteers who make the opening of the house possible, and enjoyable for visitors.

We've just started work on our new visitor centre which is due to open in the spring and make the experience even more rewarding for our guests.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we hope you will Stowe again soon!


Kind regards,

Visitor Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    55
    7
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The most wonderful house you can imagine”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The fantastic architecture and the dedicated staff! The house is actually a palace with the most amazing interior.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 10Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoweHouse, Manager at Stowe House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
10Marion,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to Stowe House.

At Stowe we are very luck to have such a great team of dedicated and passionate volunteers that really help the history of the house come alive for visitors. It's always nice for them to hear such positive reviews!

The ducal pleasure palace really is an architectural marvel, with the decorative detail spanning many tastes over the course of the 18th century. In fact, we're quite lucky that the Temple-Grenvilles ran out of money in the 19th century so they couldn't alter the house too much and the decorative structure for the 18th century has largely remained intact.

We hope that you've been inspired to visit us again and see the results of our next stage of restoration works.

Kind regards,

Visitor Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Architecural Period piece”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Went on one hour guided tour . sometimes it was hard to Graf due t o the acoustics. Maybe if property had heavy curtains the sound might have been better. Now leased to Stowe School founded in 1923 and nice to see property being used rather an exhibition piece. Wonderful views of the park, property is not National Trust although set in NT grounds and separate payment Not sure whether it is possible to park nearer house. If you go to the Stowe Landscape Gardens you must want a walk anyway!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoweHouse, Manager at Stowe House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Jane D,

Thank you for your kind review of Stowe House. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your tour of the house. We appreciate the acoustics inside can be a little tricky inside the house, but we hope you found the tour interesting nonetheless!

It is possible to arrange access to the front of the house for those with special mobility requirements, or for those who are HHA members. But we agree, who wouldn't want to see the gardens and house together?!

We're pleased you enjoyed your trip, and hope you to see you at Stowe again soon.



Kind regards,

Visitor Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A Must”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hour long guided tour of this wonderful building was excellent with a brilliant guide who was obviously enjoying talking to us and answering our questions. We never realised that a stately home (now a public school) could be so interesting.

The only snag is that it is a long walk from the entrance to the gardens (National Trust) so you need to make sure you have time to reach the house in time for a guided tour as they only operate on the hour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank VeryBusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoweHouse, Manager at Stowe House, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear VeryBusy,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to the House and that you had a good tour. We appreciate we are quite far from the entrance however we hope you enjoyed the fabulous gardens on your way to the House!

Hope to see you at Stowe again soon (lots of restoration to pop back and see when you are next in the area!)

Kind regards,

Visitor Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“THE most beautiful grounds and school”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

WOW ... such an interesting historical place with fabulous walks and the school is such an interesting building.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daytripper60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoweHouse, Manager at Stowe House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Daytripper60_10,

We love a 'wow' - thank you very much. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit to the House and National Trust Stowe Gardens and hope you will pop back again to see how we have progressed with the restoration.

Thanks for the lovely review,

Kind regards,

Visitor Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stowe House also viewed

Buckingham, Aylesbury Vale
Waddesdon, Aylesbury Vale
 
Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire
Silverstone, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Stowe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing