We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Moroccan hosting. Do not miss!”
Review of The Repose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Repose
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The complicated location makes this Riad even more charming.
Amazing place, very warm hosting, great Moroccan decoration, each room has a personality!
Definitely recommended.
Enjoy the welcome drink, the tray of cookies and fruits, the room, the rooftop breakfast...
Stayed there only for a quick night after a last minute booking and enjoyed every minute.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idanpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

On our tour of Morocco we spent three nights at this riad and very much enjoyed it. Not the easiest place to find although Jan's instructions as far as the pharmacie were excellent. After that you need help! Sale is a quiet little town with a beautiful medersa and an interesting souk. Jan is a mine of useful information and both she and Rachid go out of their way to welcome their guests. Breakfasts on the lovely roof terrace are excellent. The rooms tend to be rather dark but this is typical, the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms have good showers. I would go for the Mango room as this is the lightest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloydChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is the first of eleven reviews of our Moroccan visit, to be followed by Tangier. Stayed on 18th April, 2014.

Salé is a suburb of Rabat, and the riad is not easy to find. It helps that the owner is English, and so calling for directions is easy. The first benefit of staying here is that you will save a little by staying here instead of Rabat, but that was not our reason. This is by far the best looking riad we found in Rabat/Salé, and the vegetarian food here is superb. In fact, because of jetlag, we slept through dinner, and enjoyed the dishes, freshly prepared again, at breakfast time, and the pasta with pine nuts and cream sauce is memorable even now, five weeks later.

Jan is a graphics designer, and her creativity flows throughout the house. The Riad has its own website, and you can see photos for yourself. Highly deserving its number one rating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandarooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our stay here was one of the highlights of our backpack around Morocco. Jan was really helpful arranging a taxi from the station to her Riad which is advisable to start with as it's tricky to find.
The Riad is beautifully restored with different themed rooms and a great roof terrace where you have breakfast. Try to book the Mango room if you can, it was the best, thanks Jan.
You need to be clear about what to expect when staying in the Sale Medina. It has not been developed to cater for tourists at all, it is a living, working community that still views visitors as a novelty.
If you appreciate this you will love wandering, watching the everyday life going on around you. Also the locals were genuinely friendly and curious.
This is a special thing in Morocco because in other cities you are following a well trodden tourist path.
Rabat over the river is easy to get to by Tram or rowing boat and has some interesting historical sights. The city is very cosmopolitan and would recommend having a pizza while people watching on one of the main streets in the Medina.
We opted for our dinner back at the Riad which some people have said was expensive but 5 courses for 20 euros in a beautiful Riad we thought was good value.
Many thanks to Jan and Rachid and staff for a great stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sayyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the Repose, and it was the first stop on our 3 week stay in Morocco. We couldn't have started in a nicer place. Jan and Rachid were perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble and they helped us acclimatise very well. The riad is very beautiful, and all the extra touches were very much appreciated. The vegetarian food cooked by the wonderful staff is 5 star - absolutely delicious. We could have eaten elsewhere, but chose to eat at the riad every night, because we couldn't imagine getting better food elsewhere. Indeed, our subsequent travels throgh many cities and towns proved this to be true. Thank you Jan, Rachid and staff, for creating such a lovely, peaceful and beautiful space, and for making us so welcome. Cannot recommend highly enough. Great value for money.

Room Tip: We had the orange room, but they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We arrived from a long day of traveling to a wonderful oasis of calm and beauty. Jan greeted us with mint tea, fruit and exquisite pastries. The riad is stylishly renovated and very charming. Jan was very helpful both before our visit and during our short stay. Our blue room was lovely and spacious with a great bathroom. I enjoyed using the bath products supplied.The Sale medina is much easier to negotiate and we enjoyed just walking around and mingling with the locals.
Unfortunately we had to leave early but Jan was kind enough to make us the best coffee we had in Morocco and fruit and cake to go.

Room Tip: Though the blue room was lovely, it faces the street and we found it a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our first Riad experience in Morocco. Our driver took us down the long medina street to the Repose. We certainly felt like we were staying in the heart of an authentic Moroccan town.
We were greeted by the host Jan, a Brit who has renovated and set up the Repose with her Moroccan family. A welcoming coffee and delicious sweets in the open air central lounge started things off nicely.
This place is boutique from the point of view of its small size, and attention to detail. Our room, The Arabian Suite, was on the first floor. I think we would have preferred the Mango Suite or the Chefchaouen Suite as featured on their website as we had our child with us and a spare bed really cramped everyone’s style.
In the typical Moroccan style the room did not have external windows, and only small windows on to the central courtyard. The room was painted in royal purples, crimson and greys. The decor was sumptuous but dark.
The storage areas were a bit small and our suitcases took up precious space. The lack of windows and air-conditioner was an issue that the floor fan could not make up for despite it being a cool day. The bed was firm and comfortable. There was not a door for the bathroom, but a curtain to enhance ablution intimacy with your travelling companions. So, perhaps not the place for a first weekend away together. There was no lock on the guest room doors, but with only a few rooms and strong front door security it was probably only a noticeable but not unsafe oversight.
The roof balcony was a highlight, with potted plants, tables and sun loungers it was the place to be.
We ate dinner and breakfast at the Riad and found the food to be the highlight. Fresh, literally home cooked food highlighted the best ingredients and some really great cooking skills. The strawberry jam and marmalade was excellent, the harira was great and the bread excellent. The service by English speaking Sara was attentive and relaxed, the kind talent that could get her by in a Four Seasons.
The host gave us direction for a great walk to the Souk where we were the only tourists, a close by and well worth it experience.
The highlight for the Repose was the off the beaten track location, the service and the food. Remember this is a long way from Rabat’s central sights. Try to request your choice of suite based on the pictures on the website.

Room Tip: Mango Suite looks best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiboTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sale
0.1 mi away
Riad Marlinea
Riad Marlinea
#2 of 3 in Sale
63 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#5 of 45 in Rabat
530 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Le Pietri Urban Hotel
20.1 mi away
Relax Kenitra
Relax Kenitra
#1 of 4 in Kenitra
67 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dar Zouhour
Dar Zouhour
#9 of 45 in Rabat
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Repose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Repose

Address: 17 Zankat Talaa | Ras Chejra, Rabat-Salé, Sale 11000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Sale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sale
Price Range: £43 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Repose 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Repose, is an oasis of calm in the heart of Sale's traditional medina, Rabat. Lovingly restored by the owners, Rachid and Jan, this luxury riad has been renovated and decorated using traditional materials and craftsmanship to give a haven of peace and tranquility. The whole riad oozes Moroccan charm and each of the 4 suites has its own unique identity. The salon is ideal for dining in the cooler months, reading a book or playing games. The courtyard is great for sipping tea, listening to the splashes of the fountain, while the terrace is fabulous for breakfast, sunbathing or siestas in the shade. With Rachid and Jan on-site, the hospitality and customer service are second-to-none and the combination of their local knowledge and awareness of international expectations ensures a warm and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Repose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Repose Hotel Sale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing