We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This auberge is magical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge de la Quatr'Heurie
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beze
Beynac-et-Cazenac, France
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“This auberge is magical”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

In a lifetime of touring around France, I have never come across an auberge quite like this one. It is very hard to classify because it is such a one off. Each bedroom is unique and the entire building is magical and quirky, full of character and a real experience. BUT it is not for those travellers who prefer their accomodation predictable and sanitised. Best in that case to stick to the Accor group or something similar. The Auberge de la Quatre'Heuri feels as if you have stepped back into the past. This was my second visit and it did not disappoint. And the breakfast is good! I shall be back to this very special auberge as soon as I can organise it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acpackhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    31
    18
    25
    13
See reviews for
45
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed there having spotted it when in the village at another hotel a few months previously. It looks intriguing and it certainly was. My 6 yr old thought it was "spooky". Us adults thought it was full of amazing character. The food was great, as was the breakfast. My first choice wine at dinner was oxydized but the waitress knew it too and immediately recommended a wine 'on offer' which was cheaper and probably better than my first choice!
The village is lovely and there is a lovely walk round the river-head which wells up from the rocks. There is a nearby play area for the young kids to burn off energy after being cooped up in a car.
We are going again.
Should I be telling you all this - not if I had any sense - but that wouldn't be fair ...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank valiantwhiteknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Quite why this hotel should be billed as the worst hotel just because a french waitress was rude and a bed was uncomfortable is beyond us.The room was spotless the staff amd owners charming and attentive, but i have slept in more comfortable beds. The food - some cooked on an open fire was good. I would thouroughly recommend this hotel as a fie example of its type.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stumbled onto this hotel, after finding out all other hotels in the Dijon region were fully booked. Even though we didn't like the interior, we decided we needed a bed, and how bad could it be only for 1 night? Well, it was bad: we were shouted at, by 1 of the waitresess at the restaurant, as she felt we were late (even though the owner promised us we could still have dinner with them if we'd book the room), the room was extremely dirty, and the bathroom i cannot even discribe........The bed was at least 300 years old, and the matrass felt even older.
I have spent many nights at 2 star hotels in France and usualy this is perfect for a stop-over. This hotel though was really not worth the 150 euro (!!!) we had to pay for the stay, a tiny dinner and a small breakfast.
Our advice: stay away from this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niek75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beze hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Sussex, UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

I have stayed at this hotel 3 or 4 times. We came across it after one of our group picked up a flyer advertising it. The flyer did not do it justice.

Firstly, the village is beautiful. It has some lovely old buildings, and the roads criss-cross the river. The river itself emerges from the ground in the village, and so there is an interesting walk to the source, which bubbles from underground most impressively after heavy rain.

The Inn is half timbered, and full of curiosities. At the back there is an old school-room, complete with desks, books and maps. Around the hotel are other mementos of by-gone burgundian life. Many of the rooms feature four poster beds, and there is an old lit clos in the bar.

The food is largely cooked on the fire which sits between the dining room and the bar. I would recommend the filet bande, which is one of the most enormous steaks I have ever had. There is a good wine list, with some interesting bin ends at very good prices.

You will be very well looked after, and I think that the value for money is excellent.

  • Liked — Excellent value in a convenient location
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed March 2004, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Elstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

We were lost... we had missed the right exit for Dijon... it was late and dark. We came off the autoroute and found the only place still open in the first village we came to - a bar, which was closing. The owner said he would conduct us to an inn, but first he would telephone to see if they had a room. They did. Fifteen minutes later, and full of trepidation, after a drive through twisting lanes, we arrive at .... a fairytale sight: an old , half timbered inn, opposite a village church, the sound of a river babbling in the background. Inside, in a heavily beamed dining room, hams and sausages were curing above the wood fire. The sitting room had another blazing log fire. Everywhere, small arrangements of flowers, or farm objects, caught your eye: still lives. The staff couldn't have been nicer: at eleven o'clock, they offered to open the kitchen to get us some food. Our room was spacious, the bathroom sparkling. We were sorry to leave next morning, after an excellent breakfast. Quatr'Heurie is "the real thing". Use it as base to explore some of the Burgundian wine vilages . It is, as a distinguished French guide might say - if it knew about it - "vaut le detour".

  • Liked — the authenticity
  • Disliked — The fact that we were only there one night
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jajalondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beze
0.6 mi away
Le Bourguignon
Le Bourguignon
#1 of 3 in Beze
131 reviews
7.6 mi away
Auberge du Lac
Auberge du Lac
#1 of 1 in Marcilly-sur-Tille
11 reviews
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Dijon Toison d'Or
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
B&B Hotel DIJON Nord Zenith
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dijon
Holiday Inn Express Dijon
#1 of 3 in Saint-Apollinaire
337 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Quatr'Heurie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Quatr'Heurie

Property: Auberge de la Quatr'Heurie
Address: Rue des Ponts, 21310 Beze, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beze
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de la Quatr'Heurie 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTELLERIE DE LA QUATR’HEURIE – BEZE / BOURGOGNEA cœur du magnifique village médiéval de Beze en Bourgogne, l’hostellerie des Quatr’heuries vous accueille dans un cadre traditionnel et chaleureux pour un week-end gastronomique et régional.Les 4 salles de restaurant aux larges cheminées où cuisent devant vous volailles et gorets sont joliment décorées de table en bois à l’ancienne où vous pourrez diner à la lueur des lampes à pétrole.Vous pourrez déguster les meilleurs vins de Bourgogne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge de la Quatr'Heurie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Quatr`Heurie Hotel Beze

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing