We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Brasserie, Chateau Gontier”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Brasserie - CLOSED

La Brasserie
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“La Brasserie, Chateau Gontier”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Delicious food, freshly prepared for each order. Very good quality and excellent presentation. The service was very professional, friendly and courteous without being overpowering. Excellent value for money

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try their Tournedos Rossini, wonderful”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

An elegant restaurant with a first class menu and wine list. The Maitre d' was very helpful and wrote the name down of the wine we enjoyed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hugrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

On our last day we were advised to try La Brasserie and on entering the beautiful light and smart dining room it looked hopeful.
The young lady that seemed to be doing EVERYTHING was amazingly efficient and spoke a good level of English.
We went for the menu de terroir which at 22 euros was very good value.
The food wasn't ground breaking or really that special but it was tasty and substantial.
My duck confit main course was very tasty but a bit dry and over cooked, the skin could have been crispier too.
Dads faux filet was in his words 'the best steak he had had in ages'
To finish we both had the raspberry tart which was simple but truly delicious with sweetened cream balancing the sharp raspberries perfectly.
I would certainly go back! (If not just to poach the girl who served us)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank chefpet17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Always Good and open every evening of the week, which is rare in this are. Service is great too and food selection is varied regularly

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank judithchrisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
505 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“French at it's best”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Lovely food, we ate from the set three course menu and at 43 euros you expect a good meal and we were not disappointed. The food, presentation, service were all very good and we would certainly visit again and there are less expensive choices but it was a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardenofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Brasserie also viewed

 
Chateau-Gontier, Mayenne
Chateau-Gontier, Mayenne
 
Chateau-Gontier, Mayenne
Chateau-Gontier, Mayenne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing