We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”
Review of The Piddle Inn

The Piddle Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Piddle Inn
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Piddle Inn. Leaving the children with grand parents we were looking forward to some peace and quiet to which we received. The pub its self is traditional without being stuffy and our rooms were clean and well turned out. The staff were friendly and attentive while the twist on the Italian food was a refreshing change. The area offers excellent walks with the beach being just a short trip away. All in all a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    17
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merida
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We are spanish and decided to take my daughters with me for a trip through the south of England ( I have visited the Uk in many occasions since 1977 but always to derbyshire) when we stopped just to spend a night at The Piddle Inn. My daughters 14 and 18 years old, were so delighted with the warmth and care that Joanne showed to us and the great dishes offered by Mario that I could not less than stay for 3 more days. I not only recommend this wonderful place, but I also have an excuse to come and visit these two wonderful hosts as soon as I can.
Martin Mayo

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dioni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I come down from North Dorset every few months to eat at this pub with friends because it has always had exceptionally good food and a nice atmosphere. I think the new owners may have made a mistake moving from central Manchester to a rural idyll. The food was mediocre (although the prices had remained the same) the atmosphere was lacking, the new owner Mario did not smile once throughout the evening and the service was dreadful - dirty glasses and crockery, table not set with enough cutlery and no condiments, even when requested. This pub has always been busy and buzzing when we've gone before. I wonder why the owners are moving away from what has been a very successful business that people have travelled to visit, into setting up, what appears to be a pizzareria?? Sorry, but we won't be going back

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent two glorious days at the Piddle Inn. Joanna and Mario were excellent hosts. The room was airy, spacious, and well appointed. Loved Mario's breakfast and had some great ales as well. Loved the view of the beautiful countryside from our room.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chache47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The food was lovely, home made and the lasagne the best ever that my husband had tasted. New owners of only 5 weeks and seem to have settled in really well. They had the well deserve night off on one of our nights and as a result there was a difference in how the food was served. Just under £6 for 4 rings of calamari seemed expensive but very tasty.

Two main complaints in addition to the service - only 2 coat hangers in the room and whilst Mario is from Italy the load Italian music over breakfast was too much!

I am sure they sort out the little problems and wish them all the best

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potts13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed for one night on the way to the Isle of Wight. Great welcome. Really great room with loads of space. The gorgeous barman sorted out the problem with our TV sound without fuss so it was sorted by the time we got back from having our dinner -food was fab too. Superb beer served from the barrel Breakfast was very filling and beautifully cooked. We were amazed when the boss told us he'd only been there for four weeks. A locals pub which also welcomes travellers. We'll come again if we're going that way.

Room Tip: Room 1 is very spacious. We didn't see the others though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandah209011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed for four nights at this Inn & can honestly say there was nothing to complain about (maybe the cheese biscuits not to my husbands liking). All the staff that we encountered were nothing but polite & very willing to help. The room was clean & well equipped. It had an amazing bath, my husband is 6' 4" & he could lay back & soak........the water was extremely hot. Breakfast offered a good variety as did the evening menu. All well cooked & piping hot. Set in a lovely location, racehorses wandering through the River Piddle in the morning..most unexpected. They are also a dog friendly establishment. Will most certainly use them again if in Dorset.

Room Tip: We were in the Blue room.....bed massive but a touch on the hard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillRoystonHertsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piddletrenthide
0.0 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#12 of 45 in Dorchester
397 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Brewers Arms
The Brewers Arms
#3 of 45 in Dorchester
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brace of Pheasants
Brace of Pheasants
#1 of 1 in Plush
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Piddle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Piddle Inn

Property: The Piddle Inn
Address: Piddletrenthide, Dorchester DT2 7QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester > Piddletrenthide
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Piddletrenthid...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Piddle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing