We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay... Fab staff... Fab food.... Fab village....”
Review of The Poachers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Poachers Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for a long weekend and all I can say is wow. We arrived on the Friday evening and had a surprise valentines day stormy power cut which made this fab inn even more romantic hahaha... The staff were really nice and friendly and the restaurant was excellent. We ate there both evenings and the food was so tasty
Overall a great time and such a lovely area too. Can image the place is amazing in the summer with the outdoor pool
Happy customers xx

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitalovesAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked last minute and managed to get a suite at a bargain price. The room had a whirlpool bath, lounge area overlooking the pool and was very spacious. Within easy reach of several areas and towns of interest the Poachers is a friendly and welcoming pub/hotel. The bar has a choice of real ale and overall this is a great venue for a short break. We had a fantastic, relaxing, time and will be going back!

Room Tip: Go for suite - it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked this through late rooms.com, we have nothing bad to say about our stay. Room was lovely and warm, plenty of tea and coffee. Lots of storage, everything very clean. Staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. We had two evening meals as well as breakfast and the food was really lovely, crumble was the best I have ever had. We will definitely be visiting again, thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiewilson_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This Inn was recommended by a friend.

Welcome reception, bar service, drinks and prices good.

Dinner good, service good.

Breakfast OK, coffee poor.

We stayed in room 3.

Room very poor, 1 light not working, wardrobe door hing broken and hanging off, bed side radio alarm dirty, noiose from adjoining room.

Bathroom outside wall very damp, as was floor around toilet and shower.

I discussed the situation with the chap in charge and showed him the relevant issues.

I left a completed comments sheet with the guy in charge when we checked out and again discussed the issues with him.

This was 4 weeks ago and we have had no response from the Inn.

Very poor.

Room Tip: Not room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JD4712013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

stayed for 4 nights in late October, Food choice is very good with a specials board for extra choice - smoked trout and liver dishes superb! Room was large and roomy with a large bathroom too. Staff were all attentive and helpful. Great to be in the country, but only a short drive to Dorchester & Weymouth if you want shops, or Lyme Regis & West Bay as a start to your coastal exploration. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayfansKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had a meal on the Sunday night and it was nice pub grub but we sat near the bar and the locals were so rowdy we couldn't hear each other talk!! Had to eventually be asked to move!! I understand locals are a big part of trade but it's best to not let them run the pub!!! Not once were they asked to keep the noise down whilst shouting and swearing!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotelier2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband, myself and 6yr old daughter stayed at The Poachers Inn for just one night at the beginning of November. We had an Executive family room which was very large and perfect for the 3 of us. We loved the fact it was in the middle of nowhere and was oh so quiet and peaceful.

We just had B&B, though ate in the lovely restaurant in the evening, which in hindsight probably worked out more expensive, we should have taken the Dinner, B&B offer. Staff were very pleasant and the food lovely. We would probably stay here again, and would love to come back in the Summer months when the outdoor pool is open!

Room Tip: Room 12 was perfect for a family of 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollykaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piddletrenthide
6 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
6.3 mi away
Dorchester Premier Inn
Dorchester Premier Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
970 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Piddle Inn
The Piddle Inn
#2 of 2 in Piddletrenthide
85 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#14 of 45 in Dorchester
427 reviews
5.9 mi away
Yalbury Cottage
Yalbury Cottage
#2 of 45 in Dorchester
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poachers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poachers Inn

Address: Piddletrenthide, Dorchester DT2 7QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester > Piddletrenthide
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Piddletrenthid...
Price Range: £46 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Poachers Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Poachers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Poachers Hotel Dorchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing