We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely visit”
Review of The Poachers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Poachers Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just returned from our 2nd two night visit - this place is the ultimate in relaxation with the beautiful surroundings, leisurely atmosphere and warmth and friendliness of the staff and locals. We took our 12 year old Labrador and he made himself very much at home - mainly because he was allowed to! We treated ourselves to a ground floor suite and it was lovely to sit in the conservatory area in the morning drinking tea and watching the world go by. We didn't manage to get any hot water out of the shower, but the bath / jacuzzi more than made up for it. Being on the ground floor, we did get some creaking floorboard noise from people walking around above us, so we might go for the 1st floor next time. We went for the dinner, bed and breakfast option, and it was a good decision. The food is excellent and the menu varied. The Poachers has some lovely local walks (the dog was fascinated by the many rabbits greeting us in the morning) and then the Coast is just a 20 - 30 minute drive away - we went to Swanage and Weymouth. The only bad part about the break was having to get in the car and come home - we are already planning and looking forward to our visit next year.

Room Tip: A suite is a nice option and not to expensive to upgrade to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnparslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

I am afraid I have to agree with the previous reviewer. My husband had stayed here on a couple of occasions in the past and thought it was nice so we decided to stay again whilst we spent a couple of days in Dorset.
The room we had was very spacious but the bed had certainly seen better days and creaked horribly.
The staff were friendly and welcoming but I was less than impressed with the quality of the food.
We were not offered any bread on either or the nights we stayed here. We requested some on the first night but couldn't be bothered asking again on the second night.
We both had smoked haddock on the first night and spent most of the time picking out bones which ruined any enjoyment.
The second night I opted for the belly of pork but I found it tasteless and very chewy. Another guest sitting at a table close to us ordered the same and I could hear her telling her husband that she was finding the pork distinctly below average too.
The breakfasts were also average - we have certainly had better. We were directed to a table and then sat there for a good ten minutes before anybody came to take our order for tea let alone food.
I doubt very much that we would return here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duffer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

After reading so many good things about this place on the reviews on trip advisor I was left disappointed when my husband and myself stayed for 3 nights. Yes area was good for getting to all those lovely places to visit but a less than warm welcome. Room was large but it was right on the road side, the window was right in line with the road with only a border of flowers between us and the traffic. The traffic noise was not good , especially from around 5-30am when it started. People above us made the ceiling creak and when they showered or bathed the noise of the running water was disturbing. Room was clean but lacked in the extras like biscuits and water you would expect on the tea tray in a four star .
We had food the first night there. The roast dinner was on the menu so we went for that. Small portions for the price and roast potatoes were not fresh, tasted like they were heated up from earlier in day. Not impressed by that. One of the slices of beef left me chewing for several mins and I had to take it out my mouth in the end as I couldn't eat it.
Breakfast was average. Had better in other B and Bs with less stars. Service at meals was rushed. Enjoyed my days more away from the hotel than being there at the hotel. Avoid room 5 if you want a peaceful getaway. No I wont be going back there.!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the rear of the property because of the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Lovely accommodation, we had mini suite double doors overlooking pool, nice bathroom. Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast good. Unfortunately only one night stay so didn't get eat in restaurant as arrived late but looked very nice menu. Would defo go again.

Room Tip: Suite was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rendene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A big thanks to you all for a great long weekend.You both and your staff are amazzzzzzing and could not do enough to be of help.The food and accommodation were both first class.we will back to see you again (soon i hope).

Pauline and Steve Hare

Room Tip: Just pick any room,they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevehairy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for a long weekend and all I can say is wow. We arrived on the Friday evening and had a surprise valentines day stormy power cut which made this fab inn even more romantic hahaha... The staff were really nice and friendly and the restaurant was excellent. We ate there both evenings and the food was so tasty
Overall a great time and such a lovely area too. Can image the place is amazing in the summer with the outdoor pool
Happy customers xx

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitalovesAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked last minute and managed to get a suite at a bargain price. The room had a whirlpool bath, lounge area overlooking the pool and was very spacious. Within easy reach of several areas and towns of interest the Poachers is a friendly and welcoming pub/hotel. The bar has a choice of real ale and overall this is a great venue for a short break. We had a fantastic, relaxing, time and will be going back!

Room Tip: Go for suite - it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piddletrenthide
6 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
6.3 mi away
Dorchester Premier Inn
Dorchester Premier Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
970 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Piddle Inn
The Piddle Inn
#2 of 2 in Piddletrenthide
85 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#14 of 45 in Dorchester
427 reviews
5.9 mi away
Yalbury Cottage
Yalbury Cottage
#2 of 45 in Dorchester
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poachers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poachers Inn

Address: Piddletrenthide, Dorchester DT2 7QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester > Piddletrenthide
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Piddletrenthid...
Price Range: £46 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Poachers Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Poachers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Poachers Hotel Dorchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing