We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!”
Review of Hotel am Main

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel am Main
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Veitshochheim
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A relative of the owners recommended Hotel am Main if we were in the area. While on our vacation, My wife and I decided to add Veitshochheim to trip as we ended up close by. We booked two nights there as quiet place to relax.

We found the hotel was perfect. Its rooms were CLEAN and nicely appointed, its staff were GREAT, and its breakfast was WONDERFUL. The hotel has a lovely courtyard with beautiful flowers and gardens. There is a common room with tea/coffee/beer/wine in an honor bar.

We enjoyed the hotel, local town, and near by Würzburg so much, we extended our stay an additional night.

The only minor inconvenience was that our room on the basement floor had limited Wifi--who needs that when you are relaxing on vacation. Also, as other reviews noted, it is set in a historic area and is an original building. This means the accessibility could be limiting as there are only stairs that lead to the front door. Inside there are both stairs and a lift (elevator).

Room Tip: Because of the trees in the courtyard, you cannot see the river from any room. (only 35 meters/40 ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed also this year in the Hotel am Main, for two consecutive weekends. The first weekend we had booked before and insisted on having a room with no inclined ceiling parts, as these are small and inconvenient. We got a superb room, and enjoyed the perfect hotel service as we did in August 2012. As last year, however, the wireless internet did not work.

When we said we would return next weekend and asked for the same room, this room was booked for us. But when we came back, the room was changed to a much smaller room, one with inclined ceiling parts, directly under the roof. The room was so uncomfortable, you could not walk around without hitting the ceiling with your head. I had at least two painful ´encounters` with the ceiling. Notably of you go up at night for the toilet, you are not aware of the threatening ceiling parts, and can get hurt, as I was.

We complained to the front desk next morning, and the clerk said the change was made without she knowing about it. I sincerely object hotels changing a reservation without informing their clients; it is possibly even a breach of the contract. Further, I do not believe hotels should rent out rooms with a direct risk for injury. Remarkably, for the small room with risk of injury we were charged the same price as the bigger room before. Upon my remark, the clerk said that that was because all rooms had been updated and renovated. She then, however, reduced the fare by Euro 4,00 (from 99,00 to 95,00). Note: the hotel web site announces Eur 95,00 for such a room. The site also offers a picture, but the inclined ceiling parts are not visible in this picture (have been hidden?). In our view, this price far exceeds the quality of the room (although it has a beautiful bath room).

Minor comments: the hotel offers a computer with access to internet free of charge, but requests payment of 20 cents for each printed page. This is in contrast to most modern hotels, where a computer plus printer is available at the lobby, for hotel guests to print their boarding passes or other travel reservations. All free of any charge.

Remarkably, we complained last year about the wifi, but nothing had been done, even not in one year.

In summary, this is very attractive hotel if proper rooms are booked, but the management ignores guest wishes or complaints, changes reservations without notice and lags behind in computer services compared to other hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with inclined roof - others are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gvayssier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is a lovely hotel, with the main river nearby. The hotel is picturesque , set back in amongst other historic buildings within 30m of the river.
The staff are very helpful and friendly.
There is a small lounge on ground floor, with TV, newspaper, and a computer with internet .
There was also a fridge and tea/coffee facilites when kitchen was closed.
The room was clean and spacious, it was top floor, so was a bit warm, but the weather was very hot, I took my own fan !!
Breakfast was buffet style and could be eaten inside or outside under the Chestnut trees in the courtyard.
The railway station is within 10 minutes walk and is within a 8 minute ride from Wurzburg.
Vietshochheim is a lovely little village with a variety of shops and attractions: the river, with its river cruises, and the Schloss with its gardens and lakes and water fountains

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittykatScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel is located in a popular and pretty location close to the river Main. Our room was very white, very comfortable and clean. We had a bathtub with hand held shower that was fine for one night but we would have preferred a properly functioning shower for a longer stay. A flight of steps to the main entrance may be difficult for some to negotiate. Lift and stairs to floor. The staff were friendly and there was an excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andeLedbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Just because all I could not find a free hotel in Wurzburg I stumbled over this little treasure.
The hotel is 30 meters away from the Main river and situated in an historic building (at least I guess so). In the reception area you already can see the lovingly decoration that goes throughout the entire hotel. On the ground-floor you can find a small lounge with books, TV an internet terminal.

My room was very comfortable, quiet, clean and equipped with everything you need. Although I booked a single room I had a double bed (good for me ;-)). Free WLAN is offered but my there was not a very good reception in the room.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and gave m good recommendations regarding places to go for the evening.
The nice center of Veitshochheim is just a short walk away and definitely worth a visit.

The breakfast buffet a great varietey of tasty and fresh made items for every taste and has a absolute reasonable price (6,00€).

For my next visit in that area I will come back here again!

Room Tip: Not for a room but if you looking for a restaurant I can recommend the Ratskeller close to the churc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sansteffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed end of August at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was spacious and at night we could have both windows open as there was no passing traffic at all. The staff was very kind and helpful in recommending restaurants. The breakfast buffet was really great and could be enjoyed on the outside terrace amongst the chestnut trees. Wurzburg downtown is just a 45 minutes boat trip away. Appreciated the do-it-yourself bar serving local beers and wines. Wireless internet was free but more access points could improve poor reception.
Forgot to take Iphone adapter but just a short phonecall was sufficient to have it returned in the mail. Danke schoen again for this service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwfloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Hotel am Main has a beautiful location, almost directly on the Main river, in a romantic setting in a pedestrian zone. It has no restaurant, but there are plenty of restaurants nearby. Breakfast can be enjoyed also on the terrace, which is in the garden. Breakfast itself is great. Ferry trips to nearby Wuerzburg start almost at the hotel. The pedestrian zone is a beautiful walking zone along the Main.
Some comments: the hotel rooms are a bit small. The 'comfort' rooms, which the hotel also offers, are more luxurious, but do not look bigger. The hotel claims it has wireless internet on the rooms, but it did not work on my (modern) laptop. I noted the reception, but when I stayed again in the hotel 5 days later, there still was no wireless internet. This was in part compensated by the free access to internet in the hotel guest room.
Train traffic not far away can be a bit noisy, as there are many cargo trains on the connection Frankfurt - Wuerzburg, which passes Veitshochheim. Also the new high speed train runs in viewing distance on a hugh bridge over the Main. Possibly best are the rooms that look away from the Main river. Note: rooms at the Main side do only offer limited view of the river (trees).

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Main river are cheaper and can be more quiet. Ask for proper operation of wirele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvayssier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veitshochheim
0.1 mi away
Hotel Weisses Lamm
Hotel Weisses Lamm
#1 of 5 in Veitshochheim
117 reviews
4.1 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
3.6 mi away
Wein-Traeume
Wein-Traeume
#1 of 1 in Thungersheim
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Wirtshaus Spundloch
Hotel-Wirtshaus Spundloch
#4 of 5 in Veitshochheim
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Cafe Mueller
Hotel-Cafe Mueller
#3 of 5 in Veitshochheim
32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Etna Hotel & Ristorante
Etna Hotel & Ristorante
#3 of 3 in Veitshochheim
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Main

Address: Untere Maingasse 35, 97209 Veitshochheim, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Veitshochheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Veitshochheim
Price Range: £85 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel am Main 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seien Sie Gast in einem individuellen und eleganten Hotel in Veitshöchheim, idyllisch und ruhig, direkt an der Uferpromenade des Mains gelegen. Der große Kastaniengarten und die Sonnenterasse laden zum Entspannen ein. Kein übliches großes Hotel, sondern ein persönlicher und gemütlicher Wohlfühlort mit fränkischem Charme. Das Hotel am Main bietet 35 komfortabel und individuell eingerichtete Zimmer. Es gibt drei Kategorien als Doppel- sowie Einzelzimmer: Superior, Comfort und Standard. Seit Neustem können auch Premium Doppelzimmer mit gratis Kaffee- und Tee-Ecke gebucht werden. Ausgestattet sind alle mit hochwertigen Boxspringbetten, Schreibtisch, HD Flachbildfernseher, Dusche/Bad und WC und WLAN. An der direkt angrenzenden Mainpromenade und ca. 200m im Ortskern befinden sich gute Restaurants, die für das leibliche Wohl sorgen. Für Tagungen stehen im Hotel 3 Räume zur Verfügung. Raum Clara kann mit 45 qm für bis zu 35 Personen gemietet werden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel am Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing