We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean rooms, perfect price!”
Review of Hotel Galaxidi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Galaxidi
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Galaxidi
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location, clean rooms, perfect price!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I stayed here for 5 days at the end of June as I was in Galaxidi for a wedding. The friend who was getting married has a family house in Galaxidi and this was their first recommendation. So I jumped in early and booked one of the room! They had arranged a great price for all the wedding guest (45 per night) but I believe they usually go for 65? Either way, I think you get great value for money!

It's quite and in a lovely part of town. 2min from the main square, 2min from the mini supermarket (that has EVERYTHING), 2min from all the bars and restaurants, 2min from an ATM and 2min from the best restaurant in town (in my opinion as well as the the family who live there) the restaurant is called Porto Porto, right opposite the mini market and main square (look out for the blue and white table cloth.. Great Greek food!)

Anyway... Back to Hotel Galaxidi! About 10 of us (wedding guest) checked in at the same time, no problem. They were expecting us and each got the right room. I had room 4 that had 2 single beds (my request) other friends had double beds and they also cater for kids/babies.

The room was spotless, each room has it's own mini balcony that's nice to sit out during the sunset hours. Shower is good, also has a mini bath. Hot water, air conditioning (use the remote and not the one on the wall... I figured that out 24hrs later, the one on the wall is for HOT air only. My god did I suffer. But completely my fault!!! hang my head in shame) room also has a fridge and small TV (that you'll be watching TV in such a beautiful town)

All in all this place was perfect. I left my bags in the room after check out, very relaxed. I felt very safe here and the fact that's its 2min walk from pretty much everything you need is perfect.

Ohhhh and they do have a small bar at the entrance in case you want to have a cold drink at the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get up for the breakfast. I missed the first few days and regret it! Super tasty
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    20
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
16
26
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We spent 10 days at Hotel Galaxidi in June of 2014. It was a great holiday not only because of the beauty of this little town with all its friendly citizens and its wonderful atmosphere but also because of the nice people at hotel galaxidi.

Location:
The Hotel is situated near the habour where you can find lots of tavernas, bars and the main grocery store of the town. An ATM, a bakery and souvenir shops are just a stone´s throw away - yet the hotel itself lies in a quiet street where you won´t be bothered by car noise or chating tourists.

Hotel:
The hotel rooms are basic but comfortable. All rooms are equiped with air conditioning, minibar, television, a safe, a balcony, an anti mosquito device (we didnt use it - not sure if it works) and a very comfortable bed. Free wifi is also available. The breakfast is wonderful: juice, coffee, freshly baked cake, self made jam and eggs. Not to mention the fruit and the greek yoghurt. We often had late breakfasts at 12 o clock - no problem at all. The atmosphere at the hotel is very friendly and relaxed - "no problem" was the basic answer to all our wishes. What the hotel might lack of in luxury features it more than makes up by it´s heartly employees. The hotel is managed by one family that does the whole job and at the end of our stay we were given some souvenirs and a jar of their self made jam to take back home.

Conclusion:
Would we recommend the hotel to others? - yes!
Would we come back to hotel galaxidi? We will!
Why do the Eagles sing of "the hotel California? - Because they probably haven´t been to the hotel galaxidi! ;)

Room Tip: The only rooms we would not recommend are the ones with a balcony facing the breakfast area outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O_Nightingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bielefeld
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is all you need: situated at a 5 minutes walk from the center (port) but quiet, clean and well looked after. A splendid breakfast (homemade marmalade and creamcheese, good coffee, eggs as you want them and fresh cake) and an excellent room service.
The price is absolutely justified and the people in the hotel take care of everything. The Galaxidy Hotel fits the town and the region, absolutely lovely. Ein wirklich tolles kleines Hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drummerBielefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marousi, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Great location near quiet center of town and near the part of city where taverns/bars reside, amazing breakfast variety and very sincere and friendly service.
Rooms are clean and comfortable. Great choice should you visit Galaxidi.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Giwrgos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotel was in a quiet place so close to the port that we parked our car in the parking until we left from Galaxidi. Room was cleaned every day in our 3 day stay!!! Breakfast was like a miracle we tasted all the goods that Mr. Sotiris produces (Honey, eggs, jams, fresh fruits) we charge our batteries with such a breakfast and we were ready to explore the magical Galaxidi.
One of the most EXCITING things were that we went at the small islands with the owners' traditional boat IT WAS AMAZING.
Thanks Sotiris for our great vacation at your place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petroula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkins, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Just came down out of Delphi yesterday, dog tired, after having slept poorly in a hotel that was inundated with young (high school age) tour groups. I could see this little town way off in the distance from Delphi.
Just out of curiosity, I decided, to check it out. I kind of stumbled on this little hotel. It's a wonderful place, clean, well equipped and blessedly quiet! Set back a couple minutes from the port area and still convenient to some terrific tavernas. If your tired and want a good nights sleep after Delphi come down here. It's about 25 minutes down from the hills.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank RL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Galaxidi for 2 nights in late September 2013.
The hospitality & breakfast laid before us was second to none. In fact we have never seen such a substantial breakfast in all of our hotel stays in Greece. The room was clean & all amenities were in working order, including the basin plug-a rarity, I think? The hand & bath towels were changed each day too. A nice friendly hotel in a good location.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michaelmas1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galaxidi
0.2 mi away
Ganimede Hotel
Ganimede Hotel
#1 of 7 in Galaxidi
936 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galaxa Mansion
Galaxa Mansion
#2 of 7 in Galaxidi
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europa Beach Hotel
Europa Beach Hotel
#6 of 7 in Galaxidi
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Trokadero
Trokadero
#2 of 4 in Itea
120 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Olympia
Villa Olympia
#7 of 7 in Galaxidi
17 reviews
9.4 mi away
Amalia Hotel Delphi
Amalia Hotel Delphi
#4 of 25 in Delphi
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galaxidi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galaxidi

Property: Hotel Galaxidi
Address: 11 Andrea Siggrou | Town Center, Galaxidi, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Greece > Phocis Region > Galaxidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Galaxidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Galaxidi 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Galaxidi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing