We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel to stay between Reykjavik and Akureyri”
Review of Hotel Varmahlid

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Varmahlid
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varmahlid
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hotel is located between Reykjavik and Akureyri along the road nr 1. Perfect place to stay when travelling along road nr1. Free entrance to the local swimming pool for guest who stay in the hotel. Good free WiFi internet. Nice and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KoenIceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here for one night on our trip around Iceland. The woman who checked us in was friendly and welcoming. I think this was the largest room we had in any of our hotels. The bed was comfy and the blackout drapes were the best of any hotel we stayed in. It actually was dark in our room when I closed them!

The room had a kettle for making coffee and tea--and something I saw only here--decaf instant coffee. I was beginning to think nobody in Iceland drank decaf!

The room was spotlessly clean. The only negative--and this isn't the hotel's fault--is that the shower smelled more of sulfur than at any other hotel we were in. The shower is nice and hot, but you won't want to linger in it.

The restaurant was wonderful. They use local suppliers and organic products when available. We had a good dinner--my lamb was outstanding and the chocolate trio dessert was a chocoholic's delight! The breakfast the next morning was excellent, with a nice variety of fresh breads along with the usual cold items.

I definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy49NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Hótel Varmahlíð does not win any points for architecture but makes up for it with its warm, gracious staff and an exceptional restaurant. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. Wifi internet and a lovely breakfast are included in the room rate. One stays here to either punctuate a long drive or to explore the scenic offerings of the Skagafjörður area nearby. I have stayed here before my latest stay this June and have carried very pleasant memories on every occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voiceofgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed here during a circle trip of Iceland and found my room clean,comfortable,spacious and quiet.The staff went out of their way to make my stay as good as possible.The first night I tried to register they were full but found me alternate accommodation at a nice guesthouse just down the road.It is an ideal location for exploring the two spectacular peninsulas to the North.Breakfast,which is included, and dinner in the restaurant were both very good.The local information office is close and there is access to free internet there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The hotel is a good place to stay on the ring road tour of Iceland.

Our room was spacious & clean, with good blackout curtains and a comfortable bed & was quiet.

We enjoyed a very good dinner and breakfast in their cheerful dining room served by friendly local staff.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvianaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night to break our journey on our drive round Iceland. We received a very warm welcome from the manager who later came and took our order for a meal in the restaurant. My husband started with leek soup and we both chose the lamb fillet from the menu which was delicious. We shared a dessert of rhubarb tart with vanilla ice cream.
There wasn't much atmosphere in the restaurant as there were only 2 other couples eating, but the food was excellent - one of the best meals we had whilst in Iceland. The lady manager then suggested that we walked up the hill at about 11.00p.m. to see the sunset and said she wouldn't lock up until we were back! The sunset was a little disappointing but the friendly service was memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita1439404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed here one night during our fly drive tour of Iceland. Friendly welcome. Rooms bright, clean and comfortable. Great evening meal in the restaurant. Breakfast was also good. Saw the Northern Lights the night we were there. The receptionist advised us to drive up the hill behind the hotel towards a campsite area, which we did at about 10pm and were treated to a fantastic display.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varmahlid
14.9 mi away
Hotel Tindastoll
Hotel Tindastoll
#1 of 3 in Saudarkrokur
186 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Mikligardur
Hotel Mikligardur
#2 of 3 in Saudarkrokur
46 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bakkaflot
Bakkaflot
#5 of 8 in Varmahlid
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hestasport Cottages
Hestasport Cottages
#1 of 8 in Varmahlid
137 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hofsstadir Guesthouse
Hofsstadir Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Saudarkrokur
252 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hjaltastadir
Hjaltastadir
#4 of 8 in Varmahlid
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Varmahlid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varmahlid

Address: Laugavegur 1, Varmahlid 560, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Northwest Region > Varmahlid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varmahlid
Price Range: £96 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Varmahlid 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Varmahlid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Varmahlid Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing