We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but not quite there.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Sao Joao da Madeira
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were offered a one night stay at the WR São João da Madeira Hotel and expected a satisfying experience.

We checked in late and were allowed a late checkout with complementary breakfast in the room.

The room was well equipped and sufficiently spacious. There was an existing internet connection, but the speed was unsatisfactory at most. The bed was comfortable and the sleep quality was good.

The problem was the complementary breakfast the following morning. A simple continental breakfast was part of the menu, including coffee, milk and juice, bread and croissants. However, half of that was missing and replaced by crackers, not to mention the stale bread. In addition, the breakfast took at least half an hour to show up.

While the sleep was good, the breakfast lacked minimum quality which made the stay somewhat less pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2013

I have stayed here before and I have reviewed this hotel before. It is a nice, clean place and is an option for business or holiday travellers.......unless you need to access the Internet.!! The Hotel offers free Wi-fi thoughout, and there must be 10 different routers that you can use to log-in. However, the reality is that the service is very poor and most of the time it is simply unavailable. !!! The internet service on this visit was particularly poor and eventually I gave up and used Wi-fi access elsewhere. How a hotel cannot get this right in this day and age is a compete mystery to me. Unless this hotel can sort this problem out soon, I will be chosing an alternate hotel in future. Pity, because it is a nice hotel! I have downgraded it to a one star because on the internet unavailability.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here. The hotel is very good with well appointed big rooms which are kept sparkling clean. The staff at the reception desk were always willing to go the extra mile and help when asked. The breakfast was good but we did not eat in the restaurant at dinner. Location was also excellent-nice and central and easy to get around. Will definitly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can try and book one of the theme rooms which reflect different industries in the area. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GracaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Very trendy hotel, nice rooms. Good location and a lot of parking space. Very friendly staff. Breakfast buffet is ok. Cosy restaurant. Food in the restaurant is of normal quality, not special. Internal swiming pool: hot water (35°) but not deep enough for swimming; but ideal for relaxing. The wireless internet connection is not always good and slow.
The theme rooms project of Turismo Industrial is fantastic! I enjoyed my 6 night stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the 7 'themed rooms' of the Turismo Industrial project. I enjoyed the shoe fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schrampa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

The hotel is modern, quite big. Rooms are convenient. The only drawback was the fact that there is only one side of the bed that has a support table. Apart from that everything is convenient, clean and adequate.
Service is helpful though a bit "amateur".
They have a loyalty card but at reception have no idea what is it for...I had trouble explaining them that they were supposed to apply a discount and after a while when finnally that was understood it took ages to correct the bill.
Anyway it is a good choice for Sao Joao da Madeira where the offer is not that wide.

Room Tip: rooms facing the river have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Spotlessly clean. Friendly service.

Slightly sterile feel but it really caters for the business community..
Breakfast nothing special but perfectly adequate.

Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garylevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Hotel was nice and clean, however there was no tea or coffee facilities in the room which was quite disappointing. I felt the breakfast was boring - choice of cold scrambled eggs cold meat or bread. If you are on a business trip the hotel was quite adequate.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angeladjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Joao da Madeira
5.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Sul Europarque
Ibis Porto Sul Europarque
#1 of 5 in Santa Maria da Feira
204 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Feira Pedra Bela
Hotel Feira Pedra Bela
#2 of 5 in Santa Maria da Feira
146 reviews
10 mi away
Furadouro Boutique Hotel Beach & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
AquaHotel
AquaHotel
#2 of 3 in Ovar
149 reviews
10.3 mi away
Tulip Inn Estarreja Hotel & Spa
17.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Sao Joao da Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Sao Joao da Madeira

Address: Rua Adelino Amaro da Costa 573, Sao Joao da Madeira 3700-023, Portugal (Formerly Ever São João da Madeira)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Sao Joao da Madeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sao Joao da Madeira
Price Range: £49 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Sao Joao da Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip São João da Madeira, ideally located in the heart of the city and near major industrial centers, is distinguished by its contemporary design and cozy atmosphere. The Hotel offers 117 rooms, of which 8 suites and 4 rooms for events. The a la carte restaurant "O País" and bar "Da Ponte" ensure a contemporary setting. Enjoy moments of relaxation at the indoor pool or the spa room. The city of Sao Joao da Madeira is located just a half hour away from Oporto and 45 minutes from it's International Airport Francisco Sa Carneiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Tulip Sao Joao da Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing