We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with decent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B bou Hotel Cortijo Bravo
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Velez-Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here around New Year's and spent New Year's eve in the hotel. A good basis to explore Andalucia at a tranquil location. Excellent food and a nice interior, just a nice, good value place to stay. I will definitely stay here again if I return to the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martijn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for B bou Hotel Cortijo Bravo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have been here on three occasions now, to eat. The location is lovely, albeit remote and quite difficult to find. The road is windy and narrow and badly lit, so watch out when driving at night to/from this location. Better sinahe is needed. The hotel is charming and visually stunning. The hotel seemed to go through a bad patch a year or so after opening. It closed down for the winter period at one point, opening in February - not sure if this is the case now. The grounds have grown considerably and have become more unkempt in places, but the rural location balances this. The food was very good, but very expensive. 8 euros for vegetable soup is bordering on the ludicrous.

This is a hotel with large overheads, it seems. Service was poor, and the menu options were small. Three starters containing Tuna with a Tuna main course is just badly thought out and limits your options with the main course somewhat. Childs options were ok, with a few options like spaghetti bolognese etc. Hard to get service - the whole hotel had only one member of staff it seemed!

Guest book was full of good comments, so they are doing something right. The setting is lovely and affords views over Velez - book for the evening as it lights up and the sight is amazing. We would definitely go back. Small improvements would improve this place significantly.

Room Tip: We did not stay, so cannot advise. Past reviews say rooms are small.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AndaluciaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The property is full of character and our room on the ground floor was quite large with a lovely terrace to enjoy the exceptional views. We didn't arrive until late, but the staff were very accommodating with food and drink. The hotel is quite remote, but for a 2 night stay yo explore the area, it was ideal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beadyeyeonyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We got married at Cortijo Bravo on the 31st of May and it far exceeded our already high expectations. Everyone commented on the beauty of the venue, the friendliness of the staff and the quality and quantity of the food. All the rooms were unique and fabulous - especially the bridal suite which was out of this world. We especially appreciated the warm and friendly service from all staff, but especially AUKE who we adopted as a family member by the end of the weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaRyan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I recently attended a friends wedding, and was blown away by the beauty of this hotel, married with the location, this is one rural hotel to visit. The view from our bedroom, especially in the evening was really lovely, and with the warm climate, the fragrance from fruit/avocado grown was stunning. I loved this hotel, as it wasnt too big, or too small,so I felt well catered for, and looked after. Breakfast was buffet style, with a cooked option, as well as, the meat and cheese option.
(Just a note. The bacon served, wasnt like our english version, but it never is in europe)
Bucks fizz was offered every morning, it would have been churlish not to try.....was delicious.
The staff are lovely,discreet, and nothing is a problem. A short walk down to the fab pool, made our stay very restful, fantastic. If you want to experience authentic spain, try this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a larger balcony, if there is 1 available book these rooms first if you can.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We loved this hotel. Stayed for one night in April.
We felt welcomed by the reception staff, the place has an airy peaceful feel. The hotel itself is along a quiet, winding country road and the building and grounds are lovely. I had seen some reviews saying it was "run down" in places but we thought the rooms and grounds were very well kept, clean and the whole place felt quite boutiquey (if that is a word?).
It would have been nice if the pool had been open, but in fairness we were warned on the hotel website that it is only open in the summer months
The air-conditioning worked well which was a bonus as we have stayed in several hotels locally where it did not.
There is a sheltered terrace out the back of the hotel where you can sit in the shade smell the wisteria and bougainvillea and knock back a bottle of wine for as little as 12 euros, which we thought was good value for the type of hotel it is.
We ate dinner at the hotel and while a bit on the pricey side (24 euros for the sirloin steak, but there were cheaper options) the food was delicious and perfectly cooked. The starters at 11-15 euros were lovely too.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poorskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

There are some nasty people in this world who give totally unwarranted poor reviews. Their were 32 of us at a family wedding (still here as I write this) who had a great time. Well organised, food great, service was too. Polite staff who mostly knew English or enough to understand. Nothing was too much. We are mid April and the weather is super but not too hot. Wedding outside, entertainment outside and the banquet was the first time the Hotel had on the outside patio and was superb. Normally this is held inside but can see more having it outside after ours went so well. Altogether a great hoteland recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Velez-Malaga
1.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio Blanco
Hotel Palacio Blanco
#2 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
301 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Avenida JC
Hotel Avenida JC
#4 of 5 in Velez-Malaga
17 reviews
4.2 mi away
BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Torre del Mar
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Mainake
Hotel Mainake
#2 of 5 in Torre del Mar
144 reviews
9.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa
9.2 mi away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B bou Hotel Cortijo Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B bou Hotel Cortijo Bravo

Address: Carretera Velez-Benamocarra Km. 1,5, 29700 Velez-Malaga, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Velez-Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Velez-Malaga
Price Range: £60 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B bou Hotel Cortijo Bravo 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cortijo Bravo combines the elegant and typical decorative style of the classic Andalusian houses of the landed gentry with Malaga's own cosmopolitan and romantic trends of the Nineteenth Century. With the added extra of enjoying all the amenities of the Twenty-First Century. All contained in an enviable location, on the Mediterranean. Being at one with nature, rivers and streams, the sea and its beaches. Spectacular mountain views from the Maroma. White-washed villages bathed by the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your B bou Hotel Cortijo Bravo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing