We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Spanish seafood restaurant - quality food and service”
Review of La Gamba Dorada

La Gamba Dorada
Ranked #2 of 97 Restaurants in Velez-Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
655 reviews
626 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Excellent Spanish seafood restaurant - quality food and service”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Two of us went here for lunch. La Gamba Dorada is located in the centre of Velez-Malaga in a side street. It is a typical Spanish seafood restaurant/bar with tables with paper tablecloths and many people sitting at the bar drinking beer and wine and eating. The restaurant is very light and airy with modern decor. They specialise in fresh fish and shellfish. There is a refrigerated display at the entrance showing the produce on offer. We chose from the Spanish menu, but they do have a menu in English available on request and some staff members speak some English.

We chose a racion of boquerones en vinagre (marinated anchovies - €8) to share as starter. This was very large and the anchovies were very fresh (maybe we should have chosen a half racion?).

To follow we chose 4 scallops served pil-pil (picante with garlic & chilli - €2.50 each), half racion of gambas a la plancha (grilled whole prawns - €9), patata rellena (potato stuffed with tuna - €2), and a mixed salad (very large - €4). All dishes were very fresh and tasty.

To drink we chose a bottle of Protos Ribera del Duero Roble red wine (only €12 - very good price) and waters.

The restaurant was very busy with local Spanish customers and the value and quality of food (as also reported by previous reviewers) were excellent. The waitress and waiters were charming, efficient and very professional.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mw741002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    80
    25
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nahe Wien
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“It's true: Very good value and quality”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Our family had a delcious dinner at La Ganba Dorada and we can confirm the previous reports about excellent food at moderate prices. Service was quick, food was very very tasty and the bill didi nor at all frighten us. They serve mostly fish, gambas etc and also have a small choice of non maritim food. Truely recommendable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
412 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fabulous fish in a real "spanish" place”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We visited this restuarant on the recommendtion of our hosts at the Palatcio Blanco. You need to request an English menu and then they translate into the spanish equivalent. You watch the fish you order leave the fridge at the entrance and go to the kitchen for cooking. What returns is stunning food at very cheap prices. Well worth a visit if you go toVelez Malaga.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“pescadora”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

very good fish restaurant reasonably priced i live in spain and i use this place regular. BUEANO

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank banxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great local seafood place-no pretentions just good fresh seafood”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Has both outside and inside eating area tooked away in a residential area with a cabinet display of the day's catch. A place popular with local residents and families. We really enjoyed the wonderful razor clams and grilled Dorada accompanied with some of the best chips I have ever eaten. House Rosada was slightly sparkiling,refreshing and reasonably rpiced.

Open on Sunday evenings-many restaurants in town are closed then.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerFarnhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Gamba Dorada also viewed

Velez-Malaga, Costa del Sol
Velez-Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Velez-Malaga, Costa del Sol
Velez-Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Velez-Malaga, Costa del Sol
Torre del Mar, Costa del Sol
 

Been to La Gamba Dorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing