We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone right off.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Calanque

La Calanque
Ranked #191 of 274 Restaurants in Sete
Price range: US$11 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Embrassant le canal, au coeur du port de peche face aux bateaux, le restaurant "La Calanque" vous propose ses specialites setoises. Dans une salle aux couleurs mediterraneennes ou sur la veranda, on assiste a un defile de plats qui emoustillent les papilles : soupe de poissons, rouille de seiche ou moules farcies a la setoise, moules marinieres, poelee de la mer, plateaux de coquillages, ...
Uzes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gone right off.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have eaten many times over the past 12 years and found it outstanding. Not recently though. We were suspicious that it was near empty at 1230, found out why when food arrived. All of mediocre quality at best. A great pity, restos come and go, this one has gone. Dont use it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Masbousquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    111
    74
    52
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't come here ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was literally the worst lunch I've ever had. I can't remember a worse one. Service was dreadful. They took 30 mins to bring us a menu. I wish we'd ordered drinks the day before they took that long. They brought us our starters an hour later, and one persons main?! 30 mins later the rest of the mains arrived. My friend ordered mussels - Terrible. Left a nasty salty taste down the back of the throat. The only added bonus was that they were so incompetent that they forgot to charge us for half of our drinks bill. Still a rip off.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Highjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sawbridgeworth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“On the main drag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The service was attentive and they obviously wanted us to have a good experience. The food was fine and we all four ate the fish choices. There was plenty of it too but it just didn't hit the spot. The restaurant was nearly full so there was a good atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Perhaps the worst meal we have had in France. Chose the standard menu du jour. The chips were lukewarm and limp, really bad. Maybe the more expensive menus may be better but I wouldn't risk it. There's plenty of choice here so try somewhere else.

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
166 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“You are hungry at 3pm and no other restaurant is serving food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

If you've been travelling in France; you may have been in our situation countless times. You arrive in a city later than lunch cut-off time of 2pm latest and look for a place to eat something, anything; so you go around and around in a frustrating cycle looking for a decent place that serves food; but cannot find any....
La Calanque is one of the few restaurants in Sete that has "non-stop" service and therefore it will be the only "busy" one around the harbour area if you arrived late afternoon to the town.
It's an average seafood experience at best, bordering on disappointing. My scallop and squid salad was rubbery and tasteless; the garlic prawns were swimming in a greasy sauce. My partner's mussels were small and not very tasty. We paid about 50Euros for 2 x 2 course meals, one glass of wine and one water.
All in all, if you are hungry and would be happy with very average sea food; then this will be ok. Do not expect an exceptional, french dining experience. Personally, I would not go back there and cannot recommend this place with a good conscience. In my opinion, this place is taking advantage of tourist crowd passing through the city during the day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Calanque also viewed

 

Been to La Calanque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing